08 Sep 2014 14:16 #211773
by Rowe992
I want to know what you think about who should be in the test team. I think Cottrel deserves his opportunity in the test team because he looks promising and plus he has pace. I don't see anything special about Gabriel and yet he still gets selected over players like Holder.
08 Sep 2014 14:33 #211779
I would pick Holder over the 2 of them.
BTW - Why is Rampaul not playing? This game would have been over already if he was playing
08 Sep 2014 16:28 #211794
by Rev Al
* Neither Cottrel nor Gabriel should play test cricket.
* If Gabriel is dropped, then Holder should replace him.
* TAYLOR IS ALSO LOOKING ORDINARY.
* But I'll play him one more test.
08 Sep 2014 22:08 #211818
I thought Gabriel bowled very well during this CPL. He seems a very passive guy, though. Cottrel, in contrast, has a certain fire and energy about him.
Roach and Taylor haven't been spectacular during this test, and yet they're recognised as our best pace-men.
As unfit as Rampaul is, it might be worth playing him in tests; he has a way of penetrating. Perhaps give him 5 overs every hour.
08 Sep 2014 23:20 #211825
by Kyle
Rampaul is injured? Or is he just "unfit" as in the general sense? I think he'd do great in the test side tbh.
09 Sep 2014 06:43 #211840
Too fat? Really?
Rampaul is heavier set but has a way of breaking through and I would always use someone like taht in short, sharp bursts.
Shame but the selected team is doing a job...
09 Sep 2014 12:33 #211941
if Rampaul is fit and taking wickets he is a must before Gabriel...a must before all but Taylor and Roach.
Taylor has slowed down over the season. the physio and medics ought to be taking a long look at him.
Gabe is a solid performer..a strong determined young man who must not be summarily discarded regardless of what Rev says. but hs shud not play before Rampaul. I have strong faith in Gabe to be a solid performer for the west indies..not spectacular but solid.
I dont have much expectation in Holder as a bowler. he shud have progressed much more by now if he is the real deal.
Holders batting excites me far more than his bowling. he shud put great focus on his batting and let his bowling support his batting for a place as a batting all-rounder. that approach shud get him much further than its opposite.
Cottrell disappointed greatly when he was first called up. he was unfit and done after a few overs. fire or not he must be fit. it will be hard fuh me to forgive him for that indiscretion
09 Sep 2014 12:52 #211951
by Rev Al
HERE IS HOW ROACH COMPARES TO OTHER WI QUICKS AFTER 27 TESTS----wkts & average
Roach 105 @ 26.65
walsh 96 @ 25.87
Ambrose 106 @ 23.81
marshall 109 @ 24.58
garner 119 @ 20.67
Holding 108 @ 25.33
Roberts 134 @ 24.61
Hall 127 @ 23.31
* Not bad! Not bad at all Roachie.
* If Roach stays fit, he'll achieve great numbers at the end of his career.
Gabriel or Cottrel?
Time to create page: 0.171 seconds