14 Mar 2013 19:10 #125264
Windies have won against the worst team?
How have we progressed.
Prior to Sammy did we lose against Bangladesh, Zim and NZ? Prior to Sammy, NZ was a much stronger team though.
Because really these are the teams we have won against and you even managed to lose an ODI series against Bangladesh.
What really is the progress?
zsk77
14 Mar 2013 19:25 #125266
by zsk77
until windies beat a top 5 team all these wins are useless
14 Mar 2013 19:30 #125270
West Indies will have that opportunity later this year when Pakistan visits.
The last time Pakistan played in the West Indies the series was tied 1-1 (but I hate calling 2 tests a series).
14 Mar 2013 19:32 #125271
And the Pakistan visit was quite recent - May 2011 to be precise.
But many will want to forget that visit!!
zsk77
14 Mar 2013 19:33 #125272
by zsk77
Glad to see zim back playing Test cricket. They must be given every opportunity to get better.
14 Mar 2013 20:18 #125277
by Rev Al
Mail Man:
There is an old saying in Guyana, "one, one dutty build dam." In otherwords, little by little, a little become a lot---the WI have now won 5 tests in a row---little by little, a little becomes a lot----Is the team making progress ? Absolutely! A little progress every test match adds up to big results. The real test for the WI will be the 2 test series against Pakistan. By that series the WI would have won 6 tests in a row, and if they were to win a test against Pakistan---that's when you could really say the progress is real.
15 Mar 2013 06:42 #125301
The question is did Windies lose against these teams prior to Sammy?
West Indies won the recent test but do you genuinely think their batting showed any improvement when you consider the opposition?
No.
Even Croft is getting carried away saying how well Windies are doing.
Little by little?
What positives came out of Australia?
No technique Charles scoring runs?
wifan
15 Mar 2013 07:53 #125306
by wifan
I agree with you. Beating the likes of Bangladesh and Zimbabwe isn't a sign of progress. You are also right in saying New Zealand were a lot stronger a few years ago.
Progress would be COMPETING with the strongest nations and I believe the West Indies have the potential to do that, whether the potential is realised is another thing.
15 Mar 2013 08:26 #125308
this summer will tell
2 test against Pak + ODI
tri series against Lanka and India
+ ICC Champions
if they can pull off all 3 wins then I will tuck it in and say sammy is de man
progress is here
I don't want to they are a young team and they are tired
What is Windies Progress?
Time to create page: 0.239 seconds