West Indies pulls out of India

• bala24
18 Oct 2014 11:58 #219078 by bala24
Meanwhile in India
BCCI to Sl..What are you doing over the weekend..?
Sl Board : nothing
BCCI : Why don't u come over for a series..?

Darn another Indo Sl series..

23 Oct 2014 06:48 #219842 by dillinger10
In an interview with BBC 5 Live, Ian Bishop maintained that the collapse of the tour of India must serve as a wake-up call and called for the administration at the WICB to be improved.

"It must be a wake-up call because any team who was going to invite the West Indies to their shores - this will be at the back of their mind," he said.

"I don't think the players understood the ramifications of such a move."

Bishop went on to say that the threat of legal action by the BCCI could be crippling.

"[The BCCI] must be aware that if they bankrupt West Indies it reduces the spectacle of world cricket," he said. 

www.bbc.com/sport/0/cricket/29733887

23 Oct 2014 09:47 #219843 by chairman
Their decision to cut short their trip to India may not have been in accordance with the spirit of cricket but the West Indies players though have the support of most of their fans back home in their 'wage war' against West Indies Cricket Board (WICB).

The Dwayne Bravo-led team took an early flight back after playing four ODIs against India this month. Their decision to skip an ODI, a T20I and three Tests forced Board of Control for Cricket in India to suspend bilateral tours to West Indies. While WICB faces tremendous financial losses, the Board may also be dragged into a legal tussle. Most fans in the Caribbean though have their sympathies with the players, not the board officials.

"Embarrassed? You have no notion of the height; the breadth; and the depth of our shame "out here", Sir!" wrote Tony Webster - a fan, on a Barbados news website called nationnews.com. "There are 3 millions here…and 1.3 billions over there, that expect this option shall not escape your notice," he further said on why WICB should meet with the players' demand.

The WICB and West Indies Players' Association signed a new agreement last month covering pay and conditions but it was rejected by the senior players, including one-day captain Dwayne Bravo, who said they were kept in the dark.

"Yea, it's unfortunate that it takes drastic (and unprecedented) action like this for the players to get the attention they had requested - and deserve," wrote an anonymous netizen on jamaicaobserver.com. "This is what can happen when those who "holds the purse strings" think and act as if those whom are "planting the corn;" hence producing the 'goods,' are being treated with contempt."

While fans at large agree that the national players have been wronged, former India cricketer Sunil Gavaskar told NDTV that walking out of a tour was unprofessional. "I have been a player and I understand West Indies players' concerns. But leaving without playing is against the spirit of the game."

His views were echoed by a few supporters of the Caribbean team as well. "Please don't blame WICB or WIPA yes the players have a problem there are ways and means of working things out in a professional way the days when people walk off the job is over did Dwayne Bravo knows you have to give notice after you have proof of the ballot taken to strike which I believe is 28 days. The Strike Is Illegal," wrote Rannybap on the Jamaican news website.

While the deadlock between West Indies players and their Board seems to have no immediate solution, the WICB has formed a task panel to study the situation. It has also aplogised to BCCI and requested the Indian Board to hold talks to ease tensions. In the entire matter though, the International Cricket Council has taken a back-seat and said in a statement that it won't interfere in a bilateral dispute unless the matter is referred to it.
sports.ndtv.com

23 Oct 2014 10:48 #219866 by mapoui

some vindication here...nothing else but class involved, central to the issue.
Mapoui is on the spot...spot on!
:D :D :D

• Ashton
23 Oct 2014 11:09 #219880 by Ashton
I hope the Windies stick to their guns and never pick any of these scavengers ever again. Strip Bravo of the captaincy and start rebuilding with the A team and other youngsters. Remember,some time ago, Bravo gave his priorities as(1)Trinidad, (2)his IPL franchise,and (3)Windies. That shows what he thinks of Windies, just a cash cow to be milked. Rally up the Windies, we’re behind you all the way.

23 Oct 2014 12:12 #219914 by mapoui

that is going to solve something :(  chuuuupes!

it does not matter who deh pik.  it is still an exploitative zero sum reality in which workers/labour must be exploited to keep those on top in place. that is the fundamental reality in the process that guarantees that there will ALWAYS BE LABOUR/MANAGEMENT DISPUTES THAT WILL ROCK THE BOAT CAUSING OVERALL INSTABILITY

THE EXPLOITATIVE SYSTEM AS IT IS, IS FUNDAMENTALLY UNSTABLE AND CANNOT BE RESOLVED BY PUNISHING THE CURRENT STRIKERS

THE NEW PLAYERS WILL BE FORCED TO STRIKE TOO IN A COUPLE 3 YEARS, FOR THEIR VERY OWN SURVIVAL.

the situation cannot be resolved until and unless the system of exploitation is changed to one of cooperation and benefit for all. but those who live by exploitatin cannot give it for they will lose everything they have.  keeping it means keeping the exploitation going.  so there will always be labour disputes until the people get together and ends it all

23 Oct 2014 12:13 #219915 by mapoui
ketchim you support fineleg! :o :o

shame on you >:(

23 Oct 2014 12:19 #219917 by ketchim
Bravo was explicit in his Picong :priority 1,2 and 3;

You support Bravo ??

shame on you  >:(

23 Oct 2014 12:21 #219919 by mapoui
I do support Bravo..and no shame in dat.

very courageous fella :-[ :-[

23 Oct 2014 12:23 #219920 by The Captain
don't forget Tony Webster was a former WICB official

Time to create page: 0.184 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Phoenix