20 Jan 2014 21:22 #174195
Only played from 1964-73 and had his last game at 25!
Debuted at 16 and in 34 games averaged 43.
Seems average now but to me he was a colossus of a player a prodigy really and sadly never played for the Windies like Charlie Davis, Brian Davis, Joey Carew my other heroes along with the original Prince.......... Bartholomew.
He was a key player in the Shell shield victories of 70 and 71 and I recall the last game of 71 played at Bourda where the 2 points earned against a very strong Guyanese team ensured the Shield as Jamaica then beat Barbados to finish only 4 point behind.
DeSouza, batting at 3 in the first innings, score a 90 odd and a 50* in the second innings.
One of the best batsmen of that time not to have played for the West Indies.
Sadly died at the young age of 59 in 2007 from cancer.
What are your memories?
20 Jan 2014 23:21 #174207
Desouza was fat and incompetent in the field..a liability
he was also an even greater liability to west indies cricket as an administrator.
Phcuk Riachard DeSousa >
![:( :(](/media/kunena/emoticons/sad.png)
21 Jan 2014 06:34 #174221
Yes DeSouza was a fuller built man but do not really him being a liability in the field. Having seen him home and away, he was a brilliant batsman and no one averaged in the 40s in those days without being very good.
Contributed well to the Shell Shield wins of 1969/70 and 1970/71.
Not aware of him as an administrator but perhaps you can expand on that mappappee.
21 Jan 2014 11:06 #174254
there are a lot of voices here who could easily chime in on this subject. why haven't deh already.... ::confused::
they don't want to talk with you mail ::confused::
21 Jan 2014 11:29 #174257
Ha ha ha Mappappee, that is their perogative and it is possible many do not remember him. He was also a Westmooring boy....
Remember he retired at 25, 40 years ago!
I am happy either way Mapster as long as you keep chipping in I am the happiest man around.
Do not forget my offer Mappippee but give me some notice.
Who were your favourite player of that era as I get the sense you are much older than me so you might go further back.
21 Jan 2014 11:45 #174259
I vaguely remembered his name in the Shell Sheild games. Nothing of signifiance, however.
21 Jan 2014 12:04 #174261
stop lie googs
21 Jan 2014 12:06 #174263
De Souza captained the St Mary's College cricket team, leading them to five Cadbury Cup titles. But cricket was not his only sport. De Souza also played football for St Mary's. He was nicknamed "the master distributor" but never took his football to a higher level, opting to develop himself as a cricketer. The decision paid off. In 1964, at the age of 15, De Souza made his national senior team debut. When De Souza left St Mary's, he continued to play cricket with QPCC.
21 Jan 2014 12:22 #174265
I think you know more than you imply googs...wat you mean you doh remember... :
![:) :)](/media/kunena/emoticons/smile.png)
****Remembering Richard DeSouza****
Time to create page: 0.238 seconds