I Doh Mind If...........

27 Nov 2014 11:53 #225564 by mapoui
..deh take out the bouncer.

at least di'ze how I feel at the moment.  its a long time I rasseling with dat issue.  its part of the game deh say but it can kill.  it nearly killed Simmons. I think with this fella here ded, deh will outlaw it.  I dont kow if I disagree.

no game shud contain immediate, direct threat to life.  man can get kil' by accident in and at anything.  but the direct threat represented by a bouncer at high speed is problematic.

was Hughes wearing a helmet?  and if he was what the hell kind of quality is that helmet ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

they were and are made to protect against just this sort of event.  so how ome this player is ded if he was wearing a helmet ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

if he was wearing a helmet then the manufacturer has some answers to provide.  and if the helmets really cant protect...that they cant be made to protect then discontinue their use, ban the bouncer and lets go on with fast bowling concentrated around the wicket...period

27 Nov 2014 12:28 #225566 by ketchim
www.westindiesforum.com/the-pitch/cricket-helmets/

I ran a thread on the design and the studies ... ;)

Sean Abbott  ball reared up and ruptured an artery, causing a rush of blood to Hughes' brain

that ultimately proved fatal

• Mail
27 Nov 2014 13:36 #225572 by Mail
MAPPIPPEE,

I feel some emotions in your post and quite understandably!

Look cars have killed people, etc, but we do not ban them.

This is a freak accident.

He was wearing a Masuri, old design, helmet. The new one extends a further inch down the neck and could have made a difference.

Remember Shiv being hit by Lee and Shiv, another left hanger, has started turning his head for such deliveries so needs to be careful

Simmons was hit by Sid back in 88 and he recovered.

Hughes, may he rest in eternal peace, had a tendency of backing away to the leg and opened up his vulnerability. He has improved his technique but for whatever reason, God has decided it is time.

It is always traumatic when a younger person dies and for those with children that age and older,  we are taken aback.

The bouncer stays for me and cricket continues.

From God we come and to him we shall return. RIP,

27 Nov 2014 16:29 - 28 Nov 2014 00:14 #225581 by mapoui
i REALLY LIKE THE iDEA MAIL OF A FAST ATTACK CONCENTRATED AROUND THE WICKET.  THE MORE i THINK OF IT THE MORE CERTAIN i BECOME THAT THE BOUNCER SHOULD BE ELIMINATED

the greatest fast bowling I ever saw was Michael Holding at the Oval in england in 1976.  then Holding bowled 2 innings for 14 wickets..of sustained high pace, in and out-swingers, yorkers, out-thought batsmen where sheer pace and accuracy did not do them in. that was one of the greatest fast bowling feats of all time.  and I don't think Holding ever bowled a bouncer in those 2 spells.  and that might have been deliberate..a decision the team made under Lloyds leadership

and it must be noted that for all the great pace west indies had west indies never made great use of the bouncer.  Marshall, Holding, Garner, Roberts all were very judicious with the short ball.  those guys were masters of the art of bowling, organised around the wicket.  I like that..high physical and mental skills for the art of bowling, out thinking batsmen, exhausting them by constantly testing them with balls that demanded all their skills to keep out. 

that to my mind is the real test and challenge.....like Holding again in 1981  bowling 2 overs to Boycott first and second innings..the great Boycott at the start of both englands innings in that test match, that required every skill Boycott had to negotiate the balls he defended.. then got ones that absolutely, comprehensively defeated him, took his wicket both times.

Boycott studied those 2 overs exhaustively in film and subsequently declared them to be excellent overs..terrific bowling.  and I don't recall any bouncer in there either.  that is what I love more than anything...especially against the white teams...beating and bowling them out without intimidation.  do you care Mail to hazard a guess why?

I can do without bouncers.  an I can do with a better helmet
Last edit: 28 Nov 2014 00:14 by mapoui.

• bigbrain50
28 Nov 2014 10:08 #225625 by bigbrain50

The company aid that it was due to it being an older model Helmet, but my foolish question to them is, hasn't there always been bouncers in cricket, so shouldn't all of there helmets, old or new make concessions for such an occurrence? Poor excuse and I think the family should sue the company...

28 Nov 2014 10:19 - 28 Nov 2014 11:08 #225627 by Calypso

No they did not ... They said he was wearing the original helmet and not the latest model.  Whether that would've made a difference or not is just speculation at this time.  The latest model does extend downwards at the back a wee bit but the helmet manufacturers investigation may reveal more however. 

Yet one cannot help but wonder why he wasn't wearing the latest model of helmet and just how many cricketers are still wearing the original one as Hughesy was using even though it may not have made one iota of difference !!!
Last edit: 28 Nov 2014 11:08 by Calypso.

29 Nov 2014 10:30 - 29 Nov 2014 10:38 #225740 by mapoui

IT IS TEST FOR BOTH BAT AND BALL..BOWLER AND BATSMAN...THE BOWLERS TO BE AS GOOD AS THAT TO GET THE BATSMAN OUT, TO PREVENT HIM FROM SCORING...OR IS LICKS LIKE FI'AH...AND FOR THE BATSMAN... TO DEFEAT THE BOWLER NO MATTER HOW GOOD HE IS..AROUND THE WICKET.

