11 Dec 2015 20:22 #283208
Look if you have ever played cricket at any level you know where the ball has hit you and you also have a fair idea of how tall you are etc.
In real time it looked out but on replay, which the non striker did not have the benefit of, it was a tad high.
Holder, as Captain should have made the call knowing what was to come.
He immediately said out, as if he did not want to be there.
I like this lad but he should not be leading at this stage.
12 Dec 2015 11:42 #283243
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSu7KLVnNGIUGPmArPepl1m91tDXPHU8c-Md3GeoD8u-u3tXOWZ
IN a sign of just how diabolical the lack of discipline is in this West Indies outfit, Jason Holder’s fast bowlers told their captain they didn’t want to operate from one end of the ground on day one in Hobart.Kemar Roach and Jerome Taylor had no interest in running up the hill into the breeze from the Derwent River southern end in Thursday’s final session and let their skipper know.
It meant Holder was forced to let the game drift with spinners at a time when the new ball could have been taken and Australian pair Adam Voges and Shaun Marsh were cruising towards the sixth highest partnership in Test history.
Is it any wonder Holder had a DRS brain explosion on Friday, choosing not to review a poor lbw decision when replays showed the ball clearly going over the stumps?
Holder is a 24-year-old captain with zero support.
You would think in a time of crisis for West Indian cricket, and with stars like Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy off playing Twenty20 tournaments, he might expect some support from his senior men on the field.
But it would seem experienced campaigners Roach, 27 and Taylor, 31 couldn’t care less.
Yesterday, another veteran Marlon Samuels refused to walk in with the bowler, standing with hands in pockets in the field until Australia finally declared.
Holder’s decision not to review a Peter Siddle ball that hit him above the knee roll yesterday was ridiculous when you consider he’s a giant of a man at 2.01 metres and the score was 5-116 with he the last recognised batsman in the line-up chasing 583.(Daily Telegraph).
12 Dec 2015 11:50 #283246
Indiscipline! Indiscipline! it was, and is not supposed to be so. this team was constructed for obedience and docility.
is who deh ::confused::
Roach, Taylor..the older bwoys. emmm! ::confused:: ::confused:: who in the pipeline :-[ :-[ :-[
12 Dec 2015 16:27 #283290
by dillinger10
From 1966-1995, West Indies suffered a total of just 4 innings defeats. Since 1996 they have suffered 21 innings defeats - 10 from 1996-2005 and 11 from 2006-2015.
12 Dec 2015 19:42 #283324
Absolutely!
The guy has been mediocre and he continues to play.
I would strongly recommend he retires, as one of the Aussie commentators said!
1st Test: Australia v West Indies at Hobart
Time to create page: 0.255 seconds