Moen Ali England captain?

20 Jul 2014 12:50 #202444 by Big Cat
Mooen England captain - a statement for the nation

• boquiesse
20 Jul 2014 13:05 #202446 by boquiesse
De Yorkshireman Root will get it before dem even consider Ali.

20 Jul 2014 14:53 - 20 Jul 2014 15:00 #202454 by dillinger10
Bell would be the most likely candidate to replace Cook but its not as if Bell has been in any form this summer, averaging 25.57 in 4 tests. Though he is averaging 74.29 in 4 first class matches for Warwickshire complete with 2 centuries and 2 fifties. I'd probably give Bell the captaincy and see how he fares with it.
Last edit: 20 Jul 2014 15:00 by dillinger10.

• Mail
20 Jul 2014 19:10 #202479 by Mail

If we are talking long term then I agree purely because Ali has not cemented a place in the team just yet.

I believe Ali captained England at youth level and is very well thought of. Root is a contender as he has shown a very level head at this level.

Cook will neither be ousted nor will he step down for the support he has from Management but in the event he decides to step down, Bell would be caretaker Captain.

• bala24
20 Jul 2014 21:38 #202488 by bala24
Ha..yeah,Cook will never step down.Moreover i wouldn't want him stepping down.You should back your captain if ever he fails.I am not saying he has been great over the last 2-3 series,but yes everyone goes through a bad phase and their ideas go awry.It is we who should step up and back him up,after all he too has brought many a laurel for his country.MSD too was one the verge of being ousted,but look at him,he is getting back to his groove now and that is what backing up can do.

20 Jul 2014 22:11 #202491 by dillinger10
These are all very valid points. The ECB are not in the habit of sacking captains and till now they have publicly supported Cook. The media on the other hand have not been as gracious. Unfortunately we do tend to live in a "what have you done for me lately" world.

Unfortunately for Cook, he has a number of things going against him. His overall record as a captain is not that impressive. 9 wins, 7 losses, 8 draws (though this record looks much worse in light of the last two series). His overall average as a captain (42.36) is right in line with his career average (45.34). However, in his last 13 Tests his average is a miserable 24.24.

Steve Waugh, Bob Willis, Michael Vaughan and Nasser Hussain have all recently opined that Cook is captaining for the pundits. I personally don't feel that he is a great tactical captain.

And then there are the two big white elephants in the room; the Ashes debacle and the Pieterson sacking.

• Mail
21 Jul 2014 08:57 #202511 by Mail

Totally agreed and taht is the key point here. Despite his losses and personal form his lack of imagination and basic tactics is the key reason why there is the call for him to quit.

We have had the most major upheaval since the early 80s, in my view. We achieved number 1 on the back of Cook and Trotts volume of runs. Runs that allowed the bowlers to express themselves as creatively as tehy wished. This was backed up by Bell with contributions from Pietersen et al.

With Trott gone, we lost a big stanilising force at 3.

Strauss allowed the Windies to win 1-0 by his over cautiousness in his dubut overseas series but thereafter learnt rapidly and was a very good Captain. I do not see the same progression with Cook.

I do not think we play another Test series until June 2015 against the Kiwis so Cooky will sit in his role.

Personally, I would not be surprised if he steps down after India.

21 Jul 2014 09:37 #202524 by mapoui
I wont be sooprised if he steps down immediately. 

and I wont be sorry.  seems a deserved failure to me, worthwhile, fobbing off all the blame for the ashes rout on Pietersen..killing a mans career to save face.

shame on him and his coach flowers.

next man to be canned and right now is Prior.  Prior should play anoter test.  he is falling with the bat his only strong point now.  be off with him..soup drinker.

• Mail
21 Jul 2014 10:00 #202528 by Mail

MAPPIPPEE,

I agree he may step down immediately and I also agree that Prior may be the next to go.

However I have previously asked you to substantiate your statements and you have failed to do so. If you cannot then kindly be quiet.

Where has Cook blamed Pietersen for the Ashes loss?

Pietersen has beena  disruptive force in the England setup and prior to the ashes had to be reintegrated into the team following the derogatory texting to South African players whilst playing against them etc..... Also and perhaps significant was that Pietersen averaged a paltry 33 in his last 12 tests.

Generally I do not think Jordan should have been dropped for Stokes.

Copy and use my profile picture if you are appalled with teh innocent killings in Gaza.

21 Jul 2014 10:11 - 21 Jul 2014 10:36 #202531 by mapoui
genious is as genius does.  room has to be made....

he were all together making a team for Cook to lead.  this is the team.  it is short of experience and leadership.  and it needs a new keeper.

Prior shud have been a source of experience and stability. he is not.  he is one of those selected to be led by Cookie.  he is useless to the team and shud be tossed.

deh did give Jordan too short of a run.  but isnt Ballance a tall white bwoy all rounder?
visions of Flintoff dancin' in deh heads ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

but england is not my team and I dont care.  so what I am doing up in here arguing about engaland ::confused::

you are right ::)  I will kindly keep quiet! :-[
Last edit: 21 Jul 2014 10:36 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.205 seconds
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Kase