01 Aug 2015 12:13 #266095
by 413x
Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI
bala24
02 Aug 2015 03:49 #266148
by bala24
Sunil Gavaskar & Sehwag at the top (in his prime form)Considering all the international teams, i feel Gilchrist and Hayden were the best test openers!
Gambhir too was a good bet earlier but then he lost it all suddenly during that England Tour a couple of years back.
02 Aug 2015 11:47 #266192
by Rowe992
I would have Sehwag and Gambhir. They have the highest partnership aggregate in test cricket for India with a 52 runs average opening partnership.
pahagwl
03 Aug 2015 07:56 #266264
by pahagwl
To be honest, this is a very tough question to answer. There have been a plethora of great Indian openers over the time but one name stands out head and shoulders above the rest which is Sunil Manohar Gavaskar. And his partner in my honest opinion, should be the swashbuckling Virendra Sehwag.
bala24
03 Aug 2015 12:53 #266301
by bala24
Thanks for seconding my thoughts as well.
Everyone would instantaneously say Sunny because he has been a cynosure every time he goes out to bat.
What do you think of Gambhir as an opener ??
03 Aug 2015 16:48 #266330
Nari Contractor was a good opening batsman
but after elimination it surely is Gavaskar and Sehwag. deh have my vote
04 Aug 2015 02:54 #266353
by dillinger10
Gambhir over Gavaskar?! ::confused:: Gambhir was a good opener (43.59 average in 55 matches) but Gavaskar is one of the top 5 opening batsman to ever play the game (50.29 average in 119 matches) - and arguably the greatest. Gavaskar was considerably better and for almost twice as many matches.
Gavaskar scored 50+ once every 2.7 innings; Gambhir once every 3.23 innings. Gavaskar finished with 33 centuries and 42 50's; Gambhir finished with 9 centuries and 21 50's.
No opener scored more runs, centuries or scores of 50+ in Test cricket than Gavaskar. He is one of only six opening batsman to have played more than 50 Test matches and finished with a career average of 50+. The other five batsman are Herbert Sutcliffe, Len Hutton, Jack Hobbs, Matthew Hayden and Virender Sehwag.
I don't think there is really much to debate. Gavaskar and Sehwag are the two greatest Indian openers in Test history. Gambhir and Sidhu are on a level below.
04 Aug 2015 08:52 #266363
great analysis Dilly...no doubt about it..Gavaskar and Sehwag.....
I looked and looked..sifted through my memories etc but cud no other Indian opener even close to those 2..unless deh want to consider Dravid as an opener..a job he did a few times I think
04 Aug 2015 09:43 #266368
Sehwag can't bat outside of the subcontinent, though. You need a Gavaskar and a Sidhu or a Dravid. Gambhir was decent, but looks like the Droopy Dog cartoon. If he opens with Gavaskar, Gavaskar will get suicidal.
Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI
Time to create page: 0.174 seconds