14 May 2014 12:46 #190744
The 20 players called to prepare are: Denesh Ramdin (captain), Chris Gayle, Kraigg Brathwaite, Keiran Powell, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Jermaine Blackwood, Sunil Narine, Shannon Gabriel, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn, Shane Shillingford, Kenroy Peters, Shane Dowrich, Ashley Nurse, Jason Holder and Kemar Roach.
14 May 2014 14:01 #190751
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Benn is back...one of 3 attacking bowlers west indies have. the other 2 are Narine and Shillingford.
west indies must play 2 spinners now..and 2 pacers. I don't care who the 2 spinners are as long as deh from those 3.
14 May 2014 17:00 #190778
Taylor has not done enough to be there IMO but let us see how he gets on in the camp.
Saddened to see Samuels still there but alas.
14 May 2014 17:27 #190783
Nurse had a good year..so he is getting a look see. but not fuh me he wud not. there are a few still ahead of him in the mix
14 May 2014 18:28 #190790
Totaly agree on that one MAPPIPPEEEEEEEE.
What are your views on Taylor?
14 May 2014 22:44 #190802
by Kyle
Well not as convinced about Benn tbh. But let's see. I'd prefer Narine and Shilly (hopefully he doesn't suck post his action modification) ideally. Benn isn't a bad option to have I guess. Also filling in somewhat of an "allrounder" role I suppose.
14 May 2014 22:46 #190803
by Kyle
Also - has everyone given up on Bishoo? I know that he's far from consistent, but he's been doing well recently and that surely is a good sign? Yes, he probably hasn't done enough to warrant a place in test side so far, but generally speaking?
Also Permaul has turned out to be such a massive disappointment, I expected him to fill in a decent allrounder role (poor man's Shakib, if you will) - but he's grassed it.
14 May 2014 22:54 #190805
taylor is experienced and gibbo likes that..older experienced fast bowlers.
taylor has been around for 10 years but he started young and had so many injuries he is not all that used up. if he is fit and ready to go he is as good or better than any other we have.
yet I dont like how gibson handles fast bowlers. we have had a ream of very fast youngsters coming through over the past 4- 5 years and none absolutely zilch has progressed. and I am not talking about roach and rampaul....
gibbo singled out jason holder and he has gone backwards not forward. deh picked cottrell and immediately he has gone backward. they ignored Johnson and he too regressed coming forward again this year a bit.
I give up on gibbo period but he is murder on west indian pace..ignoring the youngsters for tino best and fidel edwards while the kids stagnated. I suppose he is looking forward to grab taylor and stick him in there.
if taylor is ready its ok I guess. but gibbo simply must do soemthing about developing the young pacemen. he has already wasted a great deal of potential
14 May 2014 22:57 #190808
benn is a leftie leggie..shilly and narine are offies. narine has great variety and that may lend some diversity if the both of them play. but i would prefer Benn and Narine. i think shilly will have it hard to get back in once Benn is there
20 players to prepare for the upcoming West Indies versus New Zealand Tests
Time to create page: 0.213 seconds