FOR BLACK AND WEST INDIAN FAST BOWLERS TO OUTHINK WHITE OZ, ENGLISH, KIWI CONSISTENTLY  IS MUSIC TO MY EARS AND MIND AND SIGHT.  SO WE ARE INFERIOR EH! WELL TEK DAT!  ::LOL:: ::LOL::

di'ze why I like the idea of attack focused around the wicket that requires real skill and BRAINS and no intimidation.  we will rob them of their so-described fear of a black (or brown) man with a ball in his hand at 90+ mph, that might morph into a spear..or worse a Kalashnikov or AK47, or a modern 'grenidge' ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

we will establish the brains of west indias as supreme, like Malcolm and Holding did, like Garner and Ambi, Walsh did.  ball in deh wiyah...brains in deh wiyah..the high  intelligence of west indian minds.  we have such capacity..we are not a defective people.  we have plenty brains and vast athletic skills. we must be afraid of no man or woman at anything at all when it comes to intellect.  we doh need no bouncer...kill the bouncer because it is also very dangerous to life and limb.

now if they develop a proper helmet I guess we can keep the bouncer.  but I dont care about that either way.  I want to see More Marshalls and Garners, Holdings, Walsh, Ambrose with their high intellects, massive physical skills, making batsmen play all the times, exhaustively searching them, put them under constant examination.  that is what I want to see ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

toss all these current pretenders who masquerade as west indian fast bowlers.  sentence them to hours and hours of watching film of the legend fast bowlers, before they come back in to try to get a place. insult them by picking 3 spinners and 1 paceman to represent in test. 

even worse give  fuh dem... gih the new ball to FUDADIN AND GUYANESE JOHNSON..WHILE mILLER, bENN, bISHOO AND pERMAUL DO THE BOWLING.  TELL THEM STRAIGHT UP..'YUH SEE ALLYUH..ALLYUH NOT REAL FAST BOWLERS.  SEE ALL THE FLIM ALLYUH JESS WATCH.  DAT IS FAST BOWLING.  WHEN ALLYUH LEARN DAT COME BACK.  AS FUH NOW LET fUDADIN/JOHNSON TRUNDLE AWAY. WE CYAN LIVE WIT' DAT..NOT ALLYOU IMPSE AND ALLYUH '
:D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D
:D
Last edit: 29 Nov 2014 10:38 by mapoui.

29 Nov 2014 10:38 #225742 by ketchim
Mapster ,

The vaunted 90 + mph fast bowlers are no longer found in the Caribbean, man !

Look towards SaffieLand and Land of Oz and Pakistan

Even the Kiwis have faster men than us  !

Now come off yuh Nostalgia  :-[

29 Nov 2014 10:47 #225744 by mapoui
i CAN SOLVE DAT KETCHIM.......SEND THEM BACK TO THE GYARDEN TO PLANT FIG AND GROUND PROVISIONS..HARVEST AND TOTE PON DEH HEAD IN BASKET...GO TO THE MARKET ON SATURDAY TO SELL SOME

send dem to ketch fish and crab..to cut calaloo bush and regular bhagi..knead and bake deh own sada roti and choka.

yuh tink I sorf.  is wood fuh tem. is hard wuk until deh learn to bowl fast again >:( >:( >:(

same fuh people like lil Bravo and Barath.  all this high school in good clothes with shoes on deh foot, 3 squares a day made by other people to serve them..people washing deh clothes fuh them an' ting......

unheard of. all dat done :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[  is either deh get down to it or is tears.  naked and starvation.  do it or it wont be done
:o :o :o :o

:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
:-[ :-[
:-[

29 Nov 2014 10:50 #225745 by ketchim
KFC has taken over the Region.

Boil and Fry provision is a thing of the past !

Cut calaloo bush ??  with Manicured nails and all dat Bling on fingah and neck ?

you mussee dreaming !  ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.220 seconds
chairmanPPP/C is UNSTOPPABLE….
So all de small parties coming together to try beat the PPP/C
Guyanese don’t be fooled
Vote for Peace Progress and Prosperity.
(19.06.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
PeytonCOACH SAMMY TO MISS IRELAND T20Is(05.06.2025, 18:49)(18:49)0
ketchimJune 1st 2ndODI : replace the 4 guys on the bench : Evin Lewis, John Campbell, Shamar Joseph and Jediah Blades !(31.05.2025, 15:09)(15:09)0
chairmanHuge defeat(29.05.2025, 19:07)(19:07)0
chairmanMatthew Forde you beauty. I didn't even realise he averages almost 40 in FC. And he is only 23 yrs old.(23.05.2025, 20:05)(20:05)0
chairmanWelcome to Guyana - Hakeem Olajuwon, also known as "The Dream,"
A storied career:

- 2x NBA Champion (1994, 1995)
- 2x NBA Finals MVP (1994, 1995)
- 12x NBA All-Star
- 12x All-NBA Team selection
- 9x NBA All-Defensive First Team
- NBA MVP (1994)
- NBA Defensive Player of the Year (1994)
- NBA Rookie of the Year (1984)
- Inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008

One of the greatest players in NBA history.
(23.05.2025, 10:05)(10:05)0
chairmanI would like to see every house in Essequibo has a Guyana ?? Flag
and possibly the Rest of Guyana ??
(19.05.2025, 06:38)(06:38)0
PeytonSevere weather leaves at least 27 dead, including 18 in Kentucky(17.05.2025, 18:46)(18:46)0
chairmanCongratulations to the newly appointed Roston Chase as West Indies Test captain.
Does he have any captain/ leadership experience?
Your thoughts:
(16.05.2025, 19:23)(19:23)0
TalonDozens of white South Africans arrive in US under Trump refugee plan(12.05.2025, 19:57)(19:57)0
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
Clayton