--
CWI gives lip service to change
chairman
opinion
AFTER the World Cup catastrophe, the pending resignation of coach Simmons gave a ray of hope that things will begin to change. But with its selection of the test squad to play in Australia, Cricket West Indies has made it clear that it gives only lip service to change and Simmons was made the fall guy. So what could have been different? For starter
Sir Donald Bradman: Greatest of All Time
chairman
opinion
9.1K 0 Perhaps the greatest curse any commentator or spectator can place upon a budding batsman beginning to hit their peak in international cricket is to use a particularly unfortunate adjective to describe them: Bradmanesque. Though of course drawing a comparison with the great Sir Donald Bradman is meant as the highest praise, and indeed should
The frame work conditions for the new Demerara Harbour Bridge Project
chairman
opinion
The frame work conditions for the new Demerara Harbour Bridge Project seem to be changing almost on a weekly basis! First, the project should be developed by the bidding contractors under the "design, finance, and build" model. This was in November 2021. Not to my surprise, only bids were made by Chinese contractors. Others, for example European, U
Guyana has always been considered a favourable location for the settlement of migrants
chairman
opinion
The US and Guyana have enjoyed friendly and cordial relations spanning many decades. Recently, countries with which the US enjoy such relations have been asked to consider accepting refugees from Afghanistan. Letters have appeared in the press for and against Guyana’s acceptance of Afghani refugees. There is a history to our country’s role in this
I believe it was this subterfuge that scuttled the Rodney COI in 2005
chairman
opinion
Now that the PPP government is rectifying some of the wrongs that had been piled on top of Walter Rodney’s 1980 assassination – such as rejecting the cause of death as “misadventure” – it might be time to comment on the aborted attempt to have a COI into his death in 2005. At that time. I was a Member of Parliament, representing ROAR since 2001. In
Guyana is for all peoples – Happy 55th Guyana!
chairman
opinion
ON May 26, 1966, our national flag, the Golden Arrowhead, was hoisted for the first time, trumpeting the birth of our beautiful nation as a free country. On the occasion of our 55th Independence Anniversary, let us continue to hoist our flags and banners in the same spirit of patriotism, pride, solidarity, and love for our great nation, that we did
Right to dissent with court ruling falls within universally acceptable principles
chairman
opinion
The right to dissent is constitutionally guaranteed to all. We are living in a dangerous time when some are seeking to deny the most basic of rights, that is the right to free speech, even within the confines of the law. The recent incident of the judgment handed down by the High Court in the Elections Petition is one such. It also proves a growing
GECOM staff must be able to conduct free and fair elections
chairman
opinion
Dear Editor, AN abundance of evidence exists in the public domain, which highlights the massive state of contamination among senior administrative ranks in the secretariat of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM). Personnel who have controlled the nation’s electoral machinery, over time facilitated incremental compromise of the accepted tenets of
The government is doing its job and we need to do ours to bring 2030 to 2050 innovation to Guyana
chairman
opinion
I write to you to reiterate a known fact that young people are leading the culture of innovation and should be permitted every opportunity to thrive and lead by example. In every generation, a group of young persons emerge as the revolutionaries, the advocates of change, the axis of innovation and the creative thinkers of the day. They would go on
Llewellyn John contributed to struggle for free and fair elections in Guyana
chairman
opinion
­I recently came across a letter published under the heading ‘Only two survivors now from final Independence Conference’ (SN January 20, 2021). Of interest to me are three issues referred to in the letter. All three issues are of historical significance. First about Llewellyn John. Apart from his participation in the talks in the 1960’s for an inde
SawyerWeather could force changes in XIs as Australia look to level terms with India(25.11.2023, 12:36)(12:36)0
AlondraSunil Gavaskar was a big fan of Rohan Kanhai
Sunil fell in love with
This extraordinary shot in cricket by the great Rohan kanhai which stayed in Gavaskars memory !!!!
THE FALLING SWEEP SHOT...
(25.11.2023, 08:41)(08:41)0
ketchimAustralia WIN WC 2023 ~(20.11.2023, 13:37)(13:37)0
ketchimIndia vs Australia FINAL(16.11.2023, 14:01)(14:01)0
ketchimAustralia davances to Final after win over Proteas 1(16.11.2023, 14:01)(14:01)0
AllenIndia advances to Final via Win over Kiwis ~(15.11.2023, 13:05)(13:05)0
AlondraSunil Narine has called time on his eight-year international career. He last played for West Indies in a T20I in August 2019.

