Well fuh the third tes'

• Mail
25 Oct 2016 21:27 #325109 by Mail
Really TD?

YOU ARE MORE INCONSISTENT AND DELUDED THAN I THOUGHT!

25 Oct 2016 22:11 #325112 by mapoui

Blackwoods nature eh......  nutten much appears to worry him.  he plays his natural game all the  time, and his overall attitude appears to be the same good feeling way.

the team lost its coach and much else on the way to Dubai.  there is little for this team to be happy about..including the cricket

I still do  not understand why the west indian governments do not intervene directly in the cricket.  they are deathly afraid of ICC response I imagine..or is Indian power so great it stymies them from afar ::confused:: ::confused::

this is one interesting situation and speaks volumes about the west indian people..and not good and positive volumes at all

26 Oct 2016 07:17 - 26 Oct 2016 07:26 #325114 by TRINIDADDY

What do you mean? The WICB don't back down when they make a mistake. The best way to get Holder off the team is to move him up the batting order. There he will either bat well or get dropped. That's a win-win situation from a fan's perspective.

Intervene and do what, though? Pump state money into better domestic circuits? The islands may see this as a money losing venture.

But maybe that's how you fix things; agree to pool government money and take a loss for about 10 years in the hope that a great domestic circuit will improve things.

But you can argue the opposite as well. For all the WICB's faults, they're behaving like a "good" market-driven corporation. They're trying to improve the grassroots and system as cheaply and efficiently as possible. And they're making some progress that way. They will argue they just need more time.

Basically we have dictatorial, tactless idiots running a capitalist model which emulates the successful Aussie's model (a small group of independent, non-cricketer corporate types presiding over all decisions) but which is failing (or progressing slowly?) because they have less money and people to play with (ironically, they ostracize all their money generating, show pony players), and less government assistance.

Either way, the ICC says it allows governments to step in. Its rules say:  "Governments (or any office thereof) are not prevented from investigating the affairs of Member Boards in order to ascertain whether any negligence or criminal offence has been committed, including fraud, dereliction of director’s duties (including fiduciary duties) or contravention of any relevant legislation.  There may be circumstances where a government (or any ministry thereof) rightfully seeks to intervene in the event that a Member Board is dysfunctional. The ICC governance Review Committee believes that this is a question of accountability, not interference.”

Last edit: 26 Oct 2016 07:26 by TRINIDADDY.

26 Oct 2016 09:12 #325121 by mapoui

your precision makes it much easier for me and for the west indian governments to get involved positively..they need not fear ICC reprisal

they can get consultant analysis and reports on the situation and what can be done or the best approaches....

we already have a few of those sitting on shelves.  but some of the problems are obvious:

you listed that we have few people in the west indies a small population...we canadd to that lots of competition for talent in the region and to stay relevant the cricket must be competitive for talent

that basically means there must be competitive reward for dedication of a sports career to cricket.  the wicb has destroyed that.

what wud be adequate and competitive reward ::confused::

for that I would go to the cricketers which from the start means to me their full involvement in administration. and by going to the cricketers I do not mean a limit to the top players but to all first class players in the region..to to every level whom it seems relevant to involve.

in fact I would make the debate/involvement a region-wide people based discussion. that may take a year or 3 for some kind of usable completion but wud still go on from there.  it wont end in fact

what wud take place right away would be the wind up of the bureau and a restoration of the players pay to the levels from which they were reduce.  an end to the wicb would free up a lot of money..enuff to re-up the players

new administration set up:  let the governments second their professionals at government pay to run whatever admin is necessary..with the help of hired professionals where necessary.  a publicist may be necessary, physical therapist, video people sure.  but no more expensive trappings of bureaucracy like head coaches.  return the captain to his rightful place as the MAN in the mix.  give him his former managers with whom he worked to build winning teams.

and wherever the need for the use of any skill pops up it can be hired and used in whatever way it is necessary..yet the fundamentals stay in place..the captain and manager.

but the players must become dominant in admin, running the show.  their competence must be addressed by relevant programs of education that for the most part are already in place. 

if you want to play cricket especially up to the highest levels, it becomes known that you must also be facile, competent in all relative areas of life...particularly in basic school education up to high school.  you cant be illiterate and expect to become west indies captain..or even get picked for the west indies no matter how good you are.

if you are illiterate then that can be corrected and the players must be keen on his own development so that correction can be achieved quickly.  but with emphasis all along the way I do not expect that to be a problem..or if one to remain so for long

but that is the direction I would go in.  the corporate/capitalist/bureaucratic model goes out the window to fall crash and burn, to be replaced by a more people oriented democratic/ socialist model.... the basic parts control and great creativity can be used to ensure general satisfaction and commitment on their parts in making the game great again in the region, with the necessary rewards for such commitment.

26 Oct 2016 09:18 #325123 by ketchim
Folks, we have an attention seeking WHORE on the threads !

searching for acceptance and relevance

Pittay  :-[

26 Oct 2016 09:21 #325124 by ketchim

and rightly so.

26 Oct 2016 09:28 #325125 by ketchim

I concur. the evidence to send him up is overwhelming !

26 Oct 2016 09:41 #325127 by ketchim
Meltdown tmCalypso .......is NOT giving wood .

Mail, did you miss the time for your Medications ?  :-\

26 Oct 2016 09:43 #325128 by ketchim
This thread end up as 6 pages :

riddled with CONVOLUTED analysis and assessments  ;D

con·vo·lut·ed  adjective

especially of an argument or discusion: extremely complex and difficult to follow.

26 Oct 2016 09:51 #325130 by TRINIDADDY

But you couldn't make a living off being a WI cricketer before the WICB under Pybus. Before they increased the pay for cricketers on the domestic circuit, everyone was starving (unless they managed to play for the international team).

So the WICB is trying to reward players.

Except a "socialist model" is impossible under capitalism.

What you're suggesting is a kind of state capitalism; basically the Minstries of Sports on each island getting together and pooling money. They'd then have to fund local leagues and pay all the local players. How to do this and make a profit?

Time to create page: 0.240 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Cullen