Is Indo-Caribbean culture under threat ?

15 Sep 2019 11:17 #375199 by ketchim
Roti, doubles, Chutney music -

Indian people have been living in the Caribbean for more than 180 years,
but founder of Indo-Caribbean London, says that their contribution to the West Indies is overlooked
and they are often excluded by the Asian community !!

Fearing that young Indo-Caribbeans are turning away from their culture
she is single-handedly organising the UK’s first Indo-Caribbean festival.

15 Sep 2019 12:24 #375203 by mapoui
great post ketchim! I was wondering about dat..Indos and the west indies.

it is time fuh west indians co come home to what deh are. we are distinctly west indian. we doh have to leave India and Africa, cut ties and all ah dat..but when we go home we go as what we have become ,with pride and no god dam apology

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

15 Sep 2019 12:30 #375204 by mapoui
we have to pull the west indies together as a distinct and whole culture that has made a significant contribution to the world. just name the names and the work they have done.

we do dat fus' fuh we, to give ourselves the real picture of who are are. we dig into how we came to be and see how dat experience make the whole of who we are. we must get about we own identity dat world experience teaches we we must have.

Africa doh want we..indian doh want we. and I have no Idea wat china thinks of Chinese west Indians. Hong Kong in flames may give us an Idea - I doh know :woohoo: :woohoo:

but if in processing we identity we make a successful, prosperous nation all bets off. now deh want we..deh want some. we cud dih dem wood..or start a reconciliation on a new and better, more advanced basis

15 Sep 2019 12:36 #375205 by mapoui
we have CLR James but we have Vidiahar Naipaul too, and Sherva. and lots lots more!

and we have Van Sertima, the greatest of them all...as an amalgam of just about all racial strains we have in the region.

we have pelau and doubles. roti and callaloo.....

man as I go through in my mind all we have done with very little we have done a great, great deal fuh we self. we have to pull it and display the whole..and make a prosperous region. that is not hard at all if we get serious and kick the capitalist in his nuts and send him away while we make our own prosperity

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

15 Sep 2019 13:21 - 15 Sep 2019 13:24 #375208 by ketchim
ssshhhhh....doan tell Pandit Googly this and him sidekick Kwami

with dem Jai Hind indoctrination !! :woohoo:
Last edit: 15 Sep 2019 13:24 by ketchim.

15 Sep 2019 13:27 - 15 Sep 2019 13:29 #375209 by ketchim
AND on the African side , we have the Jamaican
Fightng to bury the remains of brother Bob Marley in some Africa state :woohoo:
ostensibly because him embrace the Rastafari lifestyle

and the Afro Guyanese now joining up with GHANA : in attempting to copy the Indo Jai Hind

if ah laff, ah pop !! :woohoo:
Last edit: 15 Sep 2019 13:29 by ketchim.

15 Sep 2019 22:11 - 15 Sep 2019 22:12 #375214 by mapoui
Rasta is not west indian? it have ah african origin? as far as I know Rasta is west Indian

bwoy..the way people so smart I doh know nuh?

it have all kind ting in our experience that makes India and Africa as home untenable. we simply have to look at the experience we have had since we left India and Africa and what it has made of us. there is no way any of us go walk back in and fit after so long.

why wont we fit..because we are different now. and we have a nation that we bought with we blood sweat and tears, not to mention lives. we have ah culture..we own food and music, speech, the way we see the world everything.

we all mixed up now..African, White, Indo, Chinese, native Indian. we take all that was there, what we were given, what was forced pon we... and made all kinda ting with it: Spouge, Reggae, Calypso, Pan. we tek the english language and made a spin with it that is utterly fascinating, enervating, exciting. all we had to do and still mus' do is to make an independent economy that we we-self organize and own

dat will do the job..make a country fuh we that we control..make it prosperous..connect up the region. and when we done den we go go home...not to stay doh some cud if deh want to. but if you go back as man is ah whole different story. but the point is when we done deh go want to come dong..not we go back. we go have to beat dem off with sticks
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edit: 15 Sep 2019 22:12 by mapoui.

16 Sep 2019 10:15 #375245 by chairman
it is under threat

16 Sep 2019 10:22 #375248 by ketchim
dat is the only thing that have we down: the thiefery of elected officals of the wealth

Time to create page: 0.225 seconds
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
ketchim1st TEST : 6>30 EST....this evening ....Australia time is tomorrow lol(16.01.2024, 17:01)(17:01)0
chairmanWest Indies U19s clapped up New Zealand U19s in the warm up game.

Nathan Sealey, Joshua Dorne and Jewel Andrew the star turns.
(15.01.2024, 07:42)(07:42)0
ketchimMatch Draw but 105 to DaSilva and 99 to Kavem Hodge.....so good warm up match result !...(13.01.2024, 13:15)(13:15)0
ketchim251 - 8(10.01.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
ketchimMotie and Sinclair not out ~(10.01.2024, 12:56)(12:56)0
ketchimWarm Up match and couple of boys made DUCK 8 down for 232(10.01.2024, 12:55)(12:55)0
ketchimTEST match starts on 16th !(07.01.2024, 13:55)(13:55)0
AlondraRanji Trophy is BACK, another Exciting Season to look forward too. Big Scores, Grand Daddy Centuries, Lots of 6 and 7 Fer .(07.01.2024, 08:11)(08:11)0
ketchimIndia became the first team to lose six wickets without scoring a run in Tests(03.01.2024, 13:55)(13:55)0
Efrain