Was Kallis better than Sobers?

29 Dec 2013 16:58 #170699 by Rev Al

* Both Kallis and Sobers were ordinary against Australia.

* Sobers averaged 43.14 in 19 tests against Australia.

* Kallis averaged 41.22 in 29 tests against Australia.

* By the way, did you know that Sobers averaged only 38.86 in 9 tests against Australia at home---and did not score a hundred against the Aussies in the Caribbean ?

• 1shanemarsh
29 Dec 2013 17:06 #170700 by 1shanemarsh
You've obviously never watch Sir Garry Sobers play cricket, he destroyed Dennis Lillie in his prime, when he was on his way out of the game & without a helmet, Jaques Callis doesn't know what intensity is my friend, he's too well padded to have felt the real adrenaline of one of the best pace bowler's bouncers flying past your unprotected brow. Don't try to compare real cricketers with the diluted pansies that play today, compare dwarfs with dwarfs, not giants with dwarfs. jaques kallis... Ha!

29 Dec 2013 17:09 #170701 by Rev Al

Listen Kwami!

* Kallis cannot lace Sobers boots when it comes to being a cricketer.

* Sobers is the greatest cricketer who ever played the game.

* BUT NUMBERS DON'T LIE.

* Sobers took a wicket every 92 balls; Kallis took a wicket every 69 balls

* Sobers had a bowling average of 34.03; Kallis 32.65

BOTTOM LINE:

Sobers was a great batsman---an ordinary bowler---a great fielder---add that up and you get a great allrounder----and yes---Sobers was definitely a greater allrounder than Kallis.

29 Dec 2013 17:18 #170702 by Rev Al

* Sobers 254 for the Rest of the world against Australia was an innings of brilliance.

* But Sobers was not as dominant and destructive as fans make him out to be.

* Once again, THE NUMBERS DON'T LIE

* In 93 tests Sobers had a strike rate of only 53.43----similar to Tendulkar(54.04) and Sangakkara(53.93)

* Lara had a strike rate of 60.51; Richards had a strike rate of 69.28.

* Another thing---Sobers scored 8032 runs----723 fours and 32 sixes---only 38.3% of his 8032 runs came in boundaries.

* Even a poker like Shiv scored a higher percentage of his runs in boundaries----45.2%

Anyway, Sobers is the greatest cricketer to have ever played the game----but in batting he was not as dominant(gauging by strike rate and % of runs scored by boundaries) as Richards and Lara and in bowling he was ordinary.

29 Dec 2013 18:31 #170703 by Kwami
OK rev we do agree and I  do respect your numbers but what the numbers do not tell was the quality of the opposition they faced .
Sobers did not had  the luxury to face the likes of powerhouses like Bangladesh , Zimbabwe, SriLanka and the Westindies and therein lies the weakness of his bowling in comparison

29 Dec 2013 18:35 #170704 by mapoui
ah rev!  demolition is your game. denigration your intent.  but it will take much more tat you and Mail/easyrider to take down the the great man.

we have both lived through Sobers Rev..you and  I..and you could only have avoided the magic  if you lived in the deep Rupununi, without a radio and even a disparate newspaper with a sports page blowing your way in the backwoods

so sorry Rev...but you can always make up.  the archives are there.

and let me tell you eh...that FIGURES ALWAYS LIE :P :P

29 Dec 2013 18:44 #170706 by mapoui

WOT IS THIS KWAMI!!!!  Yuh backing down from Rev and his lying numbers, compromising!!! 

doh do dat!  numbers mean something only where hey have been rigorously compiled, absolutely accurate with no flaw, fault or mistake.  and we know that that is not possible.

numbers do not account for all and every decision made that affects results from which numbers are taken..but which numbers do not take into consideration those very decisions and how they  were arrived at.

there are a zillion unquantifiable factors that lead up to all that exists...so much we can never add in because we don't know, have not observed them... that go into everything, that there is no possibility numbers can reflect the totality of reality

numbers lie all the time for these reasons.

numbers do not take into consideration the joy of the Oz every time they got Sobers out for example.  numbers do not reflect the fact that Oz planned for Sobers, analysed him incessantly, looking for flaws in his make-up to exploit to get him out.

hey rev...try calculate a number for the time and cost to the oz labouring to get sobers out.  it is obvious they devoted a whole lot  of  time to that goal

29 Dec 2013 18:47 #170708 by Kwami
No  Maps I do agree with him that Sobers is, was and will always be the greatest ;)

29 Dec 2013 20:26 #170711 by Calypso

Correct !!! ........ That's why it is difficult to compare players from different eras.

BUT for me ........ it would have to be Sobers as he had that "IT factor"  8)

29 Dec 2013 20:28 #170712 by Rev Al

* That's a nervous laugh Mapoui.

* YOU OBVIOUSLY CANNOT HANDLE THE TRUTH.

* And the truth is while Sobers was an extraordinarily great batsman and fielder---he was just an ordinary bowler.

* 235 wickets at an average of 34.03 and a bowling strike rate of 91.9----those are ordinary numbers.

Time to create page: 0.226 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Estella