Carlos and Holder muddle 3 ODI chases in a row

23 Nov 2016 10:46 - 25 Nov 2016 11:05 #327439 by TRINIDADDY
In both this ODI, and the last ODI vs Zimbabwe, West Indies needed about 33 runs off 30 balls.

In both these ODI games, West Indies' tail get confused and overcomplicate an easy situation.
Last edit: 25 Nov 2016 11:05 by TRINIDADDY.

23 Nov 2016 11:02 #327442 by ketchim
Shuffle the batting order.

Paint 16 off 33 should be made to sit!

23 Nov 2016 11:05 #327444 by mapoui
dat is true..muddled indeed.  last ball 2 to tie...3 to win and you realise a single :o :o :o :o  a freakin single :o :o :o

is either 4, 3 or 2...or out. 

I doh like Holder as a cricketer at all at all.  he is a weak coward impse as captain

23 Nov 2016 13:03 #327453 by The Captain
and what about all the dam run out

who is the coach of this bunch of misfits

23 Nov 2016 18:09 #327480 by mapoui

I din see the run out..aldoh I hear it was bad >:( >:( >:(

23 Nov 2016 19:41 #327484 by TRINIDADDY
The Lewis run-out was key:

Lewis hit the ball and was running to the non strikers end. Lewis made the call to run. Holder was ball watching and didn't realize Lewis had taken off. Holder refuses to move, Lewis gets run out.

The match was lost in that moment, because Holder and Carlos seem unable to finish games. Carlos might be better suited as a test batsman, where he is forced to curb his slogging.

The frustrating thing is that Holder is obviously a very good batsman, he should just be batting higher up the order where he can shape things at his own pace. ODI Finishing is a very specific skill.

23 Nov 2016 20:04 #327485 by mapoui
Tenks!  reads like the captain did not want to get out. 

as captain and given how the game was going he shud have sacrificed himself.  its the same attitude I see in how the game ended. 

I mean I don't remember Holder hitting a boundary in the time I was involved with the game..from about 375 to 329  I sense that not losing his wicket was important to him which is  why he did not voop at any time to bring home the game.

less and less I see Holder as a useful captain.  he appears to have talent but he must be captained.  he shud not be captain

23 Nov 2016 20:25 #327488 by TRINIDADDY
Holder's just not learning. Powell still hasn't bowled, neither has Carter. They are decent seamers, and Nurse and Benn were going at 6 per over.

Also, we beat Sri Lanka last game with short bowling and bouncers. We've seen that they can't handle that. But in this game, I didn't see a single bouncer (granted Gabriel was injured, but still) and all the balls were full.

Holder has also basically lost us two matches at the death with poor batting and running between the wickets. Even in the game we won vs SL, Holder got run out. I blame Carlos as well, who got out in both of the last ODIs due to unnecessary slogging, when simple singles would have done it.

For the next game, Bishoo (for Benn) and Dowrich (for Carter) should come in, and Holder should bat higher. Nurse can drop too, though I'm not sure for who.

25 Nov 2016 06:58 #327586 by TRINIDADDY
More bad captaincy by Holder.

Zimbabwe were less than 90 for 7. Holder saw that the spin bowlers were causing massive problems. But instead of bowling Kraigg Brathwaite and his other slower bowlers like Carter and Powell, he turns to Carlos and himself. Zimbabwe then accelerate to 200+, and break a record for best Zimbabwean 8th wicket partnership.

25 Nov 2016 09:42 #327589 by mapoui
and the impse shud bat at #4 at least..the way he is batting. 

Holder shud bat before hope and Powell..take the sting out of the bowling making it likely easier for Hope and Powell to get going.

either way west indies coming home.  the side gets worse and worse.  and ole skam is president for life
::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

Time to create page: 0.204 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Noah