Nicolas Pooran at this level can destroy a cricket ball and mesmerize a crowd

19 Jul 2016 15:09 - 19 Jul 2016 15:14 #313155 by TRINIDADDY

Probably that "Indians" are stereotyped as being weak and skinny, and "Africans" strong and aggressive.

The actual Indian team didn't have any big sloggers until Kambli and Dhoni came in. Occasionally a guy like Kapil Dev would blast sixes out of nowhere, but mostly they didn't go over the top. By the 2000s things started changing, leading eventually to Kohli, Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Old Man Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, IPL and a generation of Indians who could hit sixes as good or better than any Gayle or Viv.

But it's interesting that India peaked, and became excellent at Tests and ODIs, when they started marrying Dravid/Chanderpaul like patience with Gangully/Dohni/Sehwag like aggression.

Conversely, in a way, West Indian dominance ended when Steve Waugh realized he could block balls for 2 hours and slowly grind down West Indies aggression. West Indies became stylistically outdated and couldn't adapt. Ritchie Richardson/Hooper styled swagger and ball beating now got you nowhere.

But while the actual India team were living up to the "meek" stereotype in the 70s, 80s and 90s, Sri Lanka and Pakistan were the opposite. Imran Khan, Anwar, Jayasuriya, de Silva, Inzie...these guys were all cowlasher subcontinent players, a full two or three decades before T20.

West Indies probably only has 3 Indo-Westindian starbatsmen. Kanhai, Kali and Chanders. The first two were pure Gayle-swag. If Chanders was a gentle curry poweder, Kanhai was a red hot Tawa.
Last edit: 19 Jul 2016 15:14 by TRINIDADDY.

19 Jul 2016 15:13 #313159 by ketchim

Brilliant ....Kanhai hit the ball harder than Everton Weekes...

IF my Dad told me so, is so ... ;)

19 Jul 2016 15:14 #313160 by TRINIDADDY
Notice Pooran's footwork in that video. Too many WI batsmen move only forward and backward. They're very rigid.

Pooran is constantly, however, moving left-right, and so constantly opens up new angles of attack.

19 Jul 2016 15:16 #313163 by ketchim
The difference between Pakistan and India is in the BEEF !

hard hitting Batsmen and Fast bowlers extraordinaire!

Veggies cant pull that off...... ;)

19 Jul 2016 15:19 #313166 by Googley

and in 1976 Trueman said Kanhai hit the ball harder than Viv!

19 Jul 2016 15:24 #313170 by ketchim

Tallawah planning on knocking him down tomorrow night. :-[

19 Jul 2016 15:32 - 20 Jul 2016 08:02 #313173 by mapoui
LOVELY ANALYSIS, VERY SCIENTIFIC INDEED.....EVEN td GETTING BETTAH.  OH MI G.

I wud not try to sell it however, especially if allyuh need food to eat.  I dont anybody will want to buy such analysis.  allyuh in trouble.

however starvation can be good..thin is great in the world.  you might get money for being thin, clean and neat.  lots of men out ther looking for thin, clean and neat men.  arks googley ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Last edit: 20 Jul 2016 08:02 by mapoui.

19 Jul 2016 15:41 #313176 by TRINIDADDY
Remember, Pakistan's first big cricket superstars and idols were bowlers. This set up a chain reaction, each generation of bowling heroes inspiring another generation.

If there was no Imran Khan, or maybe if Imran Khan was 50 percent less sexier, we may have never had a Wasim, Akhtar or Amir down the line.

19 Jul 2016 15:46 #313178 by ketchim
So explain current West Indies fast bowlers then.

We had the best ....so we should be reaping more than Pak

BUT we cant even get up to mid 80s mph......and six feet in height  :-[

19 Jul 2016 15:52 - 19 Jul 2016 15:59 #313179 by TRINIDADDY
Found this on another forum:

"First, let's get the facts straight. Pakistan does not produce great fast bowlers, only Punjab does. All the great fast bowlers hail from either Punjab or KPK. None of the fast bowlers hailed from Karachi even though Karachi is the 3rd largest city by population in the world. None from Sindh and Balochistan. Why? Because it is no secret that Punjabis and Pathans are generally taller and stronger. There are at least 15 fast bowlers in domestic circuit of Pakistan today bowling in excess of 140 Kph, all of them from either Punjab or KPK. So it is incorrect to say that whole of Pakistan produces fast bowlers. In fact, two very specific regions produce fast bowlers with KPK playing second-fiddle.

Now you will ask: But, India too has Punjab.

It is evolutionary. Everyone makes the point about Imran Khan inspiring a generation, which is correct but with a caveat. Imran Khan is also a pathan, who was as physically different from the Pakistani team as from the Indian team. So he had a particular genetic advantage - he was taller and more athletic than the average guy. The entire Pakistani population idolized him but only Punjabi and Pathan population could manage to continue his legacy. As such, we saw emergence of Waqar, Wasim, Akhter, Wahab, Irfan, Amir, and Asif, who are all from Punjab. Or Umer Gul, Junaid Khan, Sohail Khan, who are all from KPK. It is important to note that Imran Khan could not inspire the Sindhis, Balochis, or Karachites to bowl fast.

Thus, you cannot solely explain this dilemma with Imran khan inspired Pakistanis to bowl fast argument. Or we must have seen some Sindis bowl 150 Kph too. It hasn't happened yet and there are no signs of it happening anytime soon. Meanwhile, Karachi has given us Zaheer Abbas, Miandad, and Saeed Anwar to name a few. Does this sound familiar?

Tape ball argument is true to an extent. But, Karachi, a city of 25 million people, also bowls with a taped ball exclusively. I have played so many tournaments locally. And indeed, taped ball comes faster at you than un-taped, and that's why we do it. There is a culture to bowl fast, appreciate speed, and idolize fast bowlers. Tape ball doesn't move in the air, so the only way you can survive or take wickets is by bowling as fast as you can in the 'jurh' (root) or toes. So if you are bowling anywhere in Karachi, your team mates will keep yelling at you 'Jarh mai rakh' (Keep it fast in the roots). Why, then, Karachi has no fast bowlers to show for it? Well, because our friends from Punjab have this culture AND they have the genetic potential to enable them. This culture allows them to take advantage of their genetics, which was dormant before the advent of Imran Khan.

So, if India are to produce tearaway fast bowlers, it needs two things to click TOGETHER:
1.An inspirational fast bowler (Stimulus)
2.Athletic/stronger sub-races in India who idolize him (Specific Response).
3.The rest will take care of itself. But both these conditions need to be met.

It is a chicken and egg argument but you never know, you could have the first one by chance, as it happened in the case of Pakistan with Imran Khan. We just got lucky."

According to this guy, Imran Khan is basically the fast bowling equivalent of the Ary@n Ubermensch. Hitler would have loved him.

This confirms my suspicions that Imran Khan is the Master Race.

Last edit: 19 Jul 2016 15:59 by TRINIDADDY.

Time to create page: 0.189 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Jesus