Apparent random Toronto stabbing suspect ID'd as Rohinie Bisesar

22 Dec 2015 10:45 #284862 by Meseret
I am not afraid of Mr. GoogLee.  I'm from the capital of Guyana.  We are afraid of no one. :D :D

22 Dec 2015 10:48 #284863 by ketchim

Berbishis have scant regard to Folks from the capital  ;)

22 Dec 2015 11:04 #284867 by Nargis
i was reading an article on Rohini last night and i was surprised to learn the following:

1. she was homeless...she would sleep on the streets, in the subways...etc
2. she refused to go to a shelter
3. bright girl but only held her first job for 8months and never could find a job again
4. her parents are living in toronto but they kicked her out of the house
5. the aunt and uncle tried to help her but to no avail...it didnt work
6. she did have a problem was admitted for treatment but it said nothing about her continuing treatment/...
7. she set up shop everyday in the Starbucks in the PATH and at the Royal York with a sign advertising FINANCIAL SERVICES
8. then she slowly went into a downward mental spiral....
9. she stabbed that girl more than 1 time in her chest...

:( :( :( :(

22 Dec 2015 11:08 #284869 by mapoui

wud you believe I have a piece of dry Vo-Vine I walked with 45 years ago dry and shriveled in my kitchen just fuh this eventuality.

dat Vo-Vine will tun dat puja around to attack googles he wun' know wat hit him!  Obeah in his rarse ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

22 Dec 2015 11:12 #284873 by Nargis
Suspect in downtown stabbing dressed for success but was broke and homeless

Panhandlers sit on every block of lower Bay Street, congregating with cardboard signs near the doors of glass skyscrapers in Canada’s financial capital
Rohinie Bisesar used to be one of the well-dressed thousands passing by. In an immaculate black suit and dress shirt, the MBA holder would go into the Starbucks on Yonge Street frequented by Toronto Mayor John Tory or set up at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, working on her tablet.But she acted oddly, according to those who encountered her during these years, giving out cards with the names of fake businesses and sometimes putting out a sign soliciting financial clients. She seemed penniless, ordering hot water and asking near-strangers if she could crash on their couch.

The truth was that Ms. Bisesar, 40, spent her nights much like the panhandlers did, sleeping on subway trains and in the maze of tunnels and shops beneath the financial district, where she had once worked. But, during the day, she strove to find her next job in finance: showering, laundering her single suit and reading about the economy.Her charade ended just before 3 p.m. last Friday, when, police allege, Ms. Bisesar walked with a kitchen knife into a Shoppers Drug Mart in an underground concourse and stabbed a stranger, 28-year-old Rosemarie (Kim) Junor, several times in the chest with “no provocation.” Ms. Junor, a recent bride, died five days later.On Friday, when Ms. Bisesar appeared in court to be charged with second-degree murder, her lawyer, Calvin Barry, said he had not been able to assess his client’s mental state or whether she understands what’s going on,

The Canadian Press reported.But he said she is “very upset – she’s like a deer in headlights.”Although many people say they noticed the deterioration of Ms. Bisesar, a onetime computer technician at York University, it was harder to know what to do about it. She was in hospital at one point, said one of the few friends who remained in touch with her in recent months. But she spoke about her homelessness as a rough patch, and if she realized she was struggling with serious mental-health issues, she never talked openly about it, York mathematics professor Trueman MacHenry said.“It’s very frequently regarded as kind of a nasty thing … it’s not like having a bad cold or something. She never brought it up and I never suspected a thing,” he said.Dr. MacHenry, now in his 80s, met Ms. Bisesar when she worked at York in her early 20s, a self-taught tech whiz who fixed his computer.

For the past two years, he has provided cash for her occasional coffee and food.“She was very friendly, she was very good with people, she was bright,” he said. “Everybody who knows about [the stabbing] at work feels very badly, and I almost had a nervous breakdown over it.”It is extremely rare for people with mental illness to become suddenly violent – so rare that it is nearly impossible to study the phenomenon, because the sample size is so small, said Robert Whitley, a psychiatry professor at McGill University.But when it happens, it tends to be after the person has begun losing touch with the social and medical system, he said. People receiving care are no more dangerous than anyone else.“One factor that we do often see is that people have been in treatment, and they’ve gotten out of treatment and … they’ve fallen through the cracks,” he said. “And for one reason or another they get into a crisis.”Studies show that people working in white-collar industries often try to hide mental-health problems, he said. For good reason: It has also been shown that people receive fewer promotions when they are known to have a mental illness.“Sadly, a lot of the public think that having a mental illness and being intelligent or being successful is incommensurable,” Dr. Whitley said. “The research does show that as you become more professional and revolve in more highly educated circles, that a lot of effort does go into managing appearances and into concealment.”But if people avoid treatment, it can have “a sort of spiraling effect,” he said.Ms. Bisesar received her MBA in 2007 from York’s Schulich School of Business, and, in 2010, she got a job at financial-services company GMP Capital, her friend Karl Gutowski told the National Post. She was in the job for only eight months.In the following years, she racked up credit-card debt and was dumped by her live-in boyfriend, Dr. MacHenry said.

