**** Bravo sacked as ODI Captain ****

• Mail
22 Dec 2014 01:12 #230058 by Mail
And Pigs might fly!

You do not make such important decisions on a whim, do you?

Holder has achieved very little and can you see a team looking up to him?

Had he had  atrack record and shown his worth then I can understand that.

If anyone can logically identify and present the merit/s of this move, the forum is all yours...

On another point, I am not wedded to Bravo being Captain but it is clear the WICB is in reprisal mode for not just sacking Bravo but effectively excluding him and others from the World Cup.

Had I been Bravo and the others, I would reconsider any involvement in the T20 format!

• boquiesse
22 Dec 2014 09:05 #230070 by boquiesse

You are being altogether too logical given that we are talking about the WICB.

Given the team that the WICB picked then it is obvious to me that Ramdin should be the captain. BUT the WICB in their infinite wisdom cannot see that. So if not Ramdin then Holder is about a good a choice as anyone else on the squad.

He has played quite a few ODIs and his bowling record is decent.

WRT to Bravo and the others dem fellas are not going to withdraw from the T20 team. They will be getting decent money for T20s. Add to that the fact that they play T20s around the world and it makes sense for them to play against quality opposition.

22 Dec 2014 09:20 #230072 by mapoui
Bravo and dem shud be let go period.  I don't see how they can give of their best now..play hard for the west indies.  why should they ::confused:they will be let go soon anyway with this very thought in mind

but then again..Skam and dem shoud not worry about Bravo an dem alone in this light.  deh have to worry about all the players..certainly those who can prosper at T20.  I don't see how they can be concerned about giving their best for the west indies.  I can see them using west indies to get to T20 glory then turning their backs as far as they can get away with it from the west indies

if Skam an' dem think deh will get away with this scott free they ought to think again.  they have prolly delivered a death blow to the west indian game.  surely 2 tiered test ranking will bury west indies in the doldrums for good..while we still play.  and for the life of me I cant see how west indian youth will continue to focus on cricket..not with a top heavy salary base and a stinking rotten and punitive administrative leadership

• Mail
22 Dec 2014 09:28 #230073 by Mail

For example you support Holder being Captain and I just wanted to understand why from your perspective!

Holder has not been a regular in the ODI team and that is down to said selector who allegedly proposed him for the role. In my view, Holder's bowling has not improved as much as it should to be potent. He has not developed pace and his variations are not that brilliant. He is talented yes but he needs to develop his game without the burdens of Captaincy!

As far as I am aware, Bravo has not stepped down and is available for the SA ODI series so this move is simply reprisal despite the agreement this would not happen! Bravo's record as an ODI Captain is pretty good and his game has improved.

It is therefore possible we are yet to hear about some legal actions!

• boquiesse
22 Dec 2014 09:28 #230074 by boquiesse

Bravo and co will play hard in the T20s, after all they need to ensure that they remain in demand around the world.

As for the others well the IPL, Big Bash etc are NOT going to be calling anytime soon.

• boquiesse
22 Dec 2014 09:40 #230075 by boquiesse

Mail, you seem to forget that we are talking about the WICB.

It should come as no surprise to anyone that the WICB has taken action against the players perceived to be the "strike leaders".

What legal action could they possibly take that will have any chance of succeeding? Players can be dropped for good reasons, bad reasons or no reasons at all. That is why I will ALWAYS maintain that players make decisions based on their best interest and NOT the interests of the WICB or the "West Indian pepole".

I heard the Thorne QC man speak at length on the Mason show and I just laughed because I was pretty sure that the WICB would take action against the players.

To use a slightly different analogy - when Hilaire and co first came in and Gayle and co did not sign the WICB central contracts, I heard Hilaire talk about how the players needed a NOC blah blah blah. Again I just laughed because there is ABSOLUTELY NO WAY that the WICB will refuse a NOC to any player. Let them try that if you really want to see politics mash up WI cricket.

• Mail
22 Dec 2014 09:47 #230076 by Mail
Thanks for that Boqui, but it does not say why you support Holder's 'elevation'.

• boquiesse
22 Dec 2014 10:26 #230077 by boquiesse

Ok lemme rephrase.

Given the team that the WI picked I support Ramdin as captain of that team.

I could leave it at that.

However the WICB did not make Ramdin captain because of spite. If Ramdin is not cappo then Holder is just as good a choice an anyone else on the side. The one person I would not even consider is Samuels.

The sad reality is that it really does not matter if Bravo was on the team and captain I still cannot see WI winning the ODI series against SA or getting beyond game #1 in round 2 of the WC.

So as far as I am concerned it really does not matter who WI have as captain is endless licks :)

22 Dec 2014 10:38 #230078 by mapoui
well the difference between playing hard and playing hard can be subtle.....

I maintain that they wont play hard for the west indies.  they are all known T20 quantities an can maintain themselves regardless of what they produce under the wicb. indeed I don't see how the wicb drop is not a welcome development for all of them.  now they have to focus only on the games they really want to play

Gayle for sure is done with playing for the west indies.  It may be that Darren Bravo has also tossed in his towel.  and ultimately the wicb/ICC cant withhold freedom to play for any league and team without agreement from national boards.  that is a monopoly tactic, restraint of trade etc that wont stand up in in any court of law.

I dont understand how that got there...unchallenged by players unions ::confused::

22 Dec 2014 10:57 #230079 by ketchim

I can logically say that for a SQUAD of mediocre crap players with ZERO achievements:

representing a # 8 out of 10 teams consistently for a Decade !

It matters not whom based on statistical performance  :P

BUT based on other characteristics like Education , Height and good looks .

Jason Holder wins hands down  8)

Time to create page: 0.180 seconds
BrooklynINJURY UPDATE: ?

Tagenarine Chanderpaul has been ruled out of the second test between the West Indies and New Zealand due to a side strain.

Chanderpaul suffered the injury while playing a shot in the nets on Tuesday.

The left handed batter is currently being examined by the medical team to determine the full extent of the injury as well as his availability for the remainder of the series.
(09.12.2025, 19:01)(19:01)0
Brooklyn"Defence becomes an all-encompassing routine: eyes on ball, move your feet, keep head still, pat it down, repeat. No matter whether you need one run to win, or a couple hundred, you defend the same"(08.12.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
LondonSo if chase fails again then what? ?(08.12.2025, 14:23)(14:23)0
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
Felix