[quote author=mapoui link=topic=95289.msg614378#msg614378 date=1422163600]
great! used to do the same thing. composted a lot from my kitchen...all the green stuff. used fertilizers at times until I built up the soil. tons in the fall..tomatoes,onions, brussell sprouts, cabbage, zucchini, chards.
used to start in april with snow peas..first week. by mid may lots of snow peas. I loved fresh beans..pick then just as they filled, curried tasted like bodi from back home. I even grew bodi and west indian hot peppers. in a good warm years tons of west indian hot peppers by september. pepper sauce fuh everybody.
I used to make a lime pepper sauce that was special
I also love the summer sages. man do they have taste and aroma! pheeew! smell up the place soemthing powerfull. Oregano has nothing on them when ti comes to taste and aroma. add sage to Pestos as well :-[ :-[ :-[
I still make lime sauce and tomatoe sauce. My daughters never buy sause, they always want mine. I grow lots of hot peppers too, never did pesto. I also do my own compost as well
I love gardening and hate it when I have to travel during summer. for 2 years I could not plant cuz I was travelling to India and Seattle. I missed my garden those 2 years .