Mail?
25 Feb 2015 09:07 - 26 Feb 2015 07:46 #243175
by Mail?
Reports suggest, Phil Simmons will be Windies next Coach assuming office after the World Cup.
He certainly has moulded varying degrees of talent in Ireland with a few progressing to County Cricket.
If I were the Irish Authorities I would do everything to keep him there, especially as they are trying to professionalise their domestic Cricket.
Phil has quietly gone a bout his business in Ireland shunning the limelight even when the Irish create one of their 'upsets'.
The Irish are hungry to prove a point so it makes Phil's job that bit easier. They are eager and give 100% in the field, play with great courage within limitations and play for each other.
Personally I would get Duncan Fletcher as I think he can do wonders for the team and where someone like Shiv would be treasured.
However prima donnas would not be tolerated....
Thoughts?
25 Feb 2015 12:11 #243222
he has uplifted the irish team to being a power. why stop now. there are other choices for west indies.
25 Feb 2015 16:31 #243274
by Rowe992
Well Phil Simmons seems to be doing a good job with Ireland and so if I were him I would leave for the West Indies unless the salary was very good. The position of West Indies coach will always be under threat because there isn't much any coach can do at this point to help West Indies cricket.
25 Feb 2015 21:42 #243311
Phil Simmons is contracted to Ireland until the end of this year. I really hope that he does not come to West Indies.
Phil don't get mixed up with this rotten bunch !!! Stay where you are highly regarded and continue the great work you've done...... stay far away from these idiots aka WICB !!!
25 Feb 2015 21:44 #243313
Simmons is likely to have to deal with questions over his possible appointment as the next West Indies manager after Cricket Ireland chief executive Warren Deutrom confirmed that a request from the West Indies Cricket Board to interview Simmons in January was granted.
A former West Indies all-rounder, the 51-year-old from Trinidad has long stated that the job would be the only one he would leave Ireland for.
Deutrom also confirmed that Simmons has told the players he is a candidate to take over the position vacated by the sacking of Ottis Gibson last August.
Simmons, who took over from Adrian Birrell following the 2007 World Cup in the Caribbean, is contracted with Cricket Ireland up until December of this year.
Read here >>
26 Feb 2015 07:55 - 26 Feb 2015 08:01 #243351
I can understand Phil's sentiments re the only post he would accept other than being Coach of Ireland to be that of WI Coach, as it seems to be a trait of some of us as we get older, that hankering of going back to our birthplace..... plus perhaps the salary lure is similar or better than Ottiss'...
However, those scheming WICB ba$tards would 'use yuh and lose yuh' ... at the drop of a hat !! Phil said that he is right at home in Ireland so much so that the only thing missing for him in Ireland is an Irish accent .... stay where you are Phil !!
Yes it is a poisoned chalice and I have no suggestions Mail ...but let dem find someone else as I would not like to see Phil's reputation nor his expectations for the team go downhill with the current regime ...
Last edit: 26 Feb 2015 08:01 by
Calypso.
☼☼☼ Simmons Coach elect for Windies ☼☼☼
Time to create page: 0.211 seconds