West Indies cricket declined due to loss of nationalism

04 Aug 2015 11:51 #266417 by Big Cat
West Indies should stop embarrassing itself and stop playing International Cricket.

04 Aug 2015 11:56 #266419 by ketchim

Learned from the Colonial masters : hence that "disenfranchisement " concept is sheer nonsense.

They  not emancipated from Mental slavery  >:(

04 Aug 2015 11:58 #266420 by ketchim

I would like to TRY it as individual countries :

and I know both Guyana and TnT stink up their International appearance in champions league.

04 Aug 2015 12:04 #266423 by ray
It accurately voices the feelings of despair and resignation felt by so many West Indians about the sense of loss, in its widest sense, around the great game that is so close to their hearts. We all wish for signs of a Phoenix flapping its wings in the flames, but we don't hold our breath in hope - but to avoid choking on the smoke fumes.

04 Aug 2015 13:06 #266438 by mapoui

its profitable you see so they love it.  they can make 300k per, usd... and live in nicer big jupa, sen' deh chirren abroad to school..get them green cards and so on

and it is a form of activity the empire does not mind..in fact wholeheartedly supports.

now if they do things like take back the banks and keep the money and develop the nation...dat wud get them in trouble. but they have a free pass to rip the nations off..or any part of it they latch onto...in ways that do not touch the money the nation makes that the empire wants for itself

but you making too much of the insularity from the angle you comin' from.  in the way I described a class has come up to rule the west indies that is bureaucratic, but who are so terrible, so ridiculous they are malleable and changeable into all and any from the empire needs them to shape, to facilitate its plunder of the region through them

all the insularity you talk about among ordinary west indians would disappear overnight if the region united properly.  and when it come so you get plenty opposition form those form the current united west indies..the elite and middle professional classes

• Rowe992
04 Aug 2015 13:11 #266440 by Rowe992
Just like with the idea of the Caribbean Community, the West Indies cricket team has been hit by the division that has come about in the region. Each nation wants to be the top dog and it has resulted in the idea of a combined team not being so attractive anymore to some.

04 Aug 2015 14:36 #266452 by ketchim

You need to understand these as being Insepearable !

The Elite bureaucatic Class are INSULAR : and cannot be separated : factum !

Like Car and Gas , Bread and Butter : the atom cannot be spit , either  ;)

04 Aug 2015 18:48 #266466 by mapoui

as I said I see them as a west indian elite, integrated not insular, and fully aware of themselves as an elite class that runs the region, albeit in the interest of forrin power. 

I don't see the class as insular..but insularity could be expressed at the national level where the interests of the nations intersect.  however the class itself is aware of itself and act as any elite class..interpenetrate by marrying each other, look for each other generally, and run the region in ways that do not cut up themselves

look the way we are supposed to behave you would never expect that the chief justice of Trinidad and Tobago would be anything but Trinidadian.  but at that position for example I have seen Guyanan, dominica etc.

do you know that David Holford going to school in Trinidad...UWI.. captain the Trinidad side.  you can see that kind of thing all over the region..not among ordinary west indians but up there among then.  David Holford never behaved in Trinidad for a minute as if he was not entitled..as if he was in any way in danger as an outsider or any kind of inferiority.

that was because he was and  is elite and no matter where he went in the west indies he was ok, fine! Mister Holford

but it is an involved story and it must be observed to see its current shape.  but its there and as a class it is not insular just like that...like you say.  I suspect the insularity you cite is deliberate policy..something they accept and go on with because it serves their general purpose of keeping players off balance and mis-focused.  the fan too

but where they are concerned there is no insularity.  they do not impose on themselves what they impose on us.

anyway that is how I see it.  there is a kind of federation in the west indies and it is in the way the elites have formed it so the normal west indian divisions do not affect them. they have worked ways to transcend that for themselves, while making the insularity among the people work for them

04 Aug 2015 19:54 #266471 by TRINIDADDY
1. We play less cricket domestically than other nations
2. Island vs Island games are poorly arranged
3. College vs college games arent competitive enough
4. Play more often, and play competitively at a younger age, and you will breed players who can compete with bigger nations
5. Better local pitches will breed better bowlers and so better batsmen
6. Kick Guyana out of the West Indies and invite the United States to become a member instead.

05 Aug 2015 03:14 #266490 by mapoui

most brilliant suggestion or idea of all. then we wont have to deal with the Guyanan star anymore

:P :P :P :P :P

Time to create page: 0.282 seconds
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 11:51)(11:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 13:36)(13:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 13:07)(13:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 14:41)(14:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 12:27)(12:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 13:54)(13:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 19:08)(19:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 18:59)(18:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 08:03)(08:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 14:49)(14:49)0
JayleeFor the first time since 1991, we have won a bilateral series v Pakistan!??

What a win!?
(12.08.2025, 17:57)(17:57)0
LawrenceI think if the Japanese take up cricket seriously they will be really good at it ?? ??(11.08.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
LillieTo the man who united West Indies like no other, remembering Sir Frank Worrell on his birth anniversary ??

