Is AB de Villiers the best batsman who ever breathed?by Garfield Robinson

28 Feb 2015 13:30 #243746 by chairman
I know this will be viewed as heresy in some quarters but AB de Villiers is the best batsman there has ever been. Better than Tendulkar and Lara. Better than Viv and Sobers. Better than Gavaskar. Better than the three Ws. Better than Hammond, Hutton, Hobbs and Headley. Better, even, than Bradman. That is my position and I am sticking with it.

Before I am summarily dismissed as a heretic let me try and explain. De Villiers is history's best batsman in the same way that Usain Bolt is the history's best sprinter.

As a general rule, sporting performances have improved with time. Modern living and improvements in training methods and technology has allowed today's athletes to reach levels in their sports of which their predecessors could not even dream.

In 1936, Jesse Owens sprinted to the 100M world record in Chicago in 10.2 seconds. Today, the record stands at 9.58, placed there by Bolt at the 2009 World Championships in Athletics in Berlin, Germany. This means that Bolt would have finished all of 21 feet ahead of Owens had they competed in the same race.

Athletic prowess flows from genetic gifts, practice, and equipment quality. Since there is really no control over the first, as of now at least, it is improvements in the other two that has been mainly responsible for progress in athletic performance. Superior footwear, better nutrition, and quicker running surfaces, for instance, have all served to push track athletes to faster times. The tweaking of technique, such as when Dick Fosbury introduced his Fosbury flop to the world in late 1960s, often trigger significant forward movement in sporting performance.

The rise of the Twenty20 cricket has spawned batting innovations that have transformed the game. The Dilscoop, the reverse-sweep, the switch-hit, shots mostly absent from the game two decades ago, are today played in most limited overs games and are showing up more and more in tests.

Viv Richards stepped to off to flick the final ball of the West Indies innings for six in the 1979 World Cup final against England. He walked off the field, he claimed, thinking, "that shot is my own invention." That kind of innovation is commonplace in today's game. Cricket has changed.

A little over a month ago, on January 18th, de Villiers battered the West Indies in a barely believable display of batting that saw him score the fastest 50 and fastest century in ODIs on his way to 149. During the 19th match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 at the Sydney Cricket Ground South Africa's captain repeated the dose, once again totally devastating the West Indies bowling for 162 runs off just 66 deliveries.

Now, the West Indies does not posses the strongest bowling attack around, but I daresay there is no bowling that would've contained de Villiers in that kind of mood. Before this tournament is over, I am willing to wager that we will see him do to others what he did to the West Indies. At his best he is unstoppable and I doubt there is a bowler able to keep him quiet for any extended period.

Bowl wherever you like or at whatever pace; when on song he will still find a way to take full toll. His 360 degrees scoring range means there is no area of the ground that the fielding team can safely neglect, though the ease with which he clears the boundary regularly renders fielders redundant.

Admittedly, de Villiers is not the only batsman of which that may be said to some degree. Alongside him are players like Chris Gayle, David Warner, Virat Kohli, James Faulkner, Brendon McCullum, Andre Russell among others. Batsmen, on the whole, have gotten better at cultivating runs. But de Villiers has become the most effective run-gatherer of them all.

No batsman playing today, indeed none that has ever played, is capable of the outrageousness that he showed against the West Indies, and had shown before against other opponents. His own countryman, Dale Steyn, frequently cited as the game's best bowler, was not spared his aesthetic fury when they met in 2014 edition of the Indian premier League (IPL).

Now, I'm not saying de Villiers is more gifted player than the eminent names previously mentioned. Who knows, were they playing today some of them might have been even better. One quality all great performers posses is the ability to adapt. The great players of yesteryear would have been great today.

Through aptitude and practice de Villiers has become a past master of contemporary batting the past master. He destroys attacks as a matter of course, and does it with a degree of artistry and aplomb that few batsmen can summon. Though he cruelly dismantles opponents, he goes about his business with nary a hint of violence; and the destruction he wreaks is done without rancour. Perhaps you could think of him as the man who strips you of all your money and all your clothing, yet sends you on your way with a kind word.

After a rather quiet start to the World Cup, cricket's most powerful giant is now wide awake. Opponents should take this as a warning.

© Cricbuzz

28 Feb 2015 14:30 #243752 by mapoui
mus' be a south african who write dat  :( :(

01 Mar 2015 13:18 #243877 by chairman
i dont think so

• Gina145
01 Mar 2015 17:13 #243895 by Gina145
I'd love to believe that it's true, but it's really difficult to compare players from different eras, so I'll settle for saying that AB is the best play currently playing the game.

