25 Oct 2016 13:41 #324930
Third and final test starts this sunday, England on Friday so a weekend full of cricket.
25 Oct 2016 13:56 #324936
AND Loroy will fail again as an Opener.
Bravo should continue to Open as he did by default in the last TEST
and put Loroy in Chase position : and promote Chase to 3 !
Then we can assess in a fair manner!
25 Oct 2016 14:59 - 25 Oct 2016 15:07 #324950
The batsmen are being forced to play too defensively and negatively. Every second innings they play is an excercise in ball blocking. With a stronger bowling attack, I think, the middle order might gain some confidence. A good bowling attack inspires batsmen to play hard for a win.
I would drop Samuels for the next game and let both Hope and Dowrich play.
I'd also drop Holder for Alzari, but Alzari's just flown home.
If Holder plays, I would make him bat at 1 to 4. A guy like him in the top order can have a good effect on the team. He can break up the field and confuse the opposition.
I like Ketchim's idea of letting Bravo open. He already bats like an opener. Might as well officially make him one.
I think this is the WI's last test for the year (then an ODI series vs Zim and SL?). So Singh won't get any games this year. I imagine next year he will play for Samuels, Leon or Hope.
25 Oct 2016 15:06 #324951
Opening and batting at 3 are two different psychological challenges.
Bravo should resist doing this, in my view.
I take the point about bowling strength boosting confidence so that will not happen for a while, would it?
I am impressed with Joseph, why has he flown home?
25 Oct 2016 15:06 #324952
This is the kinda suggestions that is Logic !!!
Bravo looked extremely comfortable as an Opener by default !
and yes, force Holder up
as opposed to destroying Leon
25 Oct 2016 15:13 #324953
An opener's job is to blunt the opposition and see off the new ball. WI's openers can't do this, always falling early and so leaving Bravo to do the task at number 3 anyway.
Bravo, because the team is so weak, has long decided he is a Chanderpaul-esque batsman. He curbs his flashy shots and tries to bat with focus. If you've got such a constipated (in a good way) batsman, might as well put him to open. That's what England do with Cook and what India did with Gavaskar.
The opposite approach is the Aussie way: 2 cowlashers (Langer, Hayden, Warner etc) to open. I like this too. Stick two cowlashers there and tell them to slog a 40-50 each. Imagine Carlos and Holder opening.
25 Oct 2016 15:20 #324955
I take that point apropos Bravo but find it bizarre suggesting Holder as opener or batting at 3 as he has never done that in his career and whilst he has pretty good technique lower down the order this is like trying to manufacture him into something he has never been.
However I maintain my position about opening and batting at 3. Boycott, some time ago, was talking about this and gave a really good insight into the psyche, in his view.
Holder, even lower down the order, is not consistent enough but given the environment anything is worth a try. Leroy is a top order batsman and more suitable, on paper, in that opening slot than Holder. Leroy should get the next test and save all the instability.
I just think the selectors have to back players. Its all about temperament and approach.
25 Oct 2016 15:20 #324956
not Fair ! Leon is NOT a bona fide opener.
Mail is biased re: Bravo playing outta his spot
BUT do not extend the same thinking to Leon, a middle order Batsman!
Well fuh the third tes'
Time to create page: 0.269 seconds