19 Mar 2013 12:04 #125882
But Wait! allyuh have not had fast bowlers at all over the ages save one...Crofty!..only batsmen and spinners! no keepers, no pace.
like titty before Lara...our greatest batsman was charlie davis. we had a great spinner and a great allrounder..and a keeper
19 Mar 2013 12:08 #125884
John Trim and Reon King..
cant recall IF Charlie Stayers was Capped !
Trim back in 1948
19 Mar 2013 12:11 #125887
Wisden obituary
John Trim, who died in hospital in British Guiana on November 12, aged 45,
played in four Test matches for the West Indies. A right-arm fast-medium bowler, he gained his First Test Match honours on the strength of a good performance for British Guiana, for whom he made his debut in 1944, against G. O. Allen's M.C.C. Team in 1947-48 when at Georgetown he earned analyses of four wickets for 68 runs and five for 36. He toured India in 1948 and Australia in 1951. In all he took 18 Test wickets, average 16.16.
19 Mar 2013 12:12 #125888
ah...now I know what Happened. I had mixed up Francis and Trim....dat is wat it was.
man this is your day. you straightening out everything.
I have to do some refreshers in my history
19 Mar 2013 12:15 #125889
charlie stayrs played once against Indian I believe ...1962
19 Mar 2013 12:21 #125892
Stayers actually played 4 tests against India 1962...he took 9 wickets for a bushel apiece and was dropped for lester king for the fifth test.
he did score very well in the tail however. stayers could bat too
19 Mar 2013 12:28 #125894
Charlie Stayers did play in four Tests against India in 1961-62 :
taking nine wickets at 40, but failed to make the 1963 tour of England.
possibly because of worries about his bowling action -
he had been called for throwing in a domestic game in 1958-59....
19 Mar 2013 12:43 #125897
Mapster ,
see that ....no problem with Bowling action in India:
They would NOT risk him the following Year in England , eh ?
That is whay i am trying to hexplain about Shilly ....to boqui.....
19 Mar 2013 17:24 #126005
We have had the likes of Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Tendulkar, Lara as pure batsmen and as amazing as they were and are, they have not even come close to Bradman.
There was a time we did not have, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe so you can only play against those available.
Bradman was great but is Kanhai greater?
On numbers no, but Kanhai's impact, his panache, his gravitas, his attack and style of play was the first of a kind and a mantle, perhaps, later taken up by Vivian. Not as much as now but more cricket was played and Cricketers travelled more to foreign conditions. Something Bradman never did so that would have to count against him, as it would have been interesting seeing him in West Indies, Indian and other conditions. Alas that was not to be for the time he lived.
What I know is, of all the West Indian batsmen I have seen, Kanhai is definitely the greatest. I think mainly because he was the first of a kind and was graceful and at the same time ruthless.You would have to say Headley is up there but would his average have been affected had he played more than 22 tests, as comparatively speaking his away record was significantly less than his home record.
19 Mar 2013 18:21 #126006
are you sure...they took griffith in 1963. there were all kinds of controversy around and with him.
stayers was going nowhere with that 9 @ 40 each against India when Lester King had done much better..clearly was a better player
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
Rohan Kanhai is greater than Bradman
Time to create page: 0.231 seconds