That was when she got in touch, bluntly telling the professor she was broke.“I tried to keep her from starving to death,” he said. He took her for meals, the last just a couple of weeks ago at Jules Bistro, a French restaurant on Spadina Avenue. They would talk about politics and finance, and Ms. Bisesar explained her street life of sorts.“She camped out in the lounge of the Ritz-Carlton, which was a little above my means,” Dr. MacHenry said. She bought a gym membership downtown, using it as a place to bathe and sleep until staff asked her to stop. Then she tried sleeping on the subway, a dangerous situation that “she disliked very much,” he said. Dr. MacHenry believed she slept in corners of the underground city and she told him she couch-surfed. The idea of staying in a shelter never came up: “She was kind of a patrician,” he said.He encouraged her to enroll in a city program to get assistance, and she finally did, receiving money this fall for rent and moving in with someone she knew. But “he came onto her, and I don’t know if she moved out or what she did. She was angry,” Dr. MacHenry said.She never strayed from her daily routine, favouring the Starbucks at 1 Adelaide St. E. in recent months. She arrived early in the morning and stayed until closing at 6:30 p.m., said a man who works at the building. “She lived here.”Jenny Yang, who works at a financial consulting firm there, said Ms. Bisesar appeared one day to drop off her résumé – but seeking work that way is unheard-of at a boutique firm like that. Staff at another Starbucks location recalled her sitting at a communal table with a sign advertising financial-advice services.

Ms. Bisesar’s parents, originally from Guyana, live near Woodbine Avenue and own a small shop on Danforth Avenue. They did not answer knocks at their door this week and are known locally as a private couple. Their next-door neighbour for 30 years said he never knew their names until their daughter was arrested this week.Dr. MacHenry said she told him recently her family had thrown her out, but he learned this week they had tried to get her medical help and she had spent some time in a hospital. An aunt and uncle had also taken her in and tried to help her financially. Ms. Bisesar told friends she did not want to go back to the hospital, he said.

A message sent to the National Post this week from Ms. Bisesar’s e-mail address apologized for the stabbing and asked for help finding professionals in “artificial intelligence, biotechnology, nanotechnology, satellites,” military or government.“Something has been happening to me and this is not my normal self and I would like to know who and why this is happening,” the writer of the e-mail said. “I am sorry about the incidence. I felt the need to be extreme to see if it would work. I would normally not do such a thing.”On Friday morning, Dr. MacHenry sat quietly at Ms. Bisesar’s court appearance as his friend, less than 100 pounds, was led before the judge.He said that earlier this week, when he saw a police news release with Ms. Bisesar’s photo, he thought his “worst fears” had come true and she had been killed. A friend said, no, she was the suspect. “And then I felt even worse,” he said.

22 Dec 2015 11:26 #284878 by Googley

I forgive Maps for he knows not what he says! (in the spirit of CHristmas)  8)

22 Dec 2015 11:27 - 22 Dec 2015 11:36 #284880 by mapoui

what was the government waiting on.  you have an obvious problem that society  set up the means by which something can be done. 
then the thieves in the big banks move.  they want all the money so they steal and steal forcing general social austerity and no money for the social problems society pays to address.  such programs are cut under austerity programs...and  so the mentally ill are dumped o the streets to survive how they can.

because of the thieves in the banks society cannot even help itself.  ultimately they cause all that we do progressively to die, to be cut back and starved of funding to pay the thieves.  if any one responsible for this it is the banks too.  they have hoarded all the wealth..all of it..ensure politicians are elected who do not care about society and pass laws that facilitate their theft... while a needy girl walks the streets without any assistance at all.  she cannot help herself..needs help

next are her parents.  why would they toss her and leave her to herself on the streets?

I would imagine she could have been a problem at home, unmanageable. but if she was peaceful at home I would never toss her..my own child.  impossible!  from what I see once you have children they are yours till you die.  it never stops even when they have grown up.

