21 Jan 2014 16:10 #174308
Yeah , Joey can be included.
BUT the matting cricket , gave us a long line of great Spin :
starting with Puss achong of the Chinaman fame.
Ramadhin
even that flash in the pan Jack Noreiga
Inshan Ali , Jumadeen et al ....
21 Jan 2014 16:14 #174311
Inshan to me was a genius, first of the mystery spinners.
Tenacious but could be expensive at times and an astute captain would forego that in favour of a match winner.
21 Jan 2014 16:24 - 21 Jan 2014 18:33 #174316
you could not have gotten that idea from me I started posting on these boards about 8-9 years ago and my beginning contention was 'there will be no resurgence in west indian cricket until there is general social reform of west indian society'
by that time west indies cricket had fallen low, I attributed that to ebb and flow of cricket fortune. we have been on top and now we have entered a trough. but I also attributed the failure to the rise of the west indian black/brown.. and still white of a different stripe to the old whites, though declining.. elite to west indian administrative cricket power.
they brought their poxy, oreo cookie, traitorous, comprador quality to running the cricket, and as such they would never be able to do right by the game, and the cricket would die under their brief, if no social reform in the society from below, which would sweep out the old colonials and usher in a new more independent type.
DeSousa was a main part of a clack up in the wicb who made themselves a permanent power, that arranged a sort of royal succession of the presidency that reduced what should have been a democratic process to a completely manipulated one. as such all the presidents were their unopposed choices, over whom they as permanent committee exercised real power.
the first reasonably viable election the wicb has had in my recent memory is the last one that brought Skameron to power. DeSousa is gone and I don't think the committee has as much power any more. but the situation is still not democratic..the leader comes from in-house or out house and unopposed.
there has been also much financial skulduggery at the wicb that DeSousa was always reported to be the centre figure in
there has never been any doubt about what goes on at the wicb and when he was there that DeSousa was the main man in the mix. none at all.
I can offer no validation on DeSousa..just like I cant Dos Santos. but what is true about both men is know and accepted..more so because the wicb sank in the very ways that DeSousa's management failed..the management by all of them among whom DeSousa was jefe.
but anyway mail..stop play inoncent fuh we eh. I know you know far more than you pretend
Last edit: 21 Jan 2014 18:33 by mapoui.
21 Jan 2014 16:33 #174318
hahahaha, don't get vex ...getting caught might be a blessing for u. ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
21 Jan 2014 16:44 #174322
Nope....I was in to Batsmen with style and flash .
I wanted to be text book technique...
My cousin Timur got it ....I came to this god forsaken Ice hockey town :'(
21 Jan 2014 18:01 #174331
DeSouza was a bit before both Bacchus and Timur.
Bacchus would have overlapped a couple of years.
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
****Remembering Richard DeSouza****
Time to create page: 0.243 seconds