27 Dec 2012 10:00 #116487
One in four Toronto families is headed by a single parent.
But in the black community, nearly 50 per cent of children are living with a lone parent,
and 80 per cent of those children are being raised by their mothers.
Absent fatherhood is also dramatically higher in Toronto’s black community
than in other visible minorities.
To me it's just ridiculous....... ::redface::
27 Dec 2012 10:01 #116489
Father-deprived children are:
- 72% of all teenage murderers.
- 60% of rapists.
- 70% of kids incarcerated.
- twice as likely to quit school.
- 11 times more likely to be violent.
- 3 of 4 teen suicides.
- 80% of the adolescents in psychiatric hospitals.
- 90% of runaways
27 Dec 2012 10:04 #116490
Fathers play a role to develop the child to become independent in society, develop breadwinner habits in other terms be the provider.
that's a western concept..middle class professional father, mother stays at home..mother works too. its capitalism and standard role set my the society.
what is also set by the society is black inferiority and general social proscription, that rendered black man unable o actualise standards set by society that is white dominated.
if all men are supposed to behave and live and achieve a certain and black man prevented from such actualisation..judgeed as bad, dumb, failure, absentee..through no fault of his own, then what?....what yuh blaming the black man for?
To better say a father moulds and shapes the ‘manly’ behaviour of the child.
that is no a universality. it is exemplary of the type of social organisation you know
One major reason due to the absence of a male figure in modern day society
the society you know may be changing before your eyes. the western divorce rates are like 50%. women once again left with the children
households in the Caribbean is because of previous times mainly slavery.
to correct the ravages of slavery..what is the major source of current black problems...would have required of society a different response than the one we have had. we have had a continuation of exploitation of black people based on race..as opposed to organisation of society to correct all the ravages of slavery...on all the people, including whites whose embedded negative attitudes towards black people had to be corrected to ensure proper and general social relations
27 Dec 2012 10:04 #116491
Great Role Models......Claptain Sammy at your Service
Sammy's oldest boy when asked WHO is his favorite cricketer ;
replies simply : " Bishoo " ...
http://askmoniquefenech.weebly.com/uploads/1/1/1/3/11131240/764705401.jpg?347
27 Dec 2012 10:08 #116492
Sammy was given the Captaincy ( a contract UNHEARD of since inception of WI )
Who gave him the Contract ??
who was exploited to make this Happen ?
YardMan
27 Dec 2012 10:12 #116494
by YardMan
The black Caribbean community has a higher level of absentfathers than any other group. It is no small irony that, in an agewhen we're told that women can do everything, the absence offathers is having a devastating effect on teenage black boys,turning them to drugs and violence in unprecedented numbers. Butwhy should this be so?
27 Dec 2012 10:20 #116501
you still chatting so unsophisticated on black issues Ketchim?
you once did but I somehow anticipated a maturity from you in time on this issue. I guess not
look man..black problems are black problems. we are responsible. we solve them or die trying..or not trying!
myopia from you does not help. and it behoves you to be professionally proper in the consideration of any issues that comes under your pervue. not because black issues are not your major will you be allowed to avoid application of proffessional principles in the considerations of our issues.
you conclusions are inaccurate and emotional and do not even apply general factoids that have come to public attention over recent years.
I have mentioned divorce for eg as a contributing factor. I did not mention young women of ability and means having children deliberately without fathers and rearing them on their own...in the clear and developing breakdown of marriage as a viable institution
and again...proper analysis of existing bodys of fact, stats..histories of the people who make up the west indies, the society we have as a result of that and how it deals with its problems.
from all you say over the years I don't see that you have a proper grasp of all of that. you point of view appears emotional and racist making it very difficult to discuss with you
27 Dec 2012 10:21 #116502
simplistic to the point of incoherence.....
break it down man...break it down
YardMan
27 Dec 2012 10:24 #116507
by YardMan
For me, the answer is obvious and there has been far too muchpseudo-intellectual analysis over the question by sociologists. Itis a matter of unchan-nelled masculinity. It may not be politicallycorrect to say so but the most influential driving forces insidethe souls of young men - black or otherwise - are sexual andaggressive.
And, traditionally, it has been the role of the father to makesure that young men kept these instincts under control, otherwiseit would destroy the community.
The role of the father was one of guidance, giving his son loveas well as discipline. He provided the safe guidelines which hisson understood and which kept the aggression in check.
YardMan
27 Dec 2012 10:35 #116512
by YardMan
I am tired of the liberal dogma that keeps saying we shouldlisten to children. Our children need guidance and discipline. Iwould like to see the broader family in black communities - theuncles, the aunts, the grandparents - accept more responsibilityand take on the role of informal mentors.
Selective recognition in the West Indies? We salute you A.I. Kallicharan!
Time to create page: 0.263 seconds