In an interview after the game against the West Indies, Imran Tahir was asked how he would go about bowling to AB. I loved his reply - that he'd bowl two beamers so that he was forced out of the attack.  :)

At the end of the day AB is only human though, and he's bound to have bad days, just like the rest of the players.

• ali
01 Mar 2015 20:51 #243899 by ali
who the hell is robinson  claiming he better than sobers. robinson  your father father must have named you after sobers.

you are disgusting sir.

• zacaroni
02 Mar 2015 01:15 #243905 by zacaroni
The man is disgusting? For an opinion you disagree with? The argument is that if there were a way to transport Sobers from when he was at his peak, say in 1966, and put him in cricket today he would not be able to play like de Villiers. Batsmen now practice different shots. Sobers never played reverse sweep and dislocate etc and so he would have been outscored by players like de Villiers in limited overs games especially.

However, the article also said great players like Sobers would adapt, and so they would have been able to play like de Villiers and perhaps even better were they playing now.

• Calypso
02 Mar 2015 08:20 #243913 by Calypso

It would be very difficult for anyone in their right minds not to acknowledge AB's ability as a game changer and his huge talent .... his ranking pays homage to that.  His array of shots is phenomenal and so very entertaining to watch... I won't compare him to anyone of past eras, but in present day ... he's pretty special and I reckon the best of him is yet to come !!!

02 Mar 2015 09:18 #243914 by mapoui

ABD BETTER DAN VIV!  DID YOU BOUNCE YOUR HEARD OVERNIGHT MAIL ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

abd is taking apart sides like the west indies. I bet if Narine was there...or the real Shilly.. none what he did would have been possible..or if west indies were a solid team getting the best out our lesser talented bunch

let me tell you this mail. there is not a single bowler today of the caliber of Lillee, Thomson, Walker, Gilmour, Underwood, Haddle, Imran Khan, Wasim Akram,Kapil Dev, Qadar, Botham, Indian spinners like Chandrasekar and so on...none..not one!

the closest we have are the Saffies themselves, their trio... and deh dont bowl at ABD. there is no Mcgrath and Gillespie etc. 

Imran Tahir is nothing compared to the real spinners of the recent past and he also does not bowl at Devilliers.  there is no spinner around like Warne or Murali, or even McGill...far less the Indian tests around Viv's time.  bowlers like those would have stopped divilliers long time now

DeVilliers is a lucky man to have arrive at a time when there is not only poor bowling stocks the world over but when the ICC is rigging the game in favour batsmen

let us  see what he does against Boult and Southee, a very decent pair of bowlers and a proper, organized and well led Kiwi team, layying at a high level of what ti is capable of

Viv took on all of those comers Mail..and defeated them

02 Mar 2015 09:27 #243915 by mapoui
and let me tell you again that the west indies batting of Viv's time would have cut this saffie side to pieces.  Lara too and a younger Gayle.

only Steyn..and at his very best...could have done any damage to them.  would he have been able to...well why not.  but impse like Morkel and Philanders would have been beaten down. 

Tahir would have been chewed up and spat out by Haynes and Greenidge who ate that kind of spin for lunch.  Richardson too came to play spin as good as anybody after a poor start.

you know ABD never even had to face a bowler like Brett Lee at his best.  do you think De Villiers could have man-handled Brett Lee Mail ::) ::)

:D :D :D :D :D
  :D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D
:D

02 Mar 2015 09:33 - 02 Mar 2015 10:37 #243916 by mapoui
its jess yesterday an' allyuh fuhget already, the sight of Viv Walking down the pitch to Craig McDermott and hitting him down the ground..... :( :( :(

CRAIG McDERMOTT, AN IMPSE WHOM I NEVER LIKED BUT HE WAS NOT A SH!TTONG LET ME TELL YOU...AND HE WAS VERY, VERY FAST

:D :D :D :D :D
Last edit: 02 Mar 2015 10:37 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.217 seconds
BrooklynINJURY UPDATE: ?

Tagenarine Chanderpaul has been ruled out of the second test between the West Indies and New Zealand due to a side strain.

Chanderpaul suffered the injury while playing a shot in the nets on Tuesday.

The left handed batter is currently being examined by the medical team to determine the full extent of the injury as well as his availability for the remainder of the series.
(09.12.2025, 19:01)(19:01)0
Brooklyn"Defence becomes an all-encompassing routine: eyes on ball, move your feet, keep head still, pat it down, repeat. No matter whether you need one run to win, or a couple hundred, you defend the same"(08.12.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
LondonSo if chase fails again then what? ?(08.12.2025, 14:23)(14:23)0
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
Leif