International community rallies behind Bravo in face of Guyanese Attacks

09 Apr 2015 19:15 - 10 Apr 2015 08:56 #250811 by TRINIDADDY

April 9th, 2015
CNN
Staff Reporter

It has been called the most savage attack in Guyanese History. But when he posted a photograph of West Indian cricketer Dwayne Bravo eating a banana on April 8th, 2015, Guyanese resident Ketchim Krishnapoor had little sense of the enormity of his actions.

"It's just a little photograph," Ketchim told reporters at a press conference outside his home, "it's not like I shoot the man."

But Ketchim's attempts to trivialise his racially charged actions have been met with anger by the international community. Millons took to facebook, twitter and youtube to vent their indignation, and within minutes several hundred websites had come to Bravo's aid, all pledging solidarity to a man whose recent life has been plagued by vicious attacks.

The son of Jewish immigrants, the Bravo family are no strangers to persecution. Fleeing the Nazis in 1942, the Bravos landed in Trinidad some 4 months later, an island in which they hoped to find peace and freedom. What they found, however, was a region awash with racism and drenched in insularity.

"Guyana and the rest of the West Indian islands have always been at odds," historian Gaby Fletcher told CNN. "There are many reasons for this, but the primary reason is psychological. The Guyanese are part of a continent, a landmass that dwarfs the rest of the Caribbean. This has bred a sense of entitlement and superiority which the other islands have no interest in pandering to....largely because they are also egotistical a**holes."

But Ketchim Krishnapoor ridicules the notion that he harbours feelings of entitlement. "Entitlement?" he told journalists on Tuesday. "The only thing I feel entitled to is some runs. How much Bravo averaging? Ten? Twenty? The man owe me at least one good innings!"

No Malice: Ketchim (above) claims he modelled his moustache on his favourite fruit.

Ketchim's criticisms come after a string of savage attacks on Dwayne Bravo, who was violently dropped from the West Indies cricket team weeks prior to the 2015 Cricket World Cup, an act which fans have called a Holocaustic Atrocity of Biblical proportions. "Make no mistake," Trinidadian Prime Minister Basdeo Panda said on the day of Bravo's sacking, "this is an act of war; a racist attempt by the Guyanese to push all Trinidadians off the team!"

But chief selector of the West Indies Cricket Board, Clive Lloyd, who is himself Guyanese, insists that Bravo was dropped for far more mundane reasons: "The man can't bat, the man can't sing, the man can't bowl....and yet the man want a pay rise?!"

Ketchim's photo (above) is said to carry racialist, colonialist connotations.

Race expert Patel Singh (above) has examined Ketchim's photo and denies the presence of racist stereotypes: "Werry werry few bananas are racist bananas, boss."

But where Lloyd sees pragmatism, others see only insularity.

Ironically, it is an insularity which some experts claim Ketchim's photograph does not support. "Vich banana racist and vich banana vich in witamin, only trained Babu like me can see," reknowned race expert Patel Singh said from his home in Delhi today. "This banana, boss, this represent Mother Lakshmi, God of beauty."

While Dwayne Bravo hopes to reclaim his place on the West Indies team, the future of the Caribbean as a whole seems far less optimistic. This is a region plagued by the ghosts of slavery, the frustrations of factions and weighed down by problems which at times seem wholly intractable. It is upon this powder-keg that Ketchim Krishnapoor dropped his banana. Whether this lowly fruit has sparked a chain-reaction of hate or healing, remains to be seen.

Last edit: 10 Apr 2015 08:56 by TRINIDADDY.