"I appreciate it has been over four years since I last played for West Indies, but today I am announcing my retirement from international cricket," Narine wrote on Instagram.
(05.11.2023, 13:43)(13:43)0
RaelynSouth Africa sell out and fold for 83 vs guess who ? LOL(05.11.2023, 12:56)(12:56)0
ketchimPakistan Win D/L method chasing Kiwis mammoth score of 401 : unbelieveable !!(04.11.2023, 10:41)(10:41)0
ketchimSrell Out Lanka 14 -6 !(02.11.2023, 09:25)(09:25)0
YaritzaIt will be a SA vs India final WC!(02.11.2023, 06:09)(06:09)0
ketchimProteas whack Kiwis by 190 runs!(01.11.2023, 13:07)(13:07)0
ketchimAfghanistan need 9 runs in 34 balls(30.10.2023, 11:20)(11:20)0
ketchimGuyana beat Barbados !(30.10.2023, 10:10)(10:10)0
ketchimIndia thump England by 100 runs !(29.10.2023, 11:00)(11:00)0
ketchim1. 771 runs scored !(28.10.2023, 10:54)(10:54)0
ketchimRecords GALORE Oz vs. Kiwis WC 2023(28.10.2023, 10:53)(10:53)0
ketchimEngland walloped by Lanka !(26.10.2023, 11:04)(11:04)0
ketchimMaxwell 40 ball TON !(25.10.2023, 16:05)(16:05)0
ketchimAustralia beat Netherlands by 309 runs lol(25.10.2023, 11:25)(11:25)0
AnnaleeNext month is barrel ? season.
Don't mek problem with yuh family overseas ??.
(22.10.2023, 18:20)(18:20)0
ketchimGuyana vs. Trinidad Super 50 !(21.10.2023, 12:13)(12:13)0
ketchimEngland thumped by South Africa : WC(21.10.2023, 11:55)(11:55)0
ketchimBarbados Lost to Jamaica(21.10.2023, 11:54)(11:54)0
ketchimGuyana beat Windwards Super 50 Cup(18.10.2023, 16:45)(16:45)0
NathanNetherlands beat Saffies by 38 runs...(17.10.2023, 13:16)(13:16)0
resodo3152You can get it right away by going to akamsyourpc.com. This link will take you to Microsoft's official website, where you can download it without problems.(15.10.2023, 23:32)(23:32)0
ClydeWhat a momentous occasion for Afghanistan as AfghanAtalan have defeated England, the reigning champions, to register a historic victory. A significant achievement for Afghanistan!(15.10.2023, 18:26)(18:26)0
ketchimSunday Guyana pledges support !(15.10.2023, 11:28)(11:28)0
YareliHappy Saturday(14.10.2023, 11:10)(11:10)0
ArjunFriday the 13th !(13.10.2023, 17:14)(17:14)0
ketchimCanada Thanks giving Today !!(08.10.2023, 10:41)(10:41)0
ketchimthere used to be Less back inaugural 1975 : IT also used to be 60 overs ~(05.10.2023, 16:08)(16:08)0
YareliWhats the point in calling it "WORLD CUP" if there are only 10 teams participating?
?‍♂️?‍♂️?‍♂️
(05.10.2023, 14:25)(14:25)0
Tim SandbergWest Indians are the powerhouse for sure(05.10.2023, 01:38)(01:38)0
Tim SandbergThis world cup would not be exciting anymore without West Indies.(05.10.2023, 01:37)(01:37)0
ketchimToronto Blue Jays best of 5 series begins Tonight vs. Minnesota Twins ~(03.10.2023, 13:23)(13:23)0
AbrahamBREAKING: The Portland Trail Blazers are trading guard Jrue Holiday to the Boston Celtics, sources tell ESPN.(01.10.2023, 18:26)(18:26)0
AbrahamI keep looking at this ODI World Cup and thanking God I don't have to watch West Indies take licks, win two games (at most) and come back home in disgrace.(30.09.2023, 17:17)(17:17)0
ketchimGuyana COUNTY cricket Live!(30.09.2023, 11:47)(11:47)0
AbrahamIndia fans, do you want Ravichandran Ashwin in the World Cup squad?(26.09.2023, 15:55)(15:55)0
AbrahamRussian drone strikes on Odesa region(26.09.2023, 15:50)(15:50)0
AbrahamSouth Korea showcases missiles, drones and tanks in rare military parade(26.09.2023, 05:33)(05:33)0
AbrahamPresident Dr Kishore Shallow congratulates Guyana Amazon Warriors on being CPL Champions(25.09.2023, 19:27)(19:27)0
AbrahamFirst thing first big congrats to the Guyana Amazon Warriors and their long suffering fans.

Second thing second only 4 out of 34 CPL games went into the final over this year.

I'm not here to be a cheerleader I'm here to talk the inconvenient truth.

Quality was LOW
(25.09.2023, 19:16)(19:16)0
Yareli62 for 6(24.09.2023, 19:07)(19:07)0
ketchimGoooo Amazon !(24.09.2023, 13:29)(13:29)0
ketchimAmazon Warriors vs Knight Riders !(24.09.2023, 13:22)(13:22)0
ketchimCPL FINAL 7 pm, tonight !(24.09.2023, 13:22)(13:22)0
YareliPresident Irfaan Ali and Guyana Amazon Warriors captain Imran Tahir joined other worshippers at Friday prayers at the Queenstown Masjid.

The Warriors are down to play defending champions Jamaica Tallawahs in Qualifier Two on Friday night from 19:00h at the National Stadium, Providence.

The winner will face four-time champions Trinbago Knight Riders in Sunday's final at the same venue, from 19:00h.

(Photo: Shaz Ally)
(22.09.2023, 19:16)(19:16)0
Fernando