Is AB de Villiers the best batsman who ever breathed?by Garfield Robinson

28 Feb 2015 13:30 #243746 by chairman
I know this will be viewed as heresy in some quarters but AB de Villiers is the best batsman there has ever been. Better than Tendulkar and Lara. Better than Viv and Sobers. Better than Gavaskar. Better than the three Ws. Better than Hammond, Hutton, Hobbs and Headley. Better, even, than Bradman. That is my position and I am sticking with it.

Before I am summarily dismissed as a heretic let me try and explain. De Villiers is history's best batsman in the same way that Usain Bolt is the history's best sprinter.

As a general rule, sporting performances have improved with time. Modern living and improvements in training methods and technology has allowed today's athletes to reach levels in their sports of which their predecessors could not even dream.

In 1936, Jesse Owens sprinted to the 100M world record in Chicago in 10.2 seconds. Today, the record stands at 9.58, placed there by Bolt at the 2009 World Championships in Athletics in Berlin, Germany. This means that Bolt would have finished all of 21 feet ahead of Owens had they competed in the same race.

Athletic prowess flows from genetic gifts, practice, and equipment quality. Since there is really no control over the first, as of now at least, it is improvements in the other two that has been mainly responsible for progress in athletic performance. Superior footwear, better nutrition, and quicker running surfaces, for instance, have all served to push track athletes to faster times. The tweaking of technique, such as when Dick Fosbury introduced his Fosbury flop to the world in late 1960s, often trigger significant forward movement in sporting performance.

The rise of the Twenty20 cricket has spawned batting innovations that have transformed the game. The Dilscoop, the reverse-sweep, the switch-hit, shots mostly absent from the game two decades ago, are today played in most limited overs games and are showing up more and more in tests.

Viv Richards stepped to off to flick the final ball of the West Indies innings for six in the 1979 World Cup final against England. He walked off the field, he claimed, thinking, "that shot is my own invention." That kind of innovation is commonplace in today's game. Cricket has changed.

A little over a month ago, on January 18th, de Villiers battered the West Indies in a barely believable display of batting that saw him score the fastest 50 and fastest century in ODIs on his way to 149. During the 19th match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 at the Sydney Cricket Ground South Africa's captain repeated the dose, once again totally devastating the West Indies bowling for 162 runs off just 66 deliveries.

Now, the West Indies does not posses the strongest bowling attack around, but I daresay there is no bowling that would've contained de Villiers in that kind of mood. Before this tournament is over, I am willing to wager that we will see him do to others what he did to the West Indies. At his best he is unstoppable and I doubt there is a bowler able to keep him quiet for any extended period.

Bowl wherever you like or at whatever pace; when on song he will still find a way to take full toll. His 360 degrees scoring range means there is no area of the ground that the fielding team can safely neglect, though the ease with which he clears the boundary regularly renders fielders redundant.

Admittedly, de Villiers is not the only batsman of which that may be said to some degree. Alongside him are players like Chris Gayle, David Warner, Virat Kohli, James Faulkner, Brendon McCullum, Andre Russell among others. Batsmen, on the whole, have gotten better at cultivating runs. But de Villiers has become the most effective run-gatherer of them all.

No batsman playing today, indeed none that has ever played, is capable of the outrageousness that he showed against the West Indies, and had shown before against other opponents. His own countryman, Dale Steyn, frequently cited as the game's best bowler, was not spared his aesthetic fury when they met in 2014 edition of the Indian premier League (IPL).

Now, I'm not saying de Villiers is more gifted player than the eminent names previously mentioned. Who knows, were they playing today some of them might have been even better. One quality all great performers posses is the ability to adapt. The great players of yesteryear would have been great today.

Through aptitude and practice de Villiers has become a past master of contemporary batting the past master. He destroys attacks as a matter of course, and does it with a degree of artistry and aplomb that few batsmen can summon. Though he cruelly dismantles opponents, he goes about his business with nary a hint of violence; and the destruction he wreaks is done without rancour. Perhaps you could think of him as the man who strips you of all your money and all your clothing, yet sends you on your way with a kind word.

After a rather quiet start to the World Cup, cricket's most powerful giant is now wide awake. Opponents should take this as a warning.

