I saw weeks when he was retired and leading Bim at the QPO
but I saw Kanhai fuh real in his prime and that was it fuh me man. I have never seen anyone better. Kanhai made an impact on me ineradicable.
it was not the hard hitting but the perfection. deh call it technique. I doh know wat to call it. it was just that no one beat him that day until he got out at 110. no one beat him, never came close..total command. no one looked capable of beating him and when he got out there was sooprise
its from Kanhai I came to understand Jazz...that it was improvisation on a sound technical basis. you had to know music to play jazz, to create, improvise and terrorize he opposition
that is what I saw that day I realized later..Kanhai the perfect batsman, technically superb yet the most creative of all batsmen
the Oz saw that too in 1961. they cud not believe it but it was right there in front of them, cutting them to shreds
imagine if Kanhai had Lara's attitude and appetite fuh huge scores ???
all I can think of is
: we wud have had different cricket record books