Deh Say Guyanans Have the Biggest Dougla Population

mapoui · 07-26-2016, 12:28 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dougla

[Dougla throughout the Caribbean]

Quote:The biggest population of Dougla peoples, second (and if not on par), with those in Trinidad and Tobago are those in Guyana. Indo-Guyanese and Afro-Guyanese make up half of the Guyanese population, and Douglas number 15% of the country's demographics.

Quote:] The first douglas were likely the result of interactions between Indian men and African women[citation needed].

Quote:Origins and etymology
The word originated from doogala (दुगला), which is a Bhojpuri and Hindi word that has many meanings such as many, a mix, or much. It literally means "two necks" in Bhojpuri and is highly insulting in the Bihar and Purvanchal regions of North India. Some of the connotations of the word such as bastard, illegitimate and son of a whore are secondary and limited to sections of North India where the term may have originated.[1] The term itself has a puzzling connotation, for it has very limited use within the subcontinent for the purpose that it gained in the West Indies. In other words, there is no recorded use of the word other than that which the definition describes, and yet, there is little or no record of such a defined use anywhere on the continent. Originally, the use of the word in the West Indies was only used for Afro-Indo mixed-race, despite its origin as a word used to describe inter-caste mixing. In Bihar and Uttar Pradesh it is considered highly offensive, as it denotes that one is of mixed caste or a half-breed.

Quote:"If they sending Indians to India
And Africans back to Africa
Well somebody please just tell me
Where they sending poor me?
I am neither one nor the other
Six of one, half a dozen of the other
So if they sending all these people back home for true
They got to split me in two"

no you stay

you will be king of the mixed up ones

Mostly buck gyals and the poke knockers.

when the Pashtuns went the BG only men went

so they had  Afro ladies

Pashtuns and African ???  hhhhhmmmmm ....interesting

don't recall any doogla in my Jamat !

[quote author=The Captain link=topic=105442.msg705288#msg705288 date=1469536121]
no you stay

you will be king of the mixed up ones

very Phunny ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

but yuh see..Dougla is for real, a new people in the world, not rubbish to be tossed on heaps  :-[ :-[ :-[