04 Aug 2015 10:25 #266383
why TD..Sidhu was alright ::confused::
yuh know who I wud put with gavaskar!!! allyuh nevah guess..... ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
THE LITTLE WICKET KEEPING DEVIL WITH A BAT...FAROUK ENGINEER!
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
:-[ :-[
:-[
04 Aug 2015 10:30 #266387
India also had a a half decent opener I liked a lot..M.L Jaisimha.
I doh know if dat spelling of his name is correct. but he made an early impression but did not last past Wadekars team
bala24
04 Aug 2015 10:50 #266390
by bala24
Haha..Would be a great Combo.
Both explosive but they don't put a price on their wickets.If they fire they will fire in unison and take the total to something exponential.
We need to have someone stable at top as well.
bala24
04 Aug 2015 12:55 #266436
by bala24
Were there any others who matched the stats of Gavaskar ?
We can't just have one choice at the top. Sachin too can't open as he is best off at No : 4
How abt Ganguly over Gambhir ?
05 Aug 2015 02:51 #266489
by dillinger10
My All-time India XI would be:
Gavaskar (*)
Sehwag
Dravid
Tendulkar
Vengsarkar
Dhoni (†)
Kapil Dev
Kumble
Srinath
Zaheer Khan
Chandrasekhar
I had a real hard time leaving out Laxman, Vijay Hazare, Mohammad Azharuddin, Mohinder Amarnath, Ganguly, Viswanath and Harbhajan Singh.
I opted for Vengsarkar over Laxman as their overall numbers are very similar but Vengsarkar was a thorn in England's side over the years (averaged 43 against England and 48 in England for his career) while Laxman didn't fare as well (30 for his career and 34 in England). I keep going back and forth though as Laxman did average 42.49 away from home for his career while Vengsarkar averaged just 32.73 in away matches. So tough to choose.
One could also make a compelling case for Harbhajan Singh over Chandrasekhar if you wanted to opt against playing two leggies and instead go for a leg-spin and off-spin combination.
I know Maps is a big fan of Farokh Engineer, and he certainly saw a lot more of him than I did. Perhaps he would argue Engineer should be in the team over Dhoni as the wicket-keeper.
bala24
05 Aug 2015 12:53 #266593
by bala24
For me i will surely choose Laxman,because of his performances and averages against Australia and SA.
Though i love Dhoni for his antics i still feel he is not fit to be in the team of legends.I will have Ganguly in his place.
Dravid then could one the gloves.He is quite OK with the gloves as well.
05 Aug 2015 13:30 #266601
by dillinger10
Dravid never kept wicket at Test level and so to include him as a wicket-keeper in an all-time great team is bending the rules a little too far for me.