16 Aug 2016 12:07 #317780
Former West Indies fast bowler Sir Andy Roberts said the regional squad will continue to lose matches until their approach to the game changes.
His statement comes on the heels of the team’s humiliating 237-run defeat against India in the third Test in St Lucia on Saturday.
“If you’re a struggling team, you don’t try to draw matches, you try to win matches. And if you go out with a defeatist, defensive, attitude it’s going to show throughout your entire cricket, and that is how we have been playing,†Sir Andy said.
“Look at the first morning of the Test match when you win the toss and put the opposition in to bat, but you start without a short-leg and what sense is that? So, we are always playing from behind. It seems as though now, West Indies don’t know how to lead,†he added.
READMORE AT ANTIGUAOBSERVER
16 Aug 2016 12:39 #317802
hahahahahaha. sir andy and me on the same page today :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
arunava2016
16 Aug 2016 13:47 #317817
by arunava2016
Its not about the loss, but its about the way you lose. The Windies showed some great some great spirit in the previous test march. Roston Chase and the other guy played great innings to draw that match against the so called might of India(a team that can't move a bit against stronger opponents). Take heart man and be counted. its good signs Andy Roberts!!!!!!!!!!!11
16 Aug 2016 14:08 #317824
nah man. there are no great signs there at all. Sir Andy is absolutely right.
the coaching staff is the sh!ts for not being able to build on positive achievements. the players keep failing on flaws that are simple to correct by coaching if the coaches are indeed coaching. but they are not coaching.
the captain is an idiot and and incompetent player. several selections are no good at all. and most importantly the team is being paid peanuts. I wonder if they can meet their yearly bills from what they are paid to play cricket all year round
Chase scores 137 not out then comes out and gets out twice like a dunce. how come ::confused::
poor coaching...no creative anticipation. by that I mean that India wud have gone to the drawing board on chase. they had their film..they wud have studied dilligently and came up with ways to attack Chase.
Chase and the west indies coaching wud know that and gone to their drawing board as well... on what to expect fro the Indians in their form of new attacks on him.
what the? nothing. Chase walked out..out and walked back in... twice for little or nothing.
16 Aug 2016 14:09 #317825
C'mon man ...imagine this, eh ?
a young Captain scared of
a slow over rate FINE by a match referee
Let a match slip away...................... :'(
talk about the Tail wagging de Dog !
16 Aug 2016 14:17 #317832
there is absolutely nothing pointing upwards in west indies cricket just as there is nothing pointing in the same direction for west indian society as a whole..the one part of the whole.
the wicb is a jackass parasitic entity organized against the best interests of west indies cricket. that is why the cricket has been reduced to this totally incompetent current level.
where the hell is west indies cricket going when its own administration is the force that is beating it down ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
there is not a single positive sign in west indies cricket. the first such sign would be for the CARICOM to take down the wicb. but they are not doing that. they are making threatening noises but no action.
and skameron and his staff are not exactly quaking in their boots at that prospect are they >

16 Aug 2016 15:08 #317870
as long as the wicb remains there there is only heart break, hurt for west indians... and eventual death of the cricket as the parasite finally kills its host.
so Roberts is right. but Roberts is citing the players at fault when it is not their fault at all.
the wicb put Holder there and instructs him what to do. Poor Holder is not too smart and able to strike out on his own as captain. and he is mindful of his mentors. and what they want is a whammy of restraint on his independence. he must do as he is told, display no independence.
independence by players is anathema ..a bridge too far for the players. the wicb is deathly afraid of independent players. they wont no sch thing and will cull all such players even if they have plumb the depths of the under 19s and under 15s teams to stock the west indies representative team.
but they will have no more players demanding their rights and just renumeration from the wicb.
that is the wicb organized against and in full flow of function against the best interest of west indies cricket.
tell me allyuh.... what can live when its guardian in charge of it, and free to act by legal means against the survival of what it..against what it is charged to administer ::confused:: ::confused::
nutten so bound can survive. that is the state of west indies cricket. the very people who is in charge of west indies cricket is killing it, bleeding it to death, administering it to helll.
sweeet eh! pure sugar! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
Sir Andy: More heartbreak headed West Indies’ way
Time to create page: 0.212 seconds