09 Apr 2015 19:58 #250819 by chairman
wahhhaaaaaaaaaaaa. this stufff is so goodddddddddddd

09 Apr 2015 20:04 #250821 by ketchim
TRINIDADDY is a Boss : wish we could find similar posters !

we seem to attract de SOURPUSSES  >:(

09 Apr 2015 20:10 #250824 by chairman
truly we need articles to get new members and td is good

09 Apr 2015 20:39 #250826 by Calypso
@TD ...........  ;D ;D

09 Apr 2015 20:43 #250827 by Calypso

Definitely need more posters with a sense of humour ... ;)

10 Apr 2015 03:20 - 10 Apr 2015 05:54 #250835 by mapoui
  a creative sense of humour put to exculpatory use in a rotten cause.

how could ketchim not know what he was doing with the banana?  ketchim is no fool or incompetent... he must have known the risk at least of conveying a nasty impression.  who makes jokes like that ::confused:: who employs a sense of humor so close to the vein ::confused::

that's like a surgeon making an unnecessary cut for no reason at all, risking his patient's like for fun..because he can do it.  even if it was joke fuh true it makes ketchim look like a silly arse for cutting it so close.

well is he an arse then?

how do we know him here then... what has he been like in these pages ::confused::

and why all ah allyuh playing fast and loose with this issue, cutting it close too...complicit too in cutting it too close for no good reason at all?
what is the benefit to risk turning off afros in this then..worthy of compensation should afros indeed get turned off ::confused::

there is no compensatory worth, no equal value.  all I see is that allyuh don't care what Afros think and that is why you do it. whenever I was thought to be similarly risky relative to any people I was attacked in these pages.  I have never been racist in these pages just truthful..yet I have been attacked all to hell.  but ketchim's overt racism is comedy eh...and we must all have a sense of humor to spot it...a like sense of humor no doubt so we wont miss a thing.

ketchim takes totally anti trinidadian posture all the time. what the hell is that..even in fun ::confused::  it is not even proper critique for ketchim has no case against Brabits and Polly, no argument that trumps those who point to their victimization at the hands of Skameron

no one but Mail has said a thing about that. I supposed that it is comedy too.

I made a lot of fun with it anyway..including my intent to ketch ketchim in POS or Sando one day and tickle his ribs...but not with a cutlass. no one laffed at dat as as they are laffing now about kechim and his banana skin.  beating up on Bravo and Pollard for months, then giving the monkey a banana is fine by allyuh, not racism but comedy.

so where is chairman/captain, the judge ::confused::  he getting traffic so he has nutten to so, no judgement to make eh

this is ridiculous, hypocritical..a waste of good time. way to go Trinidaddy. you don't know how to order an anti capitalist society but your creativity is endless in exculpating ketchim.  bodes real well for the west indian future dat

with that handle..are you Trinidadian ::confused:: ::confused::  if you are, you not in defense of Bravo and pollard ::confused:: ::confused::  interesting! ::) ::) ::)

Last edit: 10 Apr 2015 05:54 by mapoui.

10 Apr 2015 10:31 #250858 by ketchim
hahahaha : Mapoui rants  are getting Longer, Sillier and NOW Nationalistic ! 

Give him a Banana Split AND a SIDE splitting Sense of Humour !  hahahaha

10 Apr 2015 10:37 #250860 by Googley
waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahaha!!!

TD, you should be blogging!!!! 

This is great stuff!!

::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

10 Apr 2015 10:46 #250864 by ketchim
Memo to : Mail and Mapoui

Take a Leaf outta TRINIDADDY book and learn how interact on anonmymous message Forums !

You 2 react like a BANANA was shoved up allyuh ASS and stuck there for ETERNITY ...hahahahahaha  ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.249 seconds
ketchimLost the final Game but win series 3 games to 2 !(05.05.2024, 12:27)(12:27)0
NasirJohnson Charles 101* off 55 balls vs Nepal today

On the day the West Indies WC squad is named, a timely knock to remind us of what he is capable of
(01.05.2024, 13:09)(13:09)0
ketchimNepal beat West Indies in 1st T20 !(27.04.2024, 11:00)(11:00)0
CindyYes he is trying commentator gig !(26.04.2024, 21:52)(21:52)0
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
Azaria