49.26 Pujara
39.47 Kohli
35.68 Rahane
38.46 Dhoni
38.87 Ashwin

OBSERVATION:

* Only 2 Indian batsmen average 40+

• zsk77
18 Sep 2014 12:07 #213782 by zsk77
Clive Lloyd: Team for India chosen and will be announced in a couple of days

18 Sep 2014 12:17 #213789 by Rev Al
HERE IS THE LIKELY INDIAN BOWLING ATTACK

SHARMA: 178 wkts @35.75 avg
ASHWIN: 107 wkts @28.65
KUMAR:    28 wkts @30.25
AARON:    8 wkts @47.38

OBSERVATION:

* That's a rather ordinary bowling line-up---although Ashwin in India will create some trouble for WI bats.

18 Sep 2014 12:18 #213790 by mapoui
west indies can beat this current indian side

India looking for some batsmen..need at least 1 opener...

west indies need I decent batsman and we might have the makings in Johnson.  Gayle returns and Johnson keeps his place..Edwards out.  the problem that emerges is in the order..who bats at 3.  no moving of Lil Bravo and Shive.  that is fine and well set.  we have to sacrifice lil Blackwood or the older, more experienced Johnson.

this west indian batting wont score quickly..only if Gayle gets going at the top..a decreasing prospect with Gayle's age. I would put Johnson in at 3 but instruct him to get himself in, score fifties or tons at a careful rate to solidify his career.  Johnson can score a bit but we cant sacrifice him for quick runs while Paint does Paint.

and Ramdin has done well enough in his first 5 tests.  his confidence in the job will grow especially if there is no dam head coach to impose crap on the tam with more power than Ramdin.  Ramdin is growing in the absence of a head coach.  things are fine up there, the team happier.  a low key Richardson more as manager than coach has struck a nice balance.  we should keep that going..Richardson as manager and sort of coach with Ramdin as captain

I am really happy the way things have gone with the team management recently.  deh shud keep it in place for a while..let it develop fully.  I might even start liking the Pie Bus

18 Sep 2014 12:27 #213793 by mapoui
we also need a fast bowler.

Gabe has not been taking wickets but he is fast and can be manacing.  things may change with him and the wickets start to flow for him.

Cottrell has made strides and he is inline..maybe next in line.  I like Holder as all rounder potential but not as fast bowler.  he needs some more yards of pace..or else developing the devastating skills of a Vass of a slower pacer...

key is the team feeling itself like a team and playing like one..the results of which would be greater than the sum of its parts.  the tam is fine now.  the right leader is in place, a good team manager and selection panel. 

west indies is set up to improve now.  better people are in position running things

18 Sep 2014 12:40 #213800 by Rowe992
At this moment I don't see the West Indies beating India in India. They best they can hope for is a draw because India will be determined to win especially after the humiliation they faced in England in the test series. West Indies will fail at either the batting or bowling or even both during each of the three matches. Their mission will be to avoid a whitewash.

• Mail
18 Sep 2014 12:45 #213802 by Mail
Mapster,

Gabriel will come good and I would opt for Blackwood for the ODIs and maybe both him and Johnson for tests.

I would rest Gayle for tests myself.

Has Rampaul retired?

I can just imagine Gabriel, Taylor and Roach on the faster tracks of South Africa. What a prospect.

I think Windies will compete very well but not sure they could win in India just yet.

18 Sep 2014 13:19 #213818 by Rev Al
The last time the West Indies won a test match in India was in December 1994---that's nearly 20 years ago.

* Since none of you will recall that WI victory---click on the link for the scorecard:

WI 443(Adams 174*)
India 387(Prabakar 120)
WI 301/3 dec(Lara 91)
India 114( Benjamin 5/65, Walsh 3/34)

www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63662.html

COMMENT:

* Can Roach, Taylor and Gabriel emulate Benjamin and Walsh ?

* The WI is overdue for a test win in India.

18 Sep 2014 13:22 #213819 by mapoui
THANKS FOLR REMINDING ME OF RAMPAUL. HOW COULD i HAVE FORGOTTEN!

yes the return of Rampaul will solve the pace problem..will play before Gabe as long as he remains fit in my book

18 Sep 2014 13:25 #213822 by mapoui

Roach, Taylor and Rampaul and Benn might..if you still talking to me that is :)

Time to create page: 0.219 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Franklin