'Giant tent' being discussed to end rain delays in cricket

05 Oct 2017 08:19 #351952 by chairman
Plans to stop rain delays at cricket matches by covering pitches with a giant mesh tent are being discussed by the sport's governing bodies.

The Telegraph says an American company has approached the MCC and the English Cricket Board (ECB) with the idea.

The transparent mesh could be held up by wires attached to floodlights and a hot-air balloon in the centre.

An ECB spokesman told the BBC they were looking into "new technologies" but did not confirm any specific plans.

But the new MCC chief executive Guy Lavender says they are in conversation with ECB chief executive Tom Harrison in how they can partner up on the research.

05 Oct 2017 08:19 #351953 by chairman
Testing is at a very early stage and the technology is believed to be at least two years away from becoming a reality, with issues such as safety in high winds and water run-off to be considered.
"There are an enormous number of technical challenges and issues, but that's not to say we shouldn't look at it seriously," Lavender told BBC Sport.
"It's certainly not something that's going to be viable initially but I think we have a role here at MCC to investigate and look at new technologies.
"It's signalling our intent to think about new innovations and new technologies that can keep the game being played.  This is the start of a journey of seeing what's practical and what's possible."

05 Oct 2017 11:36 #351956 by timmyj51
Yah, muhn!  'Merika agin at the forefront savin' cricket!!!    8) 8) 8)

05 Oct 2017 12:13 #351957 by mapoui
horribly expensive and jackass idea....

if the rain falls it falls.  focus  on better pitch/ground protection so that when the rain stops play  can be resumed quickly

05 Oct 2017 12:33 #351958 by The Captain
timmyj will pay for it

05 Oct 2017 13:58 #351963 by mapoui

exactly!  it is how they take natural events that humans have long taken into stride, make a problem out of it, and so devise a solution to that problem that was not a problem but now we think it is because they have made us think that it is by raising it as implication they kept harping and harping at

but they had the idea in their heads all the time because they knew about a material they had found out and wanted to find a way to use it to make us pay for it

that was and is always the issue, the point, and purpose..what can deh do with it that they can make us pay for it.  regardless....WEEEEE ARE GOING TO HAVE TO PAY FOR IT!!! :o :o :o :o

this  is what they do all the time..take natural events/phenomena, that human beings have long since accepted, taken into stride, lived around in, lived in it, lived through it, made use of it.....and make problems of them and then devise "SOLUTIONS!"  that we must pay for.

look at one of the most insane examples of this 'play'  that they play on the  peoples..prey on them too..its the  same thing.  back just after the way they began to call the morning sickness of pregnant women a problem, a disease for which there had to be found a cure. 

but there is no cure for that because it is not a problem. but convincing women that they did indeed have a problem they made THALIDOMIDE and prescribed it  in a doctors office for  morning sickness for pregnant women.  AND JUST LIKE THAT THEY ALMOST DESTROYED AN ENTIRE GENERATION OF WHITE CHILDREN IN EUROPE AND THE  USA.

JUST LIKE THAT..GREEEEEEEEEEEEEED AND PLAYING GOD.  DELIBERATELY MAKING SIMPLE HUMAN REALITY THAT ARE IN FACT NO PROBLEM AT ALL, INTO PROBLEMS AND CREATING DISASTERS BUT DISASTERS WHICH REALIZE GARGANTUAN PROFITS FOR THE CAPITALISTS..WITH ORDINARY PEOPLE AS ONE KIND OF VICTIM OR THE NEXT

RAIN IS PART OF CRICKET..ALWAYS HAS BEEN. IT IS  NOT A PROBLEM IN CRICKET, NEVER WAS A PROBLEM IN CRICKET.  WE PLAYED THE GAME AROUND IT, OR IN IT.  WE NEVER COVERED THE WICKETS AT ONE  TIME BUT LET IT GET WET AND SENT BATSMEN OUT TO PLAY ON IT. ::LOL::

THAT WAS  MOST DANGEROUS FOR BATSMEN BUT YOU WERE GOOD OR YOU WEREN'T.  IT SEPARATED THE MEN FROM THE BOYS ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

i WUD NOT MIND IF WE RETURNED TO UNCOVERED WICKETS.  IN FACT i WUD LOVE IT. :-[ :-[ :-[

PHUCK TENT!  LOCK UP THE TENT MAKERS AND SELLERS WITH THE ADMINISTRATIONS IN A BIG TENT SOMEWHERE AND LEAVE THEY SKUNT AN' DEM THERE FOREVER AND EVER.  ADD THE hc'S AND ALL THE OTHER COACHES..AND CHAIRMEN OF SELECTORS.  WE DONH WANT TO HEAR FROM DEM EVER AGAIN

meantime we can focus on  covering the wickets or  leaving them uncovered....but mostly on securing the grounds where the players run, bowler run-up and so on so we get play after rain.

