19 Jul 2016 16:36 #313199
Guyana seems to produce more decent spinners than Trinidad.
Trinidad didn't really produce anything until Lara reignited an interest in local cricket, and Lara was inspired by other islanders, not Trinidadian cricketers. Indeed, he modelled his game and backlift on....what's his name? I've forgotten. Someone help me out. This memory lapse will frustrate me.
West Indian is West Indian. The important thing is that those who are genuinely exceptionally talented aren't unfairly kept down because of the prejudices of selectors.
I personally don't think bigotries have kept down the exceptionally talented. I think local favoritism has championed many mediocre players, but at the expense of the exceptional? I don't think so. Show me the exceptional.
The WICB fast-tracked a skinny Indian guy like Chanders in his teens because he had a 50+ domestic average. I'd like to think they still reward the exceptional.
Finding or producing it is another issue altogether.
Because the Bajans are topping the averages. Only Leon and Singh, for Guyana, did well statistically, and they look likely to be picked.
19 Jul 2016 16:38 #313200
I think Deo had a problem..Character ::confused::
I doh know. after his Oz tour deo was in for me. he had proved himself I found. but he never got better..slid downards.
Fuda has reason to bawl foul. he did not fail given his chance but never got another.
but west indies cricket has changed for the worst administratively and its impact though generally bad so far is still unpredictable. Julian hunter beat up on Gayle and company while letting Narine do as he pleased. but here we are with Skourtney Brown beating-up on Ramdin
what kind of role is the TTCB playing in west indies cricket ::confused::
with TT power I would have imagined they would have had a much more powerful impact by now than they appear to be having. that does not compute I think, wats going orn ::confused::
19 Jul 2016 16:42 #313201
Trinidad dOES not Know how to use their power in West Indian cricket . They should take a page from the BCCI on how they use theirs in the ICC
19 Jul 2016 16:42 #313202
yes! that is beautifully true..the first time I have seen dat admitted anywhere from your corner of the woods.
west indian selection has not been punitive of real talent no matter who represented it. and it is very true that some mediocre tests were pushed to no avail..Milton Small ad Banks from up the islands come to mind. Skourtney Brown himself was another
19 Jul 2016 16:47 #313205
Trinidadians only work on Tuesdays between 10am and 3pm.
We outsource the running of the TnT cricket board to the only rasta man in Tobago with a cell phone.
19 Jul 2016 17:01 #313207
Thank you. My brain, for some reason, was stuck on 60s era players.
We will see.
He's had one excellent domestic season, but the Bajan guys selected over him have had 2, or in the case of Paint, 5.
Most of these Bajan guys will fail and get weeded out at the international level. So if Singh does well domestically next year, he can leapfrog into the team late next year.
But we will see. This is an era of naked statistics. A young batsman has to make it his goal to average 50+ every season. This gets you noticed, regardless of skin color.
At least I'd like to think so.