08 Aug 2016 11:08 #316624
by dillinger10
Apologies. That was poorly worded on my part. I should have qualified my statement by referencing Sammy's role as T20 captain only. I am of the opinion that Sammy matured into a very good T20 captain, and as such, his role as T20 skipper is similar to that of Mike Brearley in his role as Test captain. Not an apples to apples comparison, I admit. My overall point that I made rather clumsily was both Sammy and Brearley provided additional value beyond their on field numbers with bat and ball.
Obviously, having great players helps to make a captain look great. But I thought Sammy was very astute in his field settings and stayed one step ahead with his bowling changes.
I think his skill set and mindset are better suited to the shortest format of the game, and as such, was a better T20 captain as compared to his captaincy of the Test and ODI sides.
08 Aug 2016 11:12 #316626
dat is illogical boundary making to facilitate one mans arbitrary point. I will do no such thing
08 Aug 2016 11:14 #316627
well you are a voice of two..you and yuh enemy ketchim..or is it erstwhile enemy ::confused::
you cyan never tell with allyuh fellas an' allyuh :
![:) :)](/media/kunena/emoticons/smile.png)
08 Aug 2016 11:34 #316631
mapoui , I dont throw red herrings into a discussion.
Shiv gats nothing to do with this :
MYy point is you cannot be lauded for T20 format where the big names
need no direction !
and IGNORE where the 5 day format requires a Strategist
and the 50 overs, likewise.
In those 2 Formats Sammy is an absolute FAILURE.
08 Aug 2016 11:42 #316634
Well my friend, IMO there is NO maturity in T20.
A slogfest where the better sloggers Win.....
Sammy captained the BEST sloggers in the Universe and "obviously" win
His name to be in the same sentence as Mike Brearley :
would require a review of their TEST wins and losses !
08 Aug 2016 11:45 #316635
what you cyan do is to take in what actually happened....
his pick was political. he is not a bad player. he had been picked for the west indies long before he made him captain..on tour to england where he was not a failure.
as captain we cud see how ordinary a players he was but he was not a bad captain at the end of the day. and he was moved to T20 upon administrative change at the wicb..where he found the best niche of his career.
as T20 he did very well indeed to the appreciation of all west indians as is clear by the response to his firing.
and on the way he expressed strong populist behavior that demonstrated than over time he had developed into the opposite of what he likely was when he first came i.
I doh know about you but I tek dat as human growth and development. that is about the best it ever gets.
Sammy is now fine by me.
I dont know wat you and Mail want ..blood out of stone perhaps
08 Aug 2016 11:49 #316636
deh say I have a problem with math but the Count on Sesame Street taught me the secrets of 1.
in dat quote above I can see 1 opinion on T20. dat is 1 + 1 is 2. 1 can do 2 by adding 1. dat is wat the Count taught me :
08 Aug 2016 11:53 #316639
I speak for myself :
I dont want Sammy to receieve UNdeserved kudos.
That T20 team can beat any Nation competing~
His Coin Toss was the best : dunno IF say, Carlos can compete. :-[
Sammy's last 2 years bat and ball in T20 Internationals are pathetic.
His Zouks Captaincy finally made a play off this year
These are the FACTS.
Sammy's 30 second call !
Time to create page: 0.222 seconds