#RoyalsFamily
(02.08.2025, 16:32)(16:32)0
RobertIt looks like another whitewash is in the making for West Indies.(01.08.2025, 09:13)(09:13)0
ChristinaThe ICC should remove the West Indies from participating in International Cricket ?
No Cricketing Nation should be embarrassed.
(01.08.2025, 06:39)(06:39)0
JayleeToll-free travel across Wismar, Berbice, Demerara bridges from midnight!(31.07.2025, 20:24)(20:24)0
JayleeAnother party accuses WIN of being duplicitous, stealing its ideas(31.07.2025, 20:24)(20:24)0
ChristinaI get the feeling that the players don't wish to play for Sammy(26.07.2025, 09:20)(09:20)0
QuintinSad day?? Lol. How many T20I matches russell played regularly for wi cricket? Even in the last T20 series tour in eng he was in the squad but he played only 1 match out of 3. Lol sad day(19.07.2025, 19:44)(19:44)0
ChristinaIt is time for a full evaluation and accountability to the people of this region for the disastrous batting performance of the West Indies Cricket Team. We cannot disregard what all of us witnessed and endured in the last three test matches. This is not about our players, administrators, or any individual; it is an entire system that is failing, and together, all of us must fix it now. This cannot continue into another series; we must not allow it to.(15.07.2025, 15:52)(15:52)0
ChristinaOnce again for the 5th consecutive times . West Indies has bowled out Australia(the #1 team )
within 90 overs.
Again under 300 runs
(13.07.2025, 08:10)(08:10)0
ChristinaWiaan Mulder declaring with himself being 367 not out, is beyond commendable and sportsmanship. Tho many questions will be asked.(07.07.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
IngridHow bad are the West Indies ?
Their batting is absolutely abysmal
(06.07.2025, 16:36)(16:36)0
QuintinMexican boxer Julio César Chávez Jr. arrested by ICE for deportation, federal officials say(03.07.2025, 19:05)(19:05)0
QuintinKraigg Brathwaite reaches 100 Tests: 'I was in total disbelief that I could score a hundred for West Indies'(03.07.2025, 18:52)(18:52)0
LoganBad performance by west indies(28.06.2025, 06:48)(06:48)0
QuintinMasai Ujiri fired as Raptors president and vice chairman after 13 years with franchise(27.06.2025, 17:50)(17:50)0
LoganAustralia 180 all out(26.06.2025, 06:45)(06:45)0
Logan99 for 3(25.06.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
LoganShammar 2 wickets(25.06.2025, 12:13)(12:13)0
Logan65 for 3 at lunch(25.06.2025, 12:12)(12:12)0
WendyDid you know 160 years ago, Texans moved to Brazil to start a Confederate colony with Slavery, after #Juneteenth? ?(24.06.2025, 09:55)(09:55)0
WendyGood morning(24.06.2025, 09:29)(09:29)0
MelodyVaughan 'staggered' by England's bowl-first decision as India dominate at Headingley(20.06.2025, 19:19)(19:19)0
chairmanPPP/C is UNSTOPPABLE….
So all de small parties coming together to try beat the PPP/C
Guyanese don’t be fooled
Vote for Peace Progress and Prosperity.
(19.06.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
PeytonCOACH SAMMY TO MISS IRELAND T20Is(05.06.2025, 18:49)(18:49)0
ketchimJune 1st 2ndODI : replace the 4 guys on the bench : Evin Lewis, John Campbell, Shamar Joseph and Jediah Blades !(31.05.2025, 15:09)(15:09)0
chairmanHuge defeat(29.05.2025, 19:07)(19:07)0
chairmanMatthew Forde you beauty. I didn't even realise he averages almost 40 in FC. And he is only 23 yrs old.(23.05.2025, 20:05)(20:05)0
chairmanWelcome to Guyana - Hakeem Olajuwon, also known as "The Dream,"
A storied career:

- 2x NBA Champion (1994, 1995)
- 2x NBA Finals MVP (1994, 1995)
- 12x NBA All-Star
- 12x All-NBA Team selection
- 9x NBA All-Defensive First Team
- NBA MVP (1994)
- NBA Defensive Player of the Year (1994)
- NBA Rookie of the Year (1984)
- Inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008

One of the greatest players in NBA history.
(23.05.2025, 10:05)(10:05)0
chairmanI would like to see every house in Essequibo has a Guyana ?? Flag
and possibly the Rest of Guyana ??
(19.05.2025, 06:38)(06:38)0
PeytonSevere weather leaves at least 27 dead, including 18 in Kentucky(17.05.2025, 18:46)(18:46)0
chairmanCongratulations to the newly appointed Roston Chase as West Indies Test captain.
Does he have any captain/ leadership experience?
Your thoughts:
(16.05.2025, 19:23)(19:23)0
TalonDozens of white South Africans arrive in US under Trump refugee plan(12.05.2025, 19:57)(19:57)0
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Bria