23 May 2014 16:58 #192011
Lets try an example :
You interviewing a Black and Chinese candidate for a Job:
both seem equal to the Task ...
Whom would you Hire : Your own Afro Or the Chinee ?
23 May 2014 16:58 #192012
Believe it or not I would hire the best person for the job and there always is a best candidate.
23 May 2014 17:00 #192014
Bro I am yet to come across the hypothetical both "equal to the task".
23 May 2014 17:02 #192015
It is interesting that the WI only carried two openers on the subsequent tour to England in 1976.
I never realized that.
23 May 2014 17:09 #192017
hahahaha.....pitiful ...Just come out and say what you would do bro !
lemme say this ...i would hire my own ...arrite ?
23 May 2014 17:23 #192021
hahahaha...you are moh bold face a Liar :
than de apologists who says Viv never said that !!! hahaha
23 May 2014 18:42 #192027
Me not a liar.
And Viv said what he said.
And Ramdin try to claim catch and pull paper out he pocket.
And Sobers went Rhodesia.
And Greig say he go make WI grovel.
And de Clippers man say he nah like blacks.
And Yorkshire cricket discriminated gainst asians for years.
And dem islands men get discriminated against for years.
And de white man did run de WICb for years and years and years.
Is wha you point?
24 May 2014 11:22 #192105
The issue apropos Baichan was not a new phenomenon in the 70s. It was blatant and it was almost an accepted practice.
There is the stereotype of fitness, strength and aggression which is incorrect but it still lingers from the tone of what I read and listen to on broadcasts.
There seems to be some progress but there was nothing wrong in Baichan's batting approach that should have jeopardised his position in the team.
That said Lloyd were used to a diversity and later was a champion to Bacchus to an extent.
I think the humiliation of the 75 tour was such that fingers were pointed. Gibbs had achieved the World record so no more spinners.
The real change was the 4 pronged I seam attack and should not have affected the batting and Baichan.
Like Boqui says, I would always select the best.
In my view in addition to Sammy's sacking I would have sacked the selection panel as well, along with the coach and have a fresh start. However Gibson would hang on for dear life and ride the train for as long as he can.
He will never step down and he knows he would not get a head coach's job anywhere else save the Maldives or Malaysia.
Leonard Baichan
Time to create page: 0.204 seconds