30 Aug 2014 18:25 #210241
you think I mind if deh pik Johnson before Pollard ::confused:: ::confused::
I dont! as far as I am concerned Pollard is strictly for T20. Johnson is clearly a better batsman.
now if you put up Johnson vs Pollard I can go with you. but if they pick those & deh have reason to di'ze all
31 Aug 2014 13:37 #210362
if you guys compare the money with what narine and russell will get with riders you wouldnt blame them.
31 Aug 2014 13:57 #210368
That is irrelevant : money at this stage !
It is the TALENT being left BY the wayside WHILE :
Politics and Insularity is in responsible for putting out an XI :
that is 3rd and 2nd best ......hence the RESULT ?
# 8 out of 10 Teams this last DECADE >
31 Aug 2014 18:30 #210412
I find things taking shape as they always do...... disciplined by peoples need fuh security. at he end of the people have to make livin' and dat is wat everybody about...
and the process is not fair and yet there is basis for all decisions made. I doh mind you lookin' fuh Guyana intris ketchim. yuh suppose to do dat. but there is a basis fuh the pik of the Tricky 7.
31 Aug 2014 18:37 #210414
I see nutten wrong with Narine going to the IPL foregoing west indies test cricket..if he can get away with it. the west indies still get a benefit.
Russell too..Big Bravo..all ah dem.
I wud do he very same thing! pass and go..straight to make a million. easy! eff test cricket.
what! I go eat ah famous name in Barrackpore and Beocal when my days in cricket done...in Cangrehal, Couva or Cushe... in ajupa with ah wife and kids... while skunt Skameron, Hunter,Hillaire an' dem live in mansion off my back.
nevah! this is not 1970. this is 2014
this is not like going to South Afrca in apartheid fuh bloddy dollars. this is good,hard and clean money.
01 Sep 2014 09:41 #210429
I see this period as a new phase in Windies Cricket and its success is yet to be seen and therefore should not be judged because of past failures.
The Test Captain, Coach and selection panel, after years of pleading, have been sacked/ replaced. Many other innovations including plans for a new professional approach with a proposed 105 contracted players by September to support the development of young players are being introduced.
(
rjrnewsonline.com/sports/wicb-to-have-10...cketers-by-september
)
The team, comprised as they are, won the ODI series, 3-0, and the last time Bangladesh visited the region, under the old regime, they won the ODI series by the same margin.
To look at the context and overall picture, the last time Bangladesh visited they won a test series 2-0 so now let us see how Windies respond this time around under the new regime.
A Windies annihilation in India, further humiliation in New Zealand, not least the innings defeat at Wellington, saw further calls for sacking of Captain, Coach and Selectors.
Captain sacking resulted in a lost return series against New Zealand 2-1, but a more closely fought and competitive one.
New Zealand is far better than Bangladesh and going into the second Test, of this return series one game down, Windies actually won the second by 10 wickets and narrowly missing out in the third at Bim. When is the last time this happened?
Prior to that, the last time Windies won a Test match was against Bangladesh away in 2011 and their last home victory was 3 years before against Pakistan, a series they drew.
Whether change has come late or not, the changes we have all been asking for have happened and there have been some improved performances.
No….. this is not the 'turn the corner' debate but change need to be given time to work and yes Windies will meet sterner opposition and what you should be looking for is how they compete. When they meet the likes of Bangladesh and Zim they should give them a good working over and that is happening.
Reducing the debate, unless selection is unduly fair, to how many players are from a particular region is quite silly and as insular as it gets.
In terms of Samuels, he seems a spent force to me and in his last 14 test innings he had averaged a paltry 20.9 with an overall poor 34.69 after 52 tests. How long are you to put up with that sort of mediocre, erratic performance even if you overlook attitude?
He feared a bit better in the ODIs but yet overall he has continued failing so for me it is time to move on as his moments of brilliance is just far too few and not always in a winning cause.
In terms of the IPL, those choosing to miss out will lead to opportunities to others who should seize their opportunities and compete so hard, it makes it difficult for others to regain places. Besides, the WICB benefit significantly.
I do not see them as traitors or anything bad but making a choice that suits them best. My personal view is your loyalty should be for your country but Windies wield no power so schedules are not going to be arranged around their International commitment.
01 Sep 2014 09:51 #210432
West Indies First :
IS therefore a stupid and a ridiculous policy to have Enforced ??
Did Richard Pybus sabotage our Games against New Zealand ?
01 Sep 2014 09:59 #210433
It is the " elsewhere" that Journalistic pieces should probe :
IN all the Islands daily publications and talk shows !!
01 Sep 2014 10:49 #210439
You are missing the Bus : the subject is TALENT.
when Guyana and Bim dominated the XI with 6 and 7 players :
We were WORLD beaters and coincided with our period of Dominance !!
With Trinis directorship "Votes for Players " in the XI : what is the result ??
Whipping boys , ranked in the dungeon of Talent !
Unnastan ?
Samjay ??
Capiche ?
West Indies Cricket needs more than Clive Lloyd as Selector by Garfield Robinson
Time to create page: 0.206 seconds