RAIN  IS NOT A PROBLEM.  WE NEED RAIN, WE LOVE RAIN, IT MAKES LIFE GREEN AND GOOD..MAKE IT FALL..COVER UP UNTIL IT STOP.  WE KNOW HOW TO DEAL WITH RAIN.  WE HAVE DEALT WITH IT FOR A MILLION YEARS AND COUNTING

PHUCK THE TENT MAKERS!  LOCK THEM UP IN THEIR OWN TENT WITH ALL THE OTHERS I HAVE LISTED >:( >:( >:( >:(

:D :D :D :D :D

05 Oct 2017 14:39 #351965 by timmyj51
What complete, total, unadulterated, irrefutable, pure....CRAP!!!!    >:( >:( >:(

"it separate men from boys"...it separate survivors frum those in IC unit!!

"return to uncovered wickets"...'n 19 a.o. on gluepot

"not a problem for cricket"...is fur thousands of fans who pay good money

Maphoney still tink he Oxford Don  8) ...but he jiz barn yard Mon!!!  ::dead::

05 Oct 2017 15:34 - 06 Oct 2017 12:35 #351966 by mapoui

JACKASSNESS DAT!  HERE IS OXFORD DON IN YUH SKUNT!

THE PRICE OF THE TENT WILL GO INTO PERMANENT TICKET INCREASES OVER AND ABOVE THE COST OF THE TENT.  EVERYTHING IN THERE WILL COST MORE..PERIOD  AND FOREVER. THE FANS WILL GET IT RIGHT IN THEIR  COLLECTIVE TEETH

AND THAT IS ONLY WHAT WE CAN SEE SO FAR....

AS FAR AS TICKETS ARE CONCERNED FOR WET DAYS....IT WUD BE A DAM SITE CHEAPER TO GIVE SOME SORT OF COMPENSATION TO FANS FOR THAT..YOU WANT THEM COMING  BACK EH! RIGHT ::confused:: :-[

AND DO THIS CALCULATION WILLYA:  HOW  MANY DAYS OF TEST CRICKET IN AN ENGLISH SUMMER:  HOW MANY DISTURBED BY RAIN..AND WHAT WAS THE EXTENT OF THE FINANCIAL LOSS...?

do dat for the past 30 years to get a trend you can actually work with

and there are all kinds of subsidiary questions in there the ansahs to which would allow for proper fan compensation for rain etc.

anyhow does the loss  by rain of a day or 2 out of of 30 warrant the expenditure of millions on a tent ::confused::
and see how many rain days there were since 1987

tent-makers want to sell tents for sure.  send dem into the hurricane zones where those things are often needed.  but be careful!  deh will soon be looking into how they can blow more and stronger hurricanes in the people rarse, so deh wud need and buy more tents >:( >:( >:(

Last edit: 06 Oct 2017 12:35 by mapoui.

05 Oct 2017 19:30 #351974 by timmyj51
According to netweather.tv   85 test days washed out in England from 1880 to 2004.
Many, many more for all first class matches, ODIs, T20s.  Up to 2000 41 days lost in New Zealand
tests; 28 in Rasta tests.  Put away dim knee breeches, buckle shoes and chamber pots and get
wid da times Maphoney. 

06 Oct 2017 11:08 - 06 Oct 2017 12:30 #351991 by mapoui
1880 to 2004  124 years minus 12 years for war, average 4 tests per year by 112 years...448 tests by 4 days per test

dat is 1792 days of cricket minus 84 wet days:  1708 days of cricket

and you want to buy a tent  for 84 days in 112 years ::) ::) ::)

interesting!

your language sounds like Wifan but your reasoning fits Artemis skimmy! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

you paying fuh the tent right ::confused::  Captin say so.  or yuh cud get dem to  put up ah free one fuh demonstration purposes ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

woi oh!  interesting :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
Last edit: 06 Oct 2017 12:30 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.236 seconds

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Braxtonketchim(02.01.2025, 10:03)(10:03)0
ReedCARIVS 2020 contact(01.01.2025, 23:21)(23:21)0
Damian