I would have made sure she got attention, even had I to pay out of pocket.  that would have been no concern, even if I had to work past retirement.  whatever.  and if in the end the diagnosis was hospitalization then I would have signed but sought a facility at which she would be well cared for, not exploited by sick staff etc.

you cant toss your children and wash your hands.  that is not possible.  you are still responsible regardless for the job of parenting.  and no doubt they are responsible..her parents.  they prolly drove their daughter hard as hell and she may not have been of a constitution to live as she was forced to.  there could have been madness in the family tree that she inherited.  all paths to understanding had to be explored so that help could have been administered.

but no..nothing! and a problem festered and the only resolution would be horrific, a dead young woman and another hospitalized forever finally getting noticed as mentally unstable... which she was all the time and should not have been on the streets.

if a specialist or two develops a good approach to such problems that needs funding I would contribute.  that would be a positive thing that would yield widespread social benefits
Last edit: 22 Dec 2015 11:36 by mapoui.

22 Dec 2015 11:27 #284881 by ketchim
I cannot take any more of this ...

There are soooo many questions

22 Dec 2015 11:31 #284882 by Googley

hahahahahaha!!  This Berbishi is a peace and loving chap!  No need to be afraid!  ;)

Time to create page: 0.215 seconds
ChristinaIt is time for a full evaluation and accountability to the people of this region for the disastrous batting performance of the West Indies Cricket Team. We cannot disregard what all of us witnessed and endured in the last three test matches. This is not about our players, administrators, or any individual; it is an entire system that is failing, and together, all of us must fix it now. This cannot continue into another series; we must not allow it to.(15.07.2025, 15:52)(15:52)0
ChristinaOnce again for the 5th consecutive times . West Indies has bowled out Australia(the #1 team )
within 90 overs.
Again under 300 runs
(13.07.2025, 08:10)(08:10)0
ChristinaWiaan Mulder declaring with himself being 367 not out, is beyond commendable and sportsmanship. Tho many questions will be asked.(07.07.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
IngridHow bad are the West Indies ?
Their batting is absolutely abysmal
(06.07.2025, 16:36)(16:36)0
QuintinMexican boxer Julio César Chávez Jr. arrested by ICE for deportation, federal officials say(03.07.2025, 19:05)(19:05)0
QuintinKraigg Brathwaite reaches 100 Tests: 'I was in total disbelief that I could score a hundred for West Indies'(03.07.2025, 18:52)(18:52)0
LoganBad performance by west indies(28.06.2025, 06:48)(06:48)0
QuintinMasai Ujiri fired as Raptors president and vice chairman after 13 years with franchise(27.06.2025, 17:50)(17:50)0
LoganAustralia 180 all out(26.06.2025, 06:45)(06:45)0
Logan99 for 3(25.06.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
LoganShammar 2 wickets(25.06.2025, 12:13)(12:13)0
Logan65 for 3 at lunch(25.06.2025, 12:12)(12:12)0
WendyDid you know 160 years ago, Texans moved to Brazil to start a Confederate colony with Slavery, after #Juneteenth? ?(24.06.2025, 09:55)(09:55)0
WendyGood morning(24.06.2025, 09:29)(09:29)0
MelodyVaughan 'staggered' by England's bowl-first decision as India dominate at Headingley(20.06.2025, 19:19)(19:19)0
chairmanPPP/C is UNSTOPPABLE….
So all de small parties coming together to try beat the PPP/C
Guyanese don’t be fooled
Vote for Peace Progress and Prosperity.
(19.06.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
PeytonCOACH SAMMY TO MISS IRELAND T20Is(05.06.2025, 18:49)(18:49)0
ketchimJune 1st 2ndODI : replace the 4 guys on the bench : Evin Lewis, John Campbell, Shamar Joseph and Jediah Blades !(31.05.2025, 15:09)(15:09)0
chairmanHuge defeat(29.05.2025, 19:07)(19:07)0
chairmanMatthew Forde you beauty. I didn't even realise he averages almost 40 in FC. And he is only 23 yrs old.(23.05.2025, 20:05)(20:05)0
chairmanWelcome to Guyana - Hakeem Olajuwon, also known as "The Dream,"
A storied career:

- 2x NBA Champion (1994, 1995)
- 2x NBA Finals MVP (1994, 1995)
- 12x NBA All-Star
- 12x All-NBA Team selection
- 9x NBA All-Defensive First Team
- NBA MVP (1994)
- NBA Defensive Player of the Year (1994)
- NBA Rookie of the Year (1984)
- Inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008

One of the greatest players in NBA history.
(23.05.2025, 10:05)(10:05)0
chairmanI would like to see every house in Essequibo has a Guyana ?? Flag
and possibly the Rest of Guyana ??
(19.05.2025, 06:38)(06:38)0
PeytonSevere weather leaves at least 27 dead, including 18 in Kentucky(17.05.2025, 18:46)(18:46)0
chairmanCongratulations to the newly appointed Roston Chase as West Indies Test captain.
Does he have any captain/ leadership experience?
Your thoughts:
(16.05.2025, 19:23)(19:23)0
TalonDozens of white South Africans arrive in US under Trump refugee plan(12.05.2025, 19:57)(19:57)0
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
Demetrius