Re: The suffocating experience of being black in Canada

01 Aug 2015 19:43 #266131 by chairman
Being black in Canada can sometimes be suffocating.

This feeling does not only come from being subject to anti-black racism in multiple domains of social, economic, cultural and civic life in Canada. It is overwhelmingly the result of carrying the exhausting burden of having to convince others of the truth of your lived experience.

“Maybe the police stopped you because you were driving a little faster than you should have been.” “Maybe the store clerk is not following you but is only doing their job.” “Maybe you didn’t get hired because you’re just not as qualified as the other applicants”

Maybe … But maybe not …

Whereas anti-black racism is most often subtly buried and embedded in Canada’s social structures and collective subconscious, last week saw a sudden resurfacing of whips and scorn that too often sully being black in Canada.

In Toronto, a Black Lives Matter protest against the police killings of two black men temporarily shut down one of the city’s busiest expressways. In Halifax, a coalition of black organizations and their allies called for a country-wide ban on displaying the Confederate flag. In Ottawa, a mural memorializing Sandra Bland, a black woman who recently died in ominously suspicious circumstances while in the custody of a Texan police force, was defaced with graffiti. And in Hamilton, the local police service is denying that racism plays any role in the fact that its own stats evidence that officers disproportionately target, stop, question and collect the personal information of young black people in that city.

“But this is Canada!”, our sense of Canadian racial exceptionalism pushes some of us proclaim. “It’s Americans that have a race problem, not us! These attention-seeking black radical activists complaining about ‘anti-black racism,’ or whatever, are being aided by the left-leaning media to complain about American problems that we simply don’t have here.”

Blacks in Canada are so often met with this kind of response when we speak about our lived experience that just being black in Canada can feel deflating, paralyzing and oppressive. So, often many of us just sigh heavily while silently bearing our unrecognized truths and expressing ourselves in an exasperated version of the popularized protest chant, “I can’t breathe.”

But there’s a new generation of younger black Canadians that is choosing to resist suffocation by eschewing silence and pursuing outright public resistance.

While the general public might only know this resistance to take the form of protest marches or press conferences, this is only because the mainstream did not recognize this resistance when it took earlier forms.

What do you think black youth were trying to say in all those school and community-based programs where we created rap songs, spoken word poems, stories, paintings, etc.? We were using the arts to bare our youthful souls and lament a supposedly free and democratic society that seemed to be unable to see us unless we were or were potentially carrying a gun, a basketball, a baby or a welfare application.

For the current generation of black Canadian youth entering adulthood, these arts and education programs gave us life. But we’re not kids anymore.

As we enter early adulthood we are collectively realizing that, despite what many think, blacks in Canada cannot speak about their lived experience and the ongoing injustices they face without being met with silencing indifference, dismissal and sometimes hostility.

While tolerating degrees of anti-black racism may have been a successful survival strategy for a previous generation of blacks in Canada, our generation has never known a Canada without a Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms or provincial human rights codes that enshrine our universal entitlement to equality as Canadians.

As such, we find it impossible to accept today’s black Canadian experience: extreme marginalization and disadvantage; restricted access to housing; racial profiling in policing, security, education and child welfare; criminalization; over-representation in the criminal justice system; high levels of unemployment; and disproportionate and extreme poverty.

This is part of the reason why when you tell the upcoming generation of social justice-oriented black Canadians to “Go back to your home country if you don’t like it here,” we stare at you with blank confusion, if not in angry defiance. Canada is the only home country we’ve ever known.

Our righteous resistance is not an expression of hatred for Canada, cops, or Confederate flags. It’s a thrashing attempt to break the stranglehold of Canadian-brand anti-black racism and wake our society up to an irrefutable fact:

We have the right to be treated equally as human beings, but also as Canadians. And as such, we resist suffocating racism because we are true black strong and free.

Anthony Morgan is a twenty-something Toronto-based human rights lawyer.
thestar.com

• artemis
01 Aug 2015 20:18 #266132 by artemis
oh god... everybody ah do dem sumthing.

dem na do anybody nothing.  :-\

02 Aug 2015 05:32 #266154 by mapoui
I have lived in Hamilton for about 6-t years now.  they pulled me over once..checked me out and never stopped me again.

