09 Nov 2016 16:28 #326485
by myballfield
Former West Indies fast bowler Fidel Edwards will return to play county cricket for Hampshire in 2017.
Hampshire confirmed a one-year deal for the 34-year-old, after he initially announced it on his Instagram page.
Edwards was forced to return home early last season after breaking an ankle during a football match in training.
"It's been a tough year for me after my horrendous injury," Edwards wrote. "Hampshire kept faith in me even tho (sic) I'm not 100%."
10 Nov 2016 20:47 #326572
by dillinger10
Fidel was immense for Hampshire in 2015, and was largely the reason for them staying in Division One. It's hard to put into words just how impressive he was. He bowled with sheer pace that frightened batsmen. IIRC, his strike rate was around 30 for the season.
He was also really beloved by his teammates, with the match against Yorkshire really epitomising the effort he gave all season. He kept asking for the ball and steaming in even when he was absolutely knackered. He earned this contract on the back of his heroics in 2015.
I read earlier in the week that Ryan McLaren has signed for Lancashire for next year. This is a huge blow. For my money, he was Hampshire's best player last year.
11 Nov 2016 21:32 #326608
Why Hants for you Dilly, what's your connection?
My local team is Middlesex as I played in the County League and lived locally.
I used to keep a close eye on Warwicks when Kalli, and Kanhai were there and even Notts.
Most recently I was speaking to an older boy, I believe he was either a general or Committee member, who was vehemently against Sobers joining Notts.
I suppose in those days keeping it local was an emphasis as football Clubs used to be.
12 Nov 2016 12:22 #326642
by dillinger10
I grew up on the doorstep of Dean Park, so was fortunate to have seen the likes of Richards, Greenidge, Marshall, Roberts et al. I still recall with great amazement the match against Somerset pitting Maco against Big Bird. Garner took 11 wickets in the match, leaving Somerset requiring 80-odd runs to win. Marshall was a like a man possessed, bowling 20 or so overs unchanged in tandem with Trevor Jesty, the two of them rolling Somerset out for 72.
The 70s, 80s (and even the early 90s to a lesser extent) were the glory days of county cricket with some unbelievable overseas players on show. Sadly, those days are long gone, and county cricket (and the kids today) are poorer for it. There is something to be said for getting to see the games absolute best up close and personal. And as much as I like the Rose Bowl, I sure do miss Dean Park.
12 Nov 2016 15:34 #326654
This is what WICB is saying about our 18 T20 players in Foreign Leagues.
The regional contests and indeed the kids, are poorer for it .
12 Nov 2016 15:57 #326656
by dillinger10
It is a shame that four day cricket has suffered. Given the sheer volume of both international cricket and T20 cricket around the world, the best players are no longer playing four day matches. England's best Test batsman, Joe Root, played 2 county championship matches for Yorkshire. Moeen Ali played 3. Bairstow - England's leading Test run scorer this calendar year - played 4. The same number of matches as Broad and Anderson.
As you point out ketch, the same thing happened in the Regional 4 day tournament with DM Bravo playing just 1 match, Shannon Gabriel 2, Blackwood 4. And so on. Same thing with the Sheffield Shield. The best players don't play. This is bad for the development of the younger players and fans alike.
12 Nov 2016 18:51 #326657
Yeah, current matches Chase made 29
but none on the other Bajan stars in the W.I. squad
Blackwood was zero impact in 1st inngs vs. Guyana
none of the other Jamaican stars Russel Gayle et al
Permaul however took a 5Fer !
12 Nov 2016 19:06 #326661
Bravo replacement Jason Mohammed made 70 so he is in form
some Trini guy named Primetime took a 6Fer vs Windwards
Fidel Edwards: Hampshire re-sign West Indies fast bowler for 2017 season
Time to create page: 0.220 seconds