01 Dec 2014 13:18 #225988
SMITH REPLACES INJURED GAYLE IN SQUAD
published by ikhan on Mon, 12/01/2014 - 09:04
WICB Media Release.
St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board Selection Panel today announced that Devon Smith has been selected to replace Christopher Gayle in the West Indies Test squad to South Africa.
Gayle has been replaced due to injury.
Smith is in fine form, coming off a first innings century against the Leeward Islands Hurricanes in the third round of the Professional Cricket League Regional 4 Day Tournament. Smith scored 145 of the Windward Volcanoes 308 for 5 declared in the match being played in his native Grenada.
He has represented the West Indies in 33 Tests since debuting in 2003 against Australia in Guyana. The pugnacious left handed opener has scored one Test century and five half centuries and averages a shade under 37 in First Class cricket.
Fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell will depart the Caribbean on Friday to join the Test squad in South Africa. The Selection Panel had requested that Cottrell play in the third round of the PCL 4 Day to allow the Panel an opportunity to determine his match readiness after sustaining an injury on the West Indies A Team tour to Sri Lanka.
Cottrell took 5 for 42 for the Jamaica Franchise against Tr
01 Dec 2014 13:25 #225989
by biplob
as posted weeks ago, my hunch came true. Gayle is good for T20 leagues only. Henceforth should not be selected in ODI (WC team) as he will not last more than 2-3 games.
published by ikhan on Mon, 12/01/2014 - 09:04
WICB Media Release.
St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board Selection Panel today announced that Devon Smith has been selected to replace Christopher Gayle in the West Indies Test squad to South Africa.
Gayle has been replaced due to injury.
Smith is in fine form, coming off a first innings century against the Leeward Islands Hurricanes in the third round of the Professional Cricket League Regional 4 Day Tournament. Smith scored 145 of the Windward Volcanoes 308 for 5 declared in the match being played in his native Grenada.
He has represented the West Indies in 33 Tests since debuting in 2003 against Australia in Guyana. The pugnacious left handed opener has scored one Test century and five half centuries and averages a shade under 37 in First Class cricket.
Fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell will depart the Caribbean on Friday to join the Test squad in South Africa. The Selection Panel had requested that Cottrell play in the third round of the PCL 4 Day to allow the Panel an opportunity to determine his match readiness after sustaining an injury on the West Indies A Team tour to Sri Lanka.
Cottrell took 5 for 42 for the Jamaica Franchise against Tr
01 Dec 2014 13:34 #225990
oh bwoy! we get worse every series....
no quality coming through the ranks. time to give up the ghost ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
01 Dec 2014 14:29 #226000
An opener is out injured and you wish to replace him with a middle order batsman?
That makes no sense to me, unless there is another credible opener in the squad!
I suppose Lloyd wanted some experience in Smith but, being a tried and tested failure, I might have looked elsewhere but are there any other solid openers around?
Dwayne Smith, stragely enough, was an unlikely candidate in bowling out Guyana and it is suggested he should be on the plane....seriously?
01 Dec 2014 16:09 #226015
Dwayne Smith gives a bowling option over Devon.
Dwayne is in better batting form as an Opener !
This was a no brainer ,but alas : "What do they know of cricket who only cricket know ?" :-\
01 Dec 2014 21:35 #226047
I am no great fan of recalling known failures but you will have to ask Lloyd about his decision!
Please correct me as I may have got the numbers wrong but I do believe Devon Smith is currently to PCL's top run scorer with 334 runs averaging 56 with a ton and two 50s.
Using the same data Dwayne Smith is averaging 17!
I am not sure that counts as better batting form as an opener, does it?
02 Dec 2014 07:18 #226060
I have to admit that CLR coined a classic when writing from Beyond The Boundary...
"What do they know of cricket who only cricket know ?"
I believe this phrase was taken from Rudyard Kipling's poem English Flag when he said...
"What do they know of England who only England know?"
I have to admit CLR's reworking seems more far reaching somehow!
02 Dec 2014 07:40 #226064
Wait a minute ... Devon Smith??? The same Devon Smith from over a decade ago?
Really ???!!! .... I mean really !!!
02 Dec 2014 07:50 #226066
Everyone knows I'm a Gayle fan BUT honestly Onry ....just retire from Test cricket.
Ridiculously coincidental you being injured for Tests but fit for T/20 league series !!! :-\
Walk away now from Test cricket while your reputation is still somewhat intact !! .....
Time to create page: 0.230 seconds