06 Nov 2017 11:02 #353711
and you ketchim can go play T20 to yur hearts content..see all things in T20. but when it comes to longer forms you either play by the rules of dont play at all
06 Nov 2017 11:07 - 06 Nov 2017 11:08 #353713
Yes Maps you have missed the context
and arguing for trolling sakes.
Get this : NO cappo should aspire for 1st innings points.
esp. the leading T20 regional team that made international appearances.
dem 3 fellahs made some bowlers name Green and Dawes contain dem BAT !
Last edit: 06 Nov 2017 11:08 by
The following user(s) said Thank You:
chairman
06 Nov 2017 11:34 #353716
finally the confines of the 4-day regionals
you have to win the championship by the amount of points compiled at the end..the team with the most points
therefore you can let fist innings points slip away at any time.
once Jamaica scored strongly occupying more than a day that set the tone for the game. it meant the conditions favoured batting..and that you were batting last of 4 innings and that that did not auger well for you pulling off batting demands successfully in the fourth innings. so the stage was set for a first innings battle. the game was win on first innings to the extent you protect yourself from a collapse and full loss in the fourth innings
the games conditions were clear..batting wicket..little likelihood of skittle and collapse for Jamaica. and if they did collapse in the third innings then it could mean only 2 developments: rain and weather change..or wicket wear and spin..a challenge that you yourself would have to deal with in even more dire straights in the FOURTH innings
so you had to bat like hell, overhaul the big score and eat up time to protect yourself. Ramdin did everything to the opposite of that and left the game with 2 points. his opposition left with 8...if the scoring as as it used to be back in the day. if at the end of the tournament Jamaican wins the championship by 6 points over Trinidad, allyuh know where and how those 6 points were earned
06 Nov 2017 11:37 #353717
In an attempt to force an outright result, Captain Denesh Ramdin called time on the innings half-hour from the close with Red Force still 51 runs behind on first innings.
very unlikely to overcome with a fragile tail.
06 Nov 2017 11:39 #353718
see above! this is a points championship in which first innings is crucial. this is not ODI and T20 where outright results are built into the format. at the end of the day its the points you amass that counts
look here..go back into the day when Kanhai was BG captain and Carew was Titty captain and Kanhai played the game exactly like I explained to Trinidad's loss and came under full criticism by Carew for not playing in the spirit of the game...
Carew wanted Kanhai to declare or some such to give Titty a chance. Kanhai did not
go find Kanhai's response to Carew! then come back and talk with me about Ramdin here!
06 Nov 2017 11:45 - 06 Nov 2017 12:08 #353719
the quality of the Titty tail is of no consequence or consideration at all. let them bat and bring in whatever they could...and to take up time too. you see the reality Trinidad actually faced is not what Ramdin saw at all. Trinidad could have lost that game and nothing Ramdin did suggests that he even remotely saw that fact.
if Trinidad could not make and surpass 431..who in the hell says they would make any dam total Jamaica gave them in the fourth innings..even 150..100 fuh christ sakes in plenty time too?
follow the advice I just gave to ketchim Chairman..go find that game between Titty/Guyana around 1970/71 and see what Kanhai, the BG captain did
the more I look at the situation the more foolish and unnecessary Ramdin's decision looks
Last edit: 06 Nov 2017 12:08 by mapoui.
06 Nov 2017 11:54 - 07 Nov 2017 04:44 #353720
well exactly! so what was Ramdin forcing the pace for..in the face of an impossible task????????
why..likely because he had made a gigantic faux pas' by declaring in the first innings and was trying to cover for it.
Ramdin is not god. he can make mistakes but this is a giant one exposing intellectual faults of a basic nature. and I am not joking or arguing for argument sake. I think it was stupid what Ramdin did here.. and I am a fan of his play as Keeper and batsman. any cricketer of experience as Ramdin has had, balanced intellect etc would never do such a thing. simply because it is not smart to make such decisions..not smart at all.
why in the hell did he do it, when no consideration at all..before or after... would, or could, yield any rewards-potential that would justify such a decision, given the game had been turning out?
Last edit: 07 Nov 2017 04:44 by mapoui.
Splendid hundreds from Tion Webster and Yannic Cariah
Time to create page: 0.249 seconds