Ban bouncers?

02 Dec 2014 16:38 #226148 by ketchim
"Ow Dowe, Bounce Now ! "

Babu of course jus kept Hooking !

Then came the "Dowe shall not Bounce"

I remember that like yesterday at Bourda    ::LOL::

02 Dec 2014 17:11 #226150 by ketchim
www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/player/51653.html

Uton Dowe was a well-built fast bowler who made a good debut, taking 4 for 69 against India

at Kensington Oval but failed to impress thereafter.

Prone to being wildly erratic, he was mauled by Keith Stackpole to such an extent in the

Jamaican Test of 1971-72 that the crowd erected a series of banners proclaiming

an 11th commandment: "Dowe shalt not bowl "

02 Dec 2014 20:59 #226167 by ramesh
  I deleted my post because  it seemed like a crude and insensitive way to express my sentiments but it cannot detract from the fact that had it been a man of color  that was killed , there aint no way , the test mach series with India  and Australia  or the local    matches in Australia  would have been postponed .
There  is a double standard and with all due respects to MAIL , live a day in a Black man's world and your opinions will be different 

03 Dec 2014 08:07 - 03 Dec 2014 10:09 #226184 by mapoui

whenever a progressive issue is addressed the speaker, writeR, from any side of the spectrum are given much leeway in the use of language, attitude etc.  the nature of the issue and the effect on victims is recognized.  the intent is good..so much direct speech is acceptable. 

the only crudity in there would be attached to the use of the term whitey.  it could be argued that you do not like such termS applied to you..indeed that is also what you fighting to eliminate, such terms and their punitive existential reality relative to you.  so it is not advisable to  use them in seeking change, in commenting about the reality you find egregious.  we cannot apply the disease to cure the disease.  that is only more disease..times 2

otherwise that quote above is all direct speech and quite acceptable at any point no matter how close after the event.  therefore "A white man got killed an' deh want to ban bouncers..........." would have been perfect

Caucasian would also have been fine..a white OZ..or a Waltzing Mathilda dies before a bouncer and deh want to ban dem out!  if it was..............

but the fact that googs an' dem did not handle it in this way I describe here proves where their true sentiments lie.  as a west indian, a brother and fellow citizen, charged by their own citizenship to have some concern for their fellow citizens, they should at least be concerned about you to the extent they are concerned, sorrowful, and in honor of the Australian, a world away and not a fellow citizen.

had they been as respectful of you, concerned  about you as a fellow west indian as they should have been, they would have dealt with you as such, pointed out your mistake in constructive criticism, recognized your longstanding hurt and justified anger, see that anger as right, the source ultimately of your liberation, and not an aspect of your activity here to be disparaged...recognized your yearning for redress, freedom, opportunity and peace to live a good life. 

they might have said in proffering corrective ' nice one Ramesh but ease off on the WHITEY'..and 'yu might have waited another day or so.  but yuh cool man.  we understand '

if we want peace, freedom, an end to racism we must go that way too.  there will be no peace and freedom on this planet, security of life among humans, if we do not change systematic human exploitation and the social usages and existential structures by which such exploitation is accomplished and maintained. it is in the interest of all to understand and effect this change..not just you Ramesh..but all of us.  ALL CITIZENS
Last edit: 03 Dec 2014 10:09 by mapoui.

03 Dec 2014 09:44 - 03 Dec 2014 09:50 #226189 by mapoui
I looking at this situation allyuh know.  its really really interesting.  in life all is balance...all is measured and balanced.  and when it is not it must be called dysfunctional.

I look at this Hughes person.  he is an ordinary Oz whose only mark of distinction is his rise to the heights of cricket representation.. the Oz test team.  as such he is a fine fair-head boy to the Oz, especially to the Oz cricket faithful.  most other Oz for whom cricket is not a major focus would of course note Hughes' unfortunate passing, offer up what they feel and must, and go on with their lives. 

the Oz media as is the wont and practice of media anywhere in the world, latches on to anything 'newsworthy' and beats it for all its worth..as they used up Hughes passing.

but by any stretch of calculation Hughes cannot mean as much to us a world away, as has been expressed by so many here and elsewhere in the west indian diaspora..and apparently in the west indies.  where is the balance ::confused::  Hughes was not one of us.  Hughes could not possibly have cared for us to the extent our response to his death suggests we do about him ::)

the strongest connective between Hughes and us is cricket..and specifically now, the helmet issue.  and here we have been lacking as well for the lesson in Hughes' death is to build a better helmet which is easy to build...but will likely prove very difficult to get the manufacturers to comply.  but we are divided on this apparently, which makes little sense.

I knew Hughes as prolly a coming batsman..one who would score very well for Oz. I respect him as a human life..which was wasted in all likelihood, as a consequence of the reprehensible behavior of helmet makers..a fact over which our anger should be without limit, flawless and unstoppable, until a new helmet that meets all safety requirements is available to all players

I note everything in passing..or as much of it as I can grasp.  but at the end of the day, Hughes is an Ozzie mark, their own to mourn and celebrate and not mine. 

proper condolences have been sent, we most likely had representatives at the send-off which was right and proper also.  but we also must look to our own, after our own people and affairs, and leave the greatest part of the obsequies to the Oz, who are the ones of direct concern and mourning

Last edit: 03 Dec 2014 09:50 by mapoui.

• Mail
03 Dec 2014 10:00 #226191 by Mail

Ramesh,

I would expect if a young International Cricketer from anywhere died in such circumstances there would be International sympathy. It was an Australian who sadly died and where India is due to play so CA Australia abandoned that game and cancelled the round. I am sure CA worked with a sympathetic BCCI in postponing the Test series.

Now I do not particularly want the same to happen to a person of colour to see how the world reacts, do you?  However if such a catastrophe happened in the midst of the PCL it would be up to the WICB to do what they felt was necessary and therefore has nothing to do with what CA and the BCCI did.

In fact Cricket carried on in the West Indies, Sri Lanka (where England is touring), South Africa and elsewhere.

I was very upset at this event as a Cricketer, as it is part of a family really, and as a father. I have trousers older than the lad.

Ramesh, I respect teh fact you removed your post and came back to explain to explain yourself.

I hope the above helps you to understand my perspective.

A life has no colour!

03 Dec 2014 10:12 #226193 by mapoui
I would have edited the post..explained why..but I would not have removed it.

removing it, while Ramesh's prerogative, is a lil cowardly if I may say so.  if that is what I believe and said so, it would remain up..edited or not!
:) :)

03 Dec 2014 10:30 #226196 by ketchim
Lookit here, the politically correct thing is to shed a tear :

whether ramesh Guyana : have crocodiles or not  :-[

03 Dec 2014 10:41 #226200 by mapoui

well we did shed a tear..even Ramesh ultimately.

but by balance and measurement we shed way too many tears.  it is not our business really..so why we crying when only one tear was required ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

03 Dec 2014 11:30 #226222 by Kwami
A young man died  doing what he loved  . This is a tragedy ,  Race should not have been brought into this discussion.

Time to create page: 0.245 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Yahir