Peppapot

Nargis · 12-20-2010, 12:48 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

live stream from Radio Demerara  ::lol::

heel and pieces marinated ....

Boiling start when I reach home ...

Getting some additional Casareep , just in case  :wink:

Okay....so i am going to make pepperpot tomorrow

and i will use this recipe which i found on the 'net.

is this okay?
any suggestions, improvements most welcome

the only thing i change or will change is:
i added the onions and garlic(was not on the original recipe)
i will make it tomorrow and then heat-up for the next couple of day until christmas

Recipe compliments of "A Taste of Guyana" - Dr. Odeen Ishmael.

Ingredients
2 lbs cubed lean beef
1 cow heel, quartered
1 lime
½ cup casareep
2 hot peppers
1 cinnamon stick
3 cloves
Thyme
2 tbsp brown sugar
Salt to taste
Cooking oil for frying

Preparation
Wash meat with lime juice. Set aside.
Fry cow heel in a large pot for about 10 minutes.
Add enough water to cover cow heel and bring to boil.
Fry beef for about 5 minutes.
When cow heel is half cooked, about 1 hour, add the beef and casareep and simmer for another hour.
Add remaining ingredients.
Simmer gently for about one hour until meats are tender and sauce is relatively thick.

mek without beef please.

[quote author=killer link=topic=44270.msg296452#msg296452 date=1293031786]
mek without beef please.

mannnnn.......then its not pepperpot for me Confusedad:

and use what instead?

chicken  Cool

why do you have to fry? 

i just boil all the meat first, then add casareep and other ingredients, then boil on low heat for a couple of hours.  i also use more sugar, like a potspoon instead of a tablespoon ...

that sounds like a ten minute pepperpot.

[quote author=killer link=topic=44270.msg296461#msg296461 date=1293032123]
chicken  Cool

stuuppssss...den that will just be stew chicken which i make all the time!!

and i don't eat goat, so don't even suggest it.

turkey?

does anyone ever pressure their pepperpot?

just curious