© Cricbuzz

28 Feb 2015 14:30 #243752 by mapoui
mus' be a south african who write dat  :( :(

01 Mar 2015 13:18 #243877 by chairman
i dont think so

01 Mar 2015 17:13 #243895 by Gina145
I'd love to believe that it's true, but it's really difficult to compare players from different eras, so I'll settle for saying that AB is the best play currently playing the game.

In an interview after the game against the West Indies, Imran Tahir was asked how he would go about bowling to AB. I loved his reply - that he'd bowl two beamers so that he was forced out of the attack.  :)

At the end of the day AB is only human though, and he's bound to have bad days, just like the rest of the players.

• ali
01 Mar 2015 20:51 #243899 by ali
who the hell is robinson  claiming he better than sobers. robinson  your father father must have named you after sobers.

you are disgusting sir.

• zacaroni
02 Mar 2015 01:15 #243905 by zacaroni
The man is disgusting? For an opinion you disagree with? The argument is that if there were a way to transport Sobers from when he was at his peak, say in 1966, and put him in cricket today he would not be able to play like de Villiers. Batsmen now practice different shots. Sobers never played reverse sweep and dislocate etc and so he would have been outscored by players like de Villiers in limited overs games especially.

However, the article also said great players like Sobers would adapt, and so they would have been able to play like de Villiers and perhaps even better were they playing now.

02 Mar 2015 08:20 #243913 by Calypso

It would be very difficult for anyone in their right minds not to acknowledge AB's ability as a game changer and his huge talent .... his ranking pays homage to that.  His array of shots is phenomenal and so very entertaining to watch... I won't compare him to anyone of past eras, but in present day ... he's pretty special and I reckon the best of him is yet to come !!!

02 Mar 2015 09:18 #243914 by mapoui

ABD BETTER DAN VIV!  DID YOU BOUNCE YOUR HEARD OVERNIGHT MAIL ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

abd is taking apart sides like the west indies. I bet if Narine was there...or the real Shilly.. none what he did would have been possible..or if west indies were a solid team getting the best out our lesser talented bunch

let me tell you this mail. there is not a single bowler today of the caliber of Lillee, Thomson, Walker, Gilmour, Underwood, Haddle, Imran Khan, Wasim Akram,Kapil Dev, Qadar, Botham, Indian spinners like Chandrasekar and so on...none..not one!

the closest we have are the Saffies themselves, their trio... and deh dont bowl at ABD. there is no Mcgrath and Gillespie etc. 

Imran Tahir is nothing compared to the real spinners of the recent past and he also does not bowl at Devilliers.  there is no spinner around like Warne or Murali, or even McGill...far less the Indian tests around Viv's time.  bowlers like those would have stopped divilliers long time now

DeVilliers is a lucky man to have arrive at a time when there is not only poor bowling stocks the world over but when the ICC is rigging the game in favour batsmen

let us  see what he does against Boult and Southee, a very decent pair of bowlers and a proper, organized and well led Kiwi team, layying at a high level of what ti is capable of

Viv took on all of those comers Mail..and defeated them

02 Mar 2015 09:27 #243915 by mapoui
and let me tell you again that the west indies batting of Viv's time would have cut this saffie side to pieces.  Lara too and a younger Gayle.

only Steyn..and at his very best...could have done any damage to them.  would he have been able to...well why not.  but impse like Morkel and Philanders would have been beaten down. 

Tahir would have been chewed up and spat out by Haynes and Greenidge who ate that kind of spin for lunch.  Richardson too came to play spin as good as anybody after a poor start.

you know ABD never even had to face a bowler like Brett Lee at his best.  do you think De Villiers could have man-handled Brett Lee Mail ::) ::)

:D :D :D :D :D
  :D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D
:D

02 Mar 2015 09:33 - 02 Mar 2015 10:37 #243916 by mapoui
its jess yesterday an' allyuh fuhget already, the sight of Viv Walking down the pitch to Craig McDermott and hitting him down the ground..... :( :( :(

CRAIG McDERMOTT, AN IMPSE WHOM I NEVER LIKED BUT HE WAS NOT A SH!TTONG LET ME TELL YOU...AND HE WAS VERY, VERY FAST

:D :D :D :D :D
Last edit: 02 Mar 2015 10:37 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.230 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Hailey