16 Feb 2015 08:04 #240964
Curtly , I love you man but jeeeezzzzzzzz.
8 bowlers used vs. Ireland and could not OUT these shamrocks ??
meanwhile mediocre Phil Simmons guys could only NOT out his nephew ?? ::LOL::
What gives mih bredda ??
16 Feb 2015 08:23 #240970
Before play in Nelson, Curtly Ambrose shook hands with Mike Atherton.
Two adversaries who produced many a great battle in the 1990s.
That was the decade which began with West Indies still a powerhouse in world cricket:
but by the end the decline had set in.
16 Feb 2015 08:27 #240971
A team which pulled out of a major bilateral tour only four months ago, against India of all
opposition, continues to be the subject of murmurings of further discontent.
Their public pronouncements of unity and 'the team' are sounding increasingly hollow.
16 Feb 2015 09:59 #240985
Where was Benn and/or Miller : specialist Spinners selected for the WC squad ???? :-\
Forget bowling changes : it matters not ...a bowler must OUT people !
16 Feb 2015 10:12 #240988
West Indies haven't realized that pace and bouncers do not bother modern batsmen. Indeed, these things assist good batsmen, especially with ODI fielding restrictions.
West Indies went in with 3 dedicated pacemen: Roach, Taylor and Holder.
Holder did okay to keep the runs down, but Roach and Taylor were never threatening. They bowled short, got no movement and their lines and lengths were just inept. These are supposedly the best fast bowlers in the Caribbean right now.
We are seriously hampered by no Sunil Peltnarine. A bowling unit of Peltnarine, Badree, and even guys like Deo and Perms will work well down under. It will slow the run-rate and produce fluke, stress-related wickets.
Nobody takes our fast and medium pace bowlers seriously, especially on the kinds of pitches we've seen so-far in the competition. Yes, as we move to bigger grounds the wickets will change and our bowlers will become a bit more effective, but you have to make it that far into the tournament first.
I would drop Dwayne Smith, let Ramdin or Holder open and play a spinner. I would also drop either Roach or Taylor and play a second spinner.
Holder looks like he is becoming West Indies' newest free-passenger.
16 Feb 2015 10:15 #240990
The rarity
Sulieman Benn's troublesome back and the decision not to play Nikita Miller left West Indies
scrabbling for spin options having watched Ireland's tweakers impress.
They turned to Gayle in the 12th over for just the seventh time since the start of 2012.
In that period he has just two wickets to his name - both against Bangladesh -
it took him only nine balls to add to the tally when Porterfield edged an expansive drive...
16 Feb 2015 10:26 #240992
I would have used Dwayne Smith as a change bowler instead of Simmons (1 over 12 runs)
But Lendl QPO teammate Ramdin is Skipper !
Plus Uncle Phil was looking on : unmoved from bracing that wall ::LOL::
16 Feb 2015 10:33 #240994
We cannot gripe about "no who" is in the Squad.
It is what it is : we must utilise what we do have Expertly .
the decision NOT to play Miller since Benn is injured is Bizarre !
Ambrose : as a Bowling Coach
Time to create page: 0.243 seconds