Was Kallis better than Sobers?

28 Dec 2013 05:54 #170568 by Calypso

.... Which I find makes it all the more difficult to compare players from a different era despite similarities !!!

28 Dec 2013 12:28 #170593 by ketchim
Calypso ,

Cricket has certainly evolved with world progress !

from travel by Sea to travel by Air ...

Zero protection to new look England helmets , arm guards , thigh pads ...

Bats are now thicker , lighter and almost like a magic wand !

4 TEST nations are now 9...hence more than double the amount of games per annum to compete...

so many variables to factor in when comparing  !

28 Dec 2013 12:41 #170596 by Kwami
Why are we still having this discussion ? Certain things  are a given and one of them is that Sobers is , was and will always be the best all rounder ever in cricket.
As a matter of fact ,  him  is the best cricketer ever .. 

28 Dec 2013 16:04 - 28 Dec 2013 17:27 #170605 by mapoui
I don't see that Kallis was even a better bowler than Sobers.  no way!

the difference as a bowler was that Sobers was a match-winning bowler as well.  Sobers could take the ball and run through a batting line up and set up a win or achieve one.  I never saw Kallis do that with the ball.

sobers did that with bat and ball...

my choice is Sobers on all levels...

and I dont like Kallis anyway.  when the going got tuff Sobers got going.  I dont know about Kallis in that regard.  how many times he saved RSA or won a game for them when the going got ruff with bat or ball?

to me Kallis was like Gavaskar. he may even be a better accumulator that Gavaskar was but that is what he is accumulator.

Sobers was a master...a batting standard of defence, consolidation and attack from in front or in rear-guard.
Last edit: 28 Dec 2013 17:27 by mapoui.

28 Dec 2013 16:07 #170606 by TRINIDADDY
Sobers was arguably the best of his generation. Kallis was a slow and solid accumulator, Sobers was pure art.

28 Dec 2013 17:42 - 28 Dec 2013 22:33 #170608 by mapoui
Revs numbers lie to rass when it comes to Kallis bowling vs Sobers bowling.

look at this allyuh: 

I will give Kallis bat and ball and this RSA side side against this west indian side led by Ramdin, sans Gibbo as coach and Sammy anywhere nearby.  the side would be Ramdin captain, Sobers, Holder, Roach, Rampaul, Shilly before Narine but only just...shive, lil Bravo, Edwards, Gayle, Simmons.

{I considered Sarwan but he is so out of sorts it looks like he is done for good}

and with this side, batting at number 6 with shive at 5 etc.,  Sobers would bowl down Kallis for little.. and beat his bowling all over the place... in south africa or in the west indies.  Sobers would take this west indies silly tail, put some iron in its backbone, make dem score runs and runs in deh wiyah.

allyuh serious!  Sobers made Holford score record partnership when he had never come close to anything of the sort previously.  Sobers make Hall bat 90 minutes as last man in to save a test match at QPO.  Sobers bat on a cracked and crumbling hell hole at Sabina and punished england and very nearly pulled off an astonishing win...

yes that was Sobers..instilling into rabits courage and steel to defy the gods and win or save games.

ALLYUH EVER EVEN SEE KALLIS COME CLOSE TO ANYTHING OF THE SORT

THAT'S WHAT I WOULD DO TO PROVE THE UNTOUCHABLE GREATNESS OF SOBERS...PICK HIM WITH THIS WEST INDIES TEAM AND I BET HE WOULD TRANSFORM IT INTO A WINNER. 

thats right..a winner.  and I would bet large sums on it too
:D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D
:D
Last edit: 28 Dec 2013 22:33 by mapoui.

28 Dec 2013 17:51 #170609 by mapoui
weh reverend? 

wat do your numbers say about my speculation there Rev?

it wud be wood for Kallis an' dem...in heaps an' bundles..truckload

:P :P

28 Dec 2013 17:59 #170610 by mapoui

so di'ze how you sum up and look at the era diffs ::confused::

here is a way to transcend them bettah.  answer:  is lillee old or modern school?

if Lillee, by speed, quality and greatness as a player qualifies as modern ask him between Sobers and kallis ::confused:: 

I would love to hear his ansah. 

I think I know exactly what he would say, especially after the wood he had to load up after his confrontation with Sobers as a young bowler, all extreme speed and power.. and Sobers as older, on his way out!

:D :D :D
:D :D
:D

28 Dec 2013 20:49 #170631 by Babulall
Quick question...Can Kallis score all those runs without a Helmet and bouncer restrictions???

28 Dec 2013 22:24 #170639 by Kyle
Also not to take anything away from his greatness, but Kallis sometimes plays horribly slow innings, as in not exactly a team player in that way. He played such an innings vs England where he got fifty odd where SA haad to force a result. It was painfully slow.

Time to create page: 0.235 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Albert