Channerpauls Runs Were Too Slow! Am I A Hater?

08 Sep 2014 14:04 #211766 by mapoui

impse!  Shive better than those 2 combined,  he shud have demonstrated it by getting his ton and remaining not out.  he did not and I am pissed at him because of it. man loosing he ambition.  he might be getting too old now eh..senile!

{ I know allyuh shhitting bricks because of dat kind of talk ....but Shive leaves himself open to such questions when he does dat kind of thing at 40

08 Sep 2014 14:07 #211769 by mapoui

yuh see you know dat dat is not troo but what about ketchim,googs and the captain ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

are deh able to reason properly these kinds of nuance.  all dem know is black and white :(

• Mail
08 Sep 2014 14:09 #211770 by Mail

No MAPPIPPE as I know you are a true West Indian and the least partisan....after me. lol

You are no hater brother and I agree with you 100%.

In the context of the game and opposition Shiv should have scored more rapidly for a man of his calibre but he clearly has fight and all those things we like but his acceleration seems to have gone. He was all at sea against NZ and I hate contemplating the great man is loosing his edge but he can still walk into this West Indies team blind folded as without him, the substance is lost.

Would his poor SR in this test make much of a difference to the outcome? No but the declaration would have been sooner and Rambo did give Shivster a chance to get his ton but he did not want it although Shiv did accelerate a bit....

For the statisticians, his end SR was still below his lifetime average!

Is Shiv losing it Rev?

A question for you Rev. I may be mistaken but i seem to recall Shiv's strike rate being higher. What is his SR trend in the last 7 or so years? So accumulated SR 7 years ago and by year. What was his SR in the first 10 years of his test career?

Look boys, if Shiv was a nobody and people did not care, he would not be the topic of conversation!

08 Sep 2014 14:13 #211771 by Rowe992
Shiv is 40 years old what do you expect? And further more I don't see anything wrong with his style of batting because he still can play better than a lot of the current WI batsmen. Shiv occupies the crease and that is why he has so many centuries and half centuries.

08 Sep 2014 14:16 #211772 by Googley
Given the runs Shiv made in the warmup game, he should have batted with a little more urgency from the time he got in the wicket.  In fact, If I was Shiv I would ask Ramdin to send me in at number 4 (aginst Bangla).  Put Kurk to bat down the order. 

08 Sep 2014 14:26 - 08 Sep 2014 14:38 #211776 by Rev Al

CHECK THIS:

* Shiv's career STRIKE RATE is 43

* Shiv's STRIKE RATE in his first 10 years(94-03) was 42

* Shiv's STRIKE RATE in last 10 years(04 to present) is 44

RE: CURRENT TEST

* Shiv faced 226 balls---he scored 85*---his STRIKE RATE was 38

* If Shiv had scored at the STRIKE RATE he has had the past 10 years---44---his score would have been 100 instead of 85

* SO SHIV LEFT 15 RUNS AT THE WICKET.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Shiv got his beloved NOT OUT---and in the process achieved a new world record---most NOT OUTS(47) by a front line batsman. :D

* Another thing Shiv contributed 85 to the WI score of 484---2nd largest contribution.

Last edit: 08 Sep 2014 14:38 by Rev Al.

08 Sep 2014 14:35 #211780 by mapoui
I would try now this:  Blackwood is the man in line for the side so I wud ask Shive to drop down one notch to 6..next test and put Blackwood there. 

I would give Edwards one final chance.

we need to give Blackwood opportunity to score..to see what he has for the future.

to be honest I see Shive winding down.  its natural.. it is the way things go.  but he is borderline between staing at his fave five or dropping a notch

.  we must not push him but ask him if he would drop a notch.  if he does not no mind.  we can switch with Edwards for the next game..put Blackwood at 3 and Edwards at 6. we have more than an idea already about what Edwards can do up at the top.

over the next 2 years or so Shive can play out his career at 5, then 6 and call it when he knows its time to go

08 Sep 2014 14:45 #211782 by mapoui

there you go.  Thanks Rev.  all is clear now.  everybody got what they wanted..Ramdin got his declaration, Shive his not out.  Ramdin is no impse as described by ketchim and Bang hanging on by their skins.

and most importantly I am wrong about shive. Shive is not declining.  he was playing for a world record.  he got it.

we can expect he will revert to his old 44 SR by the next test.  and he will keep his fave five position and no push down to 6.  so instead of next 2 years maybe 4 more ::confused::

08 Sep 2014 14:48 #211783 by Rev Al

Mappy:

* Shiv needs 240 runs at #5 to become the highest scorer at that batting position.

* He has also averaged 58.69 in 92 tests he has played at the #5 position.

See link:

stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/i...results;type=batting

* So why would you want Shiv to drop to #6 where he only averages 64.84 ? :D hahahaha

08 Sep 2014 14:55 #211785 by mapoui
well..I am under the impression of decline. you say he was batting for a not out.

if you are right and I am wrong  there is no decline in shive...so no need to ask him to slide down.  if you are wrong then there is need to..

but we will see.... next test, and a lot more coming up soon.

Time to create page: 0.228 seconds
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
Leighton