20 Jan 2014 16:59 #174140
ramesh , since when you are qualified to speak on these definitions :
and the Impact they have on the recipient,
Look chap , know yuh place...
20 Jan 2014 17:08 #174143
by ramesh
No it is you who is denying that Indos define themselves an colleys in Guyana .
I have seen it here on this message board where Indos refer to themselves as colleys.
Alvin Kalicharran never brought it up until decades later and if he was so offended then , why didn't he speak up then
20 Jan 2014 20:03 #174182
Recall watching Kallicharan's 130 or so in in the first innings of the Australian visit 78 at the QPO.
I was so looking forward to seeing Vivian bat and I think he made 30 ish.
Although I have seen Vivian live several times I have never been fortunate enough to see him score a big one live.
That was a depleted Australian team lead by Simpson and I believe Haynes made his debut with a 50. He scored very quickly at the end of a murky day 1 getting to his debut 50 before the close of day 1. I think he then went on to score a two or three consecutive 50s after that innings.
It was the last time I saw Thompson bowl live. Peter Toohey was a classy batsman but did not bat in the second innings as I think he was hurt.
Kallicharan's knock was excellent, stroking it to all parts in his majestic way. Top scorer by far and Windies won that one.
21 Jan 2014 09:07 #174226
ahh shut up! you have no clue what you are saying!! the C word is just as an insult as the N word!! Are you saying black people don't use the N word? Yes they do! But that does not mean both words are not insults!!
21 Jan 2014 10:07 #174240
For our American friends a 4th of July Kallicharan's special.
4th July 1984, the place Edgbaston the victims Oxfordshire in the Natwest Trophy 1st round 60 overs competition.
Geoff Humpage, the Warwicks Captain, having won the toss elected to bat.
Kallicharan batting at 3, came in at 33-1.
Oxfordshire is a minor county and you would expect Warwics to win but this game was Kallicharan's.
With opener Ken Smith, who made 101, Kalli put on a partnership of just under 200 runs and after Smnith's departure Kallicharan proceeded to strike a marvellous 206!
In Oxfordshire's reply after an early wicket, they went on to have a hundred partnership for the second. Having tried Willis, Gladstone Small, Norman Gifford, Chris Old and Paul Smith, Humpage turned to Kallicharan.
As if the 206 was not enough, Kallicharan then went on to blitzkrieg the Oxon players taking 6 wickets, ending with figures of 12-4-32-6!!!
Man of the Match with 206 runs, 6-32 and and a Warwicks win. He was 35 years of age then.
It is one first round match I wished I was in attendance.
21 Jan 2014 10:21 #174245
This was in his prime, eh Mail!
Man, WI fans got shafted by the crooks in WICB!! We got robbed of seeing the best of Kalli! I know we saw some marvelous innings from him but I think he would have displayed even better form if he had returned to the WI team.
21 Jan 2014 11:18 #174255
Well Googs, there was not a period in Kallicharan's career where he was not at his best.
I saw a lot of him live for Warwicks as I did Kanhai before him and they were both fine players.
I did keep my eyes on all the West Indian, of which there were many, on the county circuit very late 60s onwards.
My county team is Middlesex so saw the other counties at Lords and away many times but what I marvelled at with Kallicharan was for a diminutive man he had such power but importantly timing. He seemed to have so much time, much like Gower, and before you knew it he was on 30, moving on to another good score.
It is sad he was dismissed is such an unceremonious manner but many others after him have had similar treatment like Greenidge and Haynes.
Selective recognition in the West Indies? We salute you A.I. Kallicharan!
Time to create page: 0.198 seconds