16 Apr 2015 06:02 #251856
by ramesh
It seems to me that Chanderpaul sole mission ts to block , glide and leave outside the off stump
When a batsman is set , he should fire a shot in anger now and then,. A batsman job is to score runs at a reasonable clip and Chanderpaul seems incapable of doing this anymore'
Any batsman can block if that is all he wants to do and would be difficult to remove . Special skills not required.
Cricket is a team sport and right now Chanderpaul is just playing to pad his statistics, oblivious to the game situation .
A younger player spot is being taken taken away by his refusal to retire while he still have some dignity left.
The great Lara also had this problem and suffered the indignity of being forced out.
16 Apr 2015 08:29 #251859
Lara was scoring big and fast right up until he was pushed off the team. Shiv is completely different.
I would drop Ramdin and Devon Smith before dropping Chanders. Nobody made runs except Blackwood and Chanders in the first innings.
I would drop Chanders after the Eng or Aussie series - by which time he would hopefully have his record - and plan a big party for him to commemorate his retirement. I can see the WICB leaving Chanders on the team for a whole other year, though.
16 Apr 2015 09:22 #251862
@Ramesh ........ Chanderpaul's test match retirement is probably quite imminent .... :-[
What do Windies fans have to cheer about after that ?? ..... I mean really ?!! No one has yet stepped up to the plate except Shiv's protégé ..Paint
Hopefully young tiger cub soon?? Would luv to see a father/son debut in Windies cricket ....
16 Apr 2015 09:44 #251863
going............. ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
too late fuh dat. he has gone senile! avuncular impse! >
16 Apr 2015 09:52 #251864
I was wrong about taylor yesterday. I cant drop him. I was pissed by the way he wasted the second new ball late on the first day.
but I think Shive likely suffered from a lil rust this innings. someone needed to take Tredwell out of his groove..not to allow him to get into one in the first place. that was the job of lil Darren and the 'master' player of spin Samules. instead they were long gone and Tred what? was being treated like Gibbs himself on a roll
so Chanderpaul had to consolidate again. again he was in a position to ensure a decent total, had to ensure his wicket counted at 3 down for little. and this is what he did..ensured a fourth wicket did not fall till well into the third day.
I have no quarrel with Shives innings at all..NONE! NADA! as far as I am concerned as long as he is fit and capable, and we need him he shud be selected. I did not see Shive as selfish in this innings, had he not stabilized things we would not have made 250
16 Apr 2015 10:04 #251865
I shud have said a fifth wicket.
shive made sure that his wicket did not fall while 4 had gone around him..and he was in a not out position again..in which he had no one to go with him had Blackwood perished....which he threatened to do seemingly with every ball he faced.
shive made one miscue and got out..which is why I said rust. he had hit a ball for 44444 and went to hit the next one for 444 and miscued.
allyuh ease up pon Shive will allyuh. he did a good job for the west indies in this inings. what allyuh want more dan dat ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

16 Apr 2015 10:05 #251866
yes Ramesh drop Shiv and hold on to waste like Smith Samuels, look what happened after he was gone
good thing the future all rounder stayed with Bwood
16 Apr 2015 10:11 #251867
what were the partnerships in the west indies innings..only shive and B'wood..then B'wood and lil Jase
aftah dat only B'Waite..Paint did anything> so why is it Shives fault >
16 Apr 2015 10:20 #251869
I think I see ramesh point but I cyar agree on Chanderpaul. I dont know that Shive is really a very selfish person and I don't care if he is really.
that is where everything starts for people..in their own subjectivity, their own self interest..even selfishness. I dont know anyone who fell from a tree. and if they did they would be off the tree, like the tree, behave like the tree, conditioned by tree-ness.
dats human. I don't see that the way we are as individuals diverges from the way society is to any degree at all. all our players go out to play for themselves and for us. I beat up on dem but I know what deh can do and what deh cant. and in the end I hate none of them..not even skunt Samules and skunt Devon... because I know then an' deh are we
Time for Chanderpaul to retire
Time to create page: 0.253 seconds