1st Test - England v West Indies

06 Aug 2017 06:59 #347984 by chairman
CANTERBURY, England, (CMC) – Assistant coach Toby Radford has urged the West Indies batsmen to make critical adjustments to their technique in order to succeed in the challenging English conditions.
Radford, who hails from Wales, warned that conditions were often seamer-friendly and it was therefore important the tourists made the most of their second three-day first-class match against Kent starting Sunday, in order to continue their acclimatisation process.
The Windies played well in the first warm-up match against Essex last week, and will look for another solid workout when they face a Kent side led by England limited overs batsman Sam Billings.

“The conditions in England, generally you get a lot of swing and seam. You think the ball is there to drive and then it dips and nips away, so what we’re urging is to play as late as possible and as straight as possible.
“We know the conditions and we know what to expect. The last few days we have worked really hard and our preparations are coming along quite well.”
West Indies arrived in England last Saturday and opened their tour a few days later against Essex at Chelmsford where they impressed in the outing.

Roston Chase, one of the rookie batsmen on tour but who is expected to be a key member of the line-up, gathered half-centuries in the contest to immediately find his touch.
The 25-year-old has played just 10 Tests but was the leading scorer in the recent three-Test series against Pakistan when he stroked 403 hundreds at an average of a 100, including two centuries.
Only three members of the Windies 15-man squad – Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel and Kieran Powell – have played a Test in England before but Radford said despite the inexperience, confidence was still very high.

“We have a young side and we have a very talented side. We really believe we are developing and there is huge confidence in the dressing room,” he explained.
“We are not the finished article, there is still a lot of work to be done but I believe in this team we have players who will entertain and show the world what we’ve got.”
Following the upcoming match, West Indies will play a third three-day warm-up match against Derbyshire – a day/night contest using the pink ball as the visitors prepare for the first Test match under lights in England at Edgbaston starting August 17.

07 Aug 2017 13:45 #348089 by Balasubramaniam
TOBY BETTER KEEP URGING CAUSE SO FAR IT IS NOT WORKING.

TOBY NEEDS TO UNDERSTAND THAT CRICINDIES BATTERS ARE BATTING THEIR AVERAGE.

YET HE SEEMS TO THINK THAT MEN WHO AVERAGE 30 ARE SUDDENLY GOING TO AVERAGE 45.

FUNNY AS HELL - HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

07 Aug 2017 18:26 #348123 by ketchim
that is why he urges like Shiv : "Play Late"

this nuance would be lost on these guys !

as Toby says " wait for the nip back

or wait for the dip

or wait for the late away swing"

solid advice to the youths !

Play late !

07 Aug 2017 18:43 #348126 by ketchim
and get 600 runs : easy like a sunday morning  ;)

www.stabroeknews.com/2017/news/stories/0...aul-passes-600-mark/

08 Aug 2017 15:38 #348194 by Googley
Why is Shiv not in the team as batting coach?  He might even pad up and sub when needed!

WI needs an active coach who can pad up and show the youngsters how to play the strokes! 

09 Aug 2017 13:02 #348286 by mapoui
shive shud be in the team as a batsman..his last hurrah as he did so well in england in county

09 Aug 2017 13:06 #348287 by mapoui
the batting wud look a lot different if deh had Gayle, Shive and lil Bravo in there

dat skunt skourtney brong send 9 bajans to be skinned alive by england.

only Chase/Paint and Roach deserving..dat is if Roach is fit

dat is the most jackass team west indies ever send to england.  its good its not west indies anymore but cwi

all the same as a professional skourtney brong should be shame  over this side.  what sort of official would want this travesty attached to his name ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

09 Aug 2017 14:59 #348306 by Googley

if a batsman gets injured, SHiv might get a call up as late replacement!  :P

(I know, wishful thinking on my part!)

09 Aug 2017 17:10 #348357 by ketchim
well he right up the road

Toby should make a bajan shytehound on him batting card :

trip and fall down de stairs  >:(

10 Aug 2017 10:46 #348380 by chairman
CANTERBURY, England—With two half-centuries in four innings on tour, in-form stroke-maker Jermaine Blackwood says he feels in great touch as he gears up for the opening Test against England later this month.

The right-hander struck exactly 50 on Sunday’s opening day of the three-tour match against Kent here, following up his 59 against Essex in the first tour game at Chelmsford.

“[I’m] feeling pretty good, feeling 100 per cent, feeling ready to go,” the Jamaican said.

“I think all the boys are ready. We have been training pretty hard and everybody is excited about the first Test match.”

He added: “[It’s] my first time to England, first time playing here. Different conditions but learning as the days go by. [I’m] putting in a lot of work with the coaches [and] getting used to the conditions.”

Blackwood lost his place in the Test squad recently, failing to find favour in the recent three-Test home series against Pakistan.

However, he opened the current tour with an attacking half-century against Essex and followed up with another handsome effort against Kent, though the innings was a patient one requiring some graft.

The 25-year-old said conditions last weekend had demanded he make adjustments to his usually aggressive approach.

“[Last Sunday] was a perfect example. The ball was swinging around so I knew I had to trust my defence and just play each ball on its merit,” Blackwood explained.

“The pitch had in a lot of moisture so the ball wasn’t coming through like at Essex so you had to wait a little more longer, you had to play the ball right under your eyes. I just have to spend a little more time out there in the middle.”

It was his 70-run fifth wicket stand with Shai Hope in challenging conditions which pulled West Indies around from 78 for four on the first morning.

Hope top-scored with 57 to also extend his healthy form on tour that has already brought him 155 runs from four innings, and Blackwood praised his junior teammate on the effort.

“Shai was batting good. He was giving me some good advice when I first came out to bat,” Blackwood said.

“At the time when I went out there we had just lost a wicket and I just told Shai we need to build a partnership and once we can get a partnership together, we know the runs are going to come.”

West Indies face Derbyshire in their third three-day tour match starting tomorrow. The day/night affair will be in preparation for the first Test at Edgbaston beginning August 17, which will be the inaugural ‘pink ball’ Test in England. CMC

Time to create page: 0.190 seconds
ketchimNepal beat West Indies in 1st T20 !(27.04.2024, 11:00)(11:00)0
CindyYes he is trying commentator gig !(26.04.2024, 21:52)(21:52)0
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
ketchim1st TEST : 6>30 EST....this evening ....Australia time is tomorrow lol(16.01.2024, 17:01)(17:01)0
Cassius