****Remembering Richard DeSouza****

21 Jan 2014 12:38 #174268 by mapoui
DeSouza is not an endearing west indian cricket figure....

he quit at 25..why ::confused::

there is however, enough time to suggest a lot of things

* health problems..his health did not permit him to continue

* He had not made the west indies team at 25 and his window was closing.  to make the west indies team in those days required a physically and mentally rigorous approach that Desouza did not have.  he was fat and getting larger in the early seventies

DeSouza could only have found it too hard to develop and maintain.  he would not, could not even do it for Trinidad.

that to my mind is what actually happened.  DeSouza gave up.  it was too physically demanding and he was not the type to fight for the physically demanding.  he was shiny, corpulent and he liked that life.  he got himself into the wicb and proceeded to set up a kingdom in there to meet all his needs

the investigative journos...Yamfoot an'dem.. shud look into that

a more compelling fella is Stephen Comacho..a west indian also of Portuguese descent.  he is a large and far more comprehensive figure than DeSouza to devote time to

DeSouza to my way of seeing things was a waste of time

• Mail
21 Jan 2014 14:25 #174292 by Mail
MAPPIPPEE is quite entitled to his opinion but his position seems factually inaccurate. I do agree Richard was of a larger built but fat no.

However MAPPIPPEE would have been in his 20s in the 60s, when Richard made his debut, so I may have to, as I am a bit younger, listen a to him.

I know less of DeSouza, the administrator, but as a cricketer he was unfortunate not to make the West Indies team.

I think Chin has a fairer recollection of the man. No one makes a FC debut at 15-16 if they are crap as MAPPIPPEE suggests.

Who were your heroes of that era Mapster?

21 Jan 2014 14:44 - 21 Jan 2014 14:52 #174294 by mapoui
look mail..age is not a factor in such consideration.  either what I say is useful or it is not.  you are not going to follow me because of age.  I don't care about anything of the sort

is chin a valid commentator?

on record of performance in these pages....NO!  very far from it!

yet I admit I do not know DeSouza save as a player from afar.  but I do know my west indies and to a degree far more sophisticated than any perspective chin has expressed here as any handle at all. 

DeSousa was a priviliged Trinidadian due to his skin colour.  I don't think his family was rich.  I know some of them..Richards brother well enough.  I know they are dam racist by personal experience..and Richard was no different by observation.  Richard as administrator demonstrated exactly who he was all along by helping to destroy west indies cricket..to bring it to what it is currently.

maybe he had it in for west indies cricket which did not include him when he thought he should have been.  maybe what we are looking at his revenge.

but DeSouza was not a good fieldsman...he was FAT tuh rass and was not getting anywhere. and if he quit by 25 why shud the then wicbc take the blame ::confused::

life is an effing risk for all involved..every frigging day.  why the rass shud any of us feel entitled enough that if we fail at something in the general competition, we should take it so personally as to seek revenge....so that if an opportunity arises one gets in and makes a pigs breakfast of things.

Richard DeSousa is not the first west Indian 'potogee' who screwed west indies cricket all to hell at the administrative level.  there was an Erroll Dos Santos before him too >:( >:( >:( >:(
Last edit: 21 Jan 2014 14:52 by mapoui.

21 Jan 2014 14:59 - 21 Jan 2014 15:04 #174295 by mapoui

politics is always the case. politics is life, unfairness in life, favouritism, prejudice in selection, opportunity and otherwise....life tuh rass as we know it.

DeSousa went to St Marys college in Port of Spain..which is like entitlement to catholic white boys.  all you had to be was white and reasonable bright..even if yuh not catholic but white.

DeSousa get big job by the time he was 25 in Trinidad..why tuh rass...because he was white.

so what kiss my arse politics he was talking about..the massive MANY that favoured him or the ONE that did not ::confused::

maybe as far as he was concerned ALL SHUD HAVE FAVOURED HIM, WITHOUT EXCEPTION.. AND SCREW ALL OTHERS WHO WERE LOOKING FOR THE SAME FOR THEMSELVES, THAT HE WAS GUARANTEED BY WAY OF HIS SKIN COLOUR ONLY?

ketch yuhself eh chin! >:( >:(

eff DeSousa.  at least in these quarters I have no concern for him at all.  none!

Comacho another Potogee yes.  his is an interesting and not negative case as a west indian public figure
Last edit: 21 Jan 2014 15:04 by mapoui.

21 Jan 2014 15:10 #174296 by mapoui
and before I lose the opportunity let me list a west indian of Portuguese descent whom I hold as a champion citizen, solid human being, great west indian...

William 'Willie' Rodriguez, former Queens Park and Trinidad and Tobago captain, west indian  player and team manager.

now there is a west indian we should be paying  real attentionm to :D :D :D

21 Jan 2014 15:29 #174297 by Googley

hahahahahahahahahahah!!

Does this apply to Chin and Soca?  did they meet personally?? 

::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

21 Jan 2014 15:47 - 21 Jan 2014 18:44 #174300 by mapoui

how does this above..compare to that below:

I speak about white west indian racism, favouritism etc.. FACT THAT ARE NOT ONLY WELL KNOWN BUT DOCUMENTED MANY TIMES OVER IN STUDIES OF WEST INDIAN SOCIETY.  WE HAVE ALL LIVED THIS REALITY.  IT IS FACT!

and all I discussed based on the facts there-in is legit discourse.

chin accuses me of racism but adds no basis at all in support of such a claim. 

if it is racist to speak what is known to be true then I am racist..stand condemned. 

but if chin can speak as It does with no validating support and feel confident in it..then that is to be racist itself for there can be nothing in support of such claim but the superiority that the racist speaker feels and believes, that all they say even without case and proof is right.. opposed to what the inferior claim, even with proof and case
Last edit: 21 Jan 2014 18:44 by mapoui.

• Mail
21 Jan 2014 15:54 #174301 by Mail
I hear your views MAPPIPPEE but it might be presumptuous on your part that Richard aimed to destroy west indies cricket for the reasons you mentioned.  I discount this on the basis it is just your view point and not based in fact.

I thought it was Hunte and Hillaire who has got you to where you are but now you are suggesting DeSouza was a key part of destroying Windies cricket. When was he at the WICB?

What exactly did he do/ support to induce your comments?

Thanks mate.

21 Jan 2014 15:56 #174302 by ketchim
Lookit here, for all his kindess to the cripple , Chin :

de sousa did the right thing and quit this great game.

West Indies needed Trinidad for Spinners ....that is all.

We got lucky with the Davis brothers back then  ;)

I actually loved Charlie long ass forward defensive blocks...

• Mail
21 Jan 2014 16:01 #174304 by Mail
Joey Carew!!!!!

Time to create page: 0.216 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Ellie