I am out all the time..I run into them all the time.  they do not trouble me.

but I know they trouble lots of black people in the city.  that is what they are there for..to keep the social structure in place.  that's their job.

keeping the social structure in place means keeping black people down generally.  if black people move out from the bottom it all collapses.  they will have to get a new bogeyman down at the bottom to hang the structure on

who wud that be...Chinese, Indos...Paks...Pilipino..Pottoghee ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

10 Aug 2015 17:53 #267242 by renegade
It's a racist country

10 Aug 2015 18:17 #267243 by ketchim

It was Canada Underground Railroad that rescued Black slaves:

and populated them here in Canada : Nova Scotia  !

You Folks talk without any Facts.

10 Aug 2015 18:19 #267244 by ketchim
Most Guvment housing and welfare recipients are Black single mothers .

Fathers missing.

Lets NOT debate this shyte , Again !

10 Aug 2015 18:39 #267249 by Kwami
Not a true  statement , That is what they want you to believe . Most welfare recipients are  whites and native  people .

10 Aug 2015 18:47 #267250 by Kwami
I disagree . Racism exists but to suggest that  it is a racist country is absurd ' There  have effective anti racist laws  and  robust human rights  tribunals to fight racism and prejudice

11 Aug 2015 10:50 #267273 by mapoui
what suffocation ::confused:: ::confused::

there is no suffocation of black people in Canada.  you can be suffocated if you are aware that you are being stifled.  but if you think the shortage of air to breathe is natural there you go

its like that Underground Railroad  woman averred..that I saved a thousand slaves but cud have save thousands more if they knew they were slaves.

the Canadian black population is at least 75% west indian.  west indians to a man..Indo and Afro both... are socialized by west indian broughtopcy  right into Canadian suffocation so it is natural to them.  and they rise right up the ladder socially easy easy.

the Canadian black population is very small..barely cracking 2%. yet look around and see how many black people are at the top levels of this supposedly racist system.  just look! one might even claim that we are over represented given our small number of the population

regardless of what Canadian society does to black people we are right at home in it.  to me case closed. 

but Ketchim doh know...he does not see the situation this way..prolly because he is racist...and right wing.  all he looks for are welfare mothers poaching off the system,not realising that they represent just a very small minority of the black population..and that his jackass claim that they monopolize welfare housing and so on is pure nonsense. 

what..are Canadian governments building welfare housing for a small part only, of 2% of the Canadian population?

things like that do not happen.  there are hundreds of thousands of units of such housing all over Canada, in areas that do not ever see black people at all.  and if there are 10 thousand black single welfare mothers in total then that is plenty.  and they would all be in Toronto,Hamilton, and regions like Pickering,Whitby and so on.Montreal may have some as well..Vancouver.  but where else

11 Aug 2015 10:58 #267275 by ketchim

U asking ?  In my Borough, predominantly Black , about 99% of the welfare housing :

just pass thru Galloway and Malvern  ;)

test.tccld.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/1...ark_2011-12_CRNA.pdf

Time to create page: 0.244 seconds
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
ketchim1st TEST : 6>30 EST....this evening ....Australia time is tomorrow lol(16.01.2024, 17:01)(17:01)0
chairmanWest Indies U19s clapped up New Zealand U19s in the warm up game.

Nathan Sealey, Joshua Dorne and Jewel Andrew the star turns.
(15.01.2024, 07:42)(07:42)0
ketchimMatch Draw but 105 to DaSilva and 99 to Kavem Hodge.....so good warm up match result !...(13.01.2024, 13:15)(13:15)0
ketchim251 - 8(10.01.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
ketchimMotie and Sinclair not out ~(10.01.2024, 12:56)(12:56)0
ketchimWarm Up match and couple of boys made DUCK 8 down for 232(10.01.2024, 12:55)(12